Car Ceramic Coating - Any recommendations?

tanww17

Keen to do ceramic coating for car.

Seem like Revol Carz and Lambency Detailing are the more popular ones. Any feedback on these 2?

If not, any good recommendations for others? Thanks.

sinistral

Look at the brand of the ceramic coating to apply on your car first. I suggest either Adam's Graphene or CQuartz ceramic coatings.

Then look for the detailer workshop(s) that carry that brand of coating. AFAIK, quite a number of them do CQuartz, and none carries Adam's Graphene.

EJB

Make sure they do paint correction and able to deliver a slick, smooth shiny finish. Not like some groomers tell me cannot avoid fine scratches/lines. I WTF....

mel1888

Im using mobile groomers nowadays. Too troublesome to drive down n leave car. Just done recently with a partnership of 2 very young hardworking chaps. Yes they dun have nice workshop with lighting air con etc etc. But they do a very thorough job. I have used those sibei expensive shops b4 and somethings miss here or there or give some BS reason why cannot do some parts.

EJB

Im using mobile groomers nowadays. Too troublesome to drive down n leave car. Just done recently with a partnership of 2 very young hardworking chaps. Yes they dun have nice workshop with lighting air con etc etc. But they do a very thorough job. I have used those sibei expensive shops b4 and somethings miss here or there or give some BS reason why cannot do some parts.
Groomers are not detailers. Detailers can be groomers.

myviowner

Look at the brand of the ceramic coating to apply on your car first. I suggest either Adam's Graphene or CQuartz ceramic coatings.

Then look for the detailer workshop(s) that carry that brand of coating. AFAIK, quite a number of them do CQuartz, and none carries Adam's Graphene.
Adam's Graphene, so far seen two. One has a shop while the other is mobile.

myviowner

"Many car owners do have that misconception that pricy and long hours, sure the results solid solid. Shop usually tell, takes up to 6-8 hours for coating, tell car owners leave the car there and go. In fact, time they hands on your ride is less than 3 hours.

While those conti owners will feel shiok when they were quoted higher price than a non-conti ride and same sedan variants but work done is same same."

Above from a mobile detailer, who used to own a shop himself.

End of the day, exterior belongs to others, interior belongs to car owner.

EJB

"Many car owners do have that misconception that pricy and long hours, sure the results solid solid. Shop usually tell, takes up to 6-8 hours for coating, tell car owners leave the car there and go. In fact, time they hands on your ride is less than 3 hours.

While those conti owners will feel shiok when they were quoted higher price than a non-conti ride and same sedan variants but work done is same same."

Above from a mobile detailer, who used to own a shop himself.

End of the day, exterior belongs to others, interior belongs to car owner.
The grooming takes less than 3 hours is correct. The application of the coating can take up to 6 hours per coat including curing with IR lights. So 3 layers = 18 hours + 3 = 21 hours. So a full day actually is needed.

In that 3 hours however, how much paint correction they do and ensure it's properly done before coating and properly coating every 6 hours is unknown. I've seen very sh1tty work, 6 hours can do 2 coatings with no curing. It's amazing.

EJB

Nothin to do with my initial comment leh.
Car washers lol yes very simple.
It does. I'm saying that what you are doing is equivalent to paying for a petrol kiosk car wash at your convenience.

LouisSaha

Just basic polish and waxing would suffice.
No need simi ceramic coating or whatever, those are gimmick one.

Conan1986

I did with some highly recommended but cheap one from sgcarmart advert, regret.. like what EJB said, what swirl marks hairline can’t be avoided which is pure nonsense if they had done any sort of paint correction..

thereafter found a decent shop called detailworks run by some young chaps. So far quite impressed with them

Needmysleep

Depends how you will maintain the coating.

If you go to the petrol pump wash or Bangla wash in MSCP good bye coating. Don't fall for the hard as diamond BS spiel .

myviowner

If you go to the petrol pump wash or Bangla wash in MSCP good bye coating. Don't fall for the hard as diamond BS spiel .
Diamond, titanium BS.... Just a marketing gimmick. You won't find diamonds or titanium inside these coating liquid.

EJB

Most people don't maintain... nor regularly do maintenance, so I don't know why they spend on coating.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.