Cancer support group

1BadAssLobster

Also dk why cancer like kena diagnosed alr then become aggressive and days are numbered, if never diagnosed can stay there for years one.

smellyfish

Last year Diagnosed with rare form of pancreatic cancer, stage 3. Was told it was aggressive and i would not have survived more than a year if not detected.

Went through whipple surgery (8+ hours), 10 days in hospital including 4 days in ICU.

Thereafter went for immunotherapy to mop up any remaining cancer cells. Coming up to my one year anniversary, pretty much living and eating normally. Currently Not on any active medication or cancer treatment. Was already Back in office (wfh) two months from surgery. Got back to running and gym 3 months plus after surgery.

For reference im in my mid 30s, lead a healthy lifestyle (previously smoker but stopped before diagnosis), and i generally eat healthy. Was told by my oncologist and through genetics testing that i was higher risk for this form of cancer due to family history, my dad and his father also died of stomach related cancer.
Neuroendocrine? My dad has that stage 4 but too old for surgery. On immunotherapy for 3 yrs already.

matrix05

You know, recently I had a secondary sch friend father who passed away without knowing his father already got stage 4 lung cancer after a checkup
Lung cancer is known as silent killer. Symptoms like flu/allergy. The only clue is unexplained wt loss.

dilphinus

Nowadays seems like alot of people got cancer. Dad recently got diagnosed and I brought him to national cancer centre and saw so many people there queue up.

Before this I didn't really read up on cancer and simply just bochup thinking it will not affect me.

I got too Kan cheong and I brought him to a pte doc for surgery and unfortunately he did not survive the surgery.

The only consolation I can give myself is that he did not have pain on full stage 4. Ups for anyone who don't mind sharing their story.
Did you ask for more opinions before deciding on the surgery? Was the surgery necessary? He died in the OT or from complications of the surgery? If no surgery, what was the expected life span?

PippingCafe

Did you ask for more opinions before deciding on the surgery? Was the surgery necessary? He died in the OT or from complications of the surgery? If no surgery, what was the expected life span?
3 doctors did not want to do the surgery for him in the public hospitals and he was scheduled for chemo. And only 3 doctors from the pte told us that he could do surgery and recover and one surgeon gave us a percentage with a 3% chance of death. He got out of the ot successfully however his organs were sleeping since the operation and refused to wake up. He died 3 days later.

However with chemo he is not expected to be cured and his expected life span is 6 mths left.

This has got to be the biggest regret of my whole life

PippingCafe

if kena cancer, think a lot of pple will feel under stress and dunno
1. go polyclinic or hospital? if go polyclinic refer to specialist how long is the waiting time, if go private hospital, which specialists are good?
2. about cost, treatment can be long, is it enough for with/without private insurance etc
For me after seeing my dad's case I will just wait for public and let the public decide my fate.

jdrevolutionary23

3 doctors did not want to do the surgery for him in the public hospitals and he was scheduled for chemo. And only 3 doctors from the pte told us that he could do surgery and recover and one surgeon gave us a percentage with a 3% chance of death. He got out of the ot successfully however his organs were sleeping since the operation and refused to wake up. He died 3 days later.

However with chemo he is not expected to be cured and his expected life span is 6 mths left.

This has got to be the biggest regret of my whole life
If you don't mind me asking, what cancer was it?

smellyfish

Acinar cell carcinoma. 3 years immunotherapy seems like a long time, no doubt expensive too.
yes, neuroendocrine tend to be slow, lucky wansui PAP govt give a lot of subsidies, so his CPF/pioneer and what not could settle the full cost. no insurance, Class C/NCID all the way.

i never know got this acinar cell carcinoma version - only know adenocarcinoma and neuroendocrine. you lucky among the unlucky, still can operate and get back your life

jdrevolutionary23

Liver cancer.

Some regrets always come to my mind. Did I kill him by bringing him to private.
woah sorry to hear that, liver cancer is one of the hardest cancers to treat alongside pancreatic, i think you did the best you could in the circumstances ba. often liver cancer is silent one until the later stages. since your dad has it, it's quite possible that its genetic, suggest you go and do an annual health checkup also, can check for conditions like fatty liver/cirrhosis one. if liver scarring is not too bad, can reverse through lifestyle changes.

smellyfish

Liver cancer.

Some regrets always come to my mind. Did I kill him by bringing him to private.
no lah, cannot think this way. only can go public if it is a slow acting cancer, if not the wait alone will really kill you. you did what an honorable son would do. Cancer surgery usually involve not just cutting the cancer, but big chunks of organs as well, so is high risk.

Callow Guy

my uncle just passed away at age 80+.. had been a heavy smoker since young for the past 60 years, yet didn't get cancer. my cousin was from NDU, fit as a bull, but died in his 30s of leukemia. got afew other friends that died of pancreatic cancer, lung cancer, brain cancer, etc...
Lucky we are not friends...

Taloona

Eat unhealthily
Drink alcohol
Smoke
Sleep late
Stress
No exercise
Viruses and bacteria can also cause cancer eg Cervical and gastric cancer.

Women who are sexually active at a young age are at higher risk of cervical cancer.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.