Can you afford a car?

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Audiology93

I bought a used Mazda 3 for about 36k as my first car just recently. 2 year 10 months COE left, monthly payment is also about 800 too. Attrage just doesn't look as good to me and doesn't suit Singapore COE economy. But fuel economy wise should be unbeatable la.

You should consider the size segment of car you want. Elantra is equivalent to Mazda3 or Civic/Jazz or Corolla. Attrage is like Mazda2 or Swift or City.
I ended up buying the Kia Cerato 1.6A LX instead. Almost bought a K3, but luckily I found the LX model that I feel is nicer.

By the way, has anyone received a SMS from HDB to request you to park your car at another lot before? I have season parking and I did not park at the handicap lot. Anyway I have already shifted the car to another parking lot. Just wondering why they sent me this SMS.

sinistral

I ended up buying the Kia Cerato 1.6A LX instead. Almost bought a K3, but luckily I found the LX model that I feel is nicer.

By the way, has anyone received a SMS from HDB to request you to park your car at another lot before? I have season parking and I did not park at the handicap lot. Anyway I have already shifted the car to another parking lot. Just wondering why they sent me this SMS.
Maybe you parked at some grassroot big shot's favourite/"reserved" season parking lot.

ZeroOneSH

Kia Cerato is a good buy. Hope you're enjoying the ride!

Dancedesire

hi Guys,

some advice needed.

bought a used coe subaru xv 1.6 5 years coe car last year march, driven for a year but car is underutilised as only drive on weekends ferrying my kid out.paid 65k for 5 years and recently car dealer said can offer 40k to buy back. not sure they trying to makan me or what.

should i sell the car and revert to taking cabs or just stick to it for 5 years?

kevin301

The dealer will need to then resell the vehicle for higher than 40K in order to make some margin, so it's to be expected that the offer price is on the low side.

Whether to sell the car or not, that's really up to you.
There are ongoing costs (season parking, road tax, insurance, maintenance) that can be avoided if you sell it off.

PsyClick

hi Guys,

some advice needed.

bought a used coe subaru xv 1.6 5 years coe car last year march, driven for a year but car is underutilised as only drive on weekends ferrying my kid out.paid 65k for 5 years and recently car dealer said can offer 40k to buy back. not sure they trying to makan me or what.

should i sell the car and revert to taking cabs or just stick to it for 5 years?
you got spare money to burn? thats what you did when you bought this car with this usage. Keep if you can burn it and ok to only drive in weekends. Dont keep otherwise.

As to your dealer, $25K cut with less than 1 year of usage when your depreciation is supposed to be $13k/yr. Of course he chop you cos he need to earn. If you looking to sell you may want to consider comparing more offers.

Dancedesire

The dealer will need to then resell the vehicle for higher than 40K in order to make some margin, so it's to be expected that the offer price is on the low side.

Whether to sell the car or not, that's really up to you.
There are ongoing costs (season parking, road tax, insurance, maintenance) that can be avoided if you sell it off.
yes, but just feel that the car is underutilised....

Dancedesire

you got spare money to burn? thats what you did when you bought this car with this usage. Keep if you can burn it and ok to only drive in weekends. Dont keep otherwise.

As to your dealer, $25K cut with less than 1 year of usage when your depreciation is supposed to be $13k/yr. Of course he chop you cos he need to earn. If you looking to sell you may want to consider comparing more offers.
manage to get some other quotes which all is lower than 40k...sigh

bryant_16

Hi guys, if change a new car. How long will it take for Hdb to transfer the season parking over from the old car to the new car, if I do the transfer today?
Is it an immediate process?

elvintay07

That is why my wife and I decided not to have a car anymore. Wife wfh and I mostly take public transport since Singapore is so well connected. The money if put into property and investment will huat.

But some ppl need car because they need to drive kids to school everyday or drive old parents or wife to work. I feel need to drive everyday then worth it. sometimes drive and park there also not so worth it. That was what a few of my doctor and lawyer friends did. But if sales or those who travelled a lot, best is to drive

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.