Car navigation

seveneleven

Hi guys, recently bought a Garmin 57LM GPS, the interface not really used to it, compare to google map, e.g :

1. the road on Garmin just show by a very broad highlighted path and sometimes it cover some details of the road like slip road or turn.

2. hard to zoom in to find more detail on the road, unlike google map

3. Difficult to select the route you want, the route they calculated mostly avoid highway, i think they go by shortest distance... but with alot of traffic lights, and both route option did not use the highway... then i use google map and search, they make use of high way..

anyone here face the same issue?

EJB

Used Garmin 270W since 2009 or so, not too bad, but sometimes the distance update is slower, lucky it has split lane view, so I know which exit to take when it prompts.

ZhuTou!

1. Never encounter before
Try update map

2. Why need to zoom?
No need to find details ma

3. Its common, u can choose fastest time or shortest route
Play around see which one u prefer

Its very easy to use dedicated gps
What i do is i install singaporemap on my phone
Locate the postal code from singaporemap
Enter in gps and drive liao
The correct postal code will bring u to the exact place u are going
No need to zoom or find other details on the gps

Sent from zhutou kopitiam using GAGT

doody_

Google maps still the best. Standalone GPS no longer as attractive nowadays.

I keep a phone mount for the rare occasions I'm alone and going somewhere new.

super365

Not sure about 1.

Agree with 2. 3.

3. you select fastest time, if got highway nearby it should use highway.

Actually Garmin in the lousier GPS in Singapore.
If want a better GPS is Marbella. They have a user friendly input, example like you key in 543 or any road name, below it will suggest all the places that have 543 for you to select

Google map beats all stand alone GPS. 1. 2. 3. are the advantages. and have suggestion complete address rows below after keying a few letters.

One idea is buy a cheap second hand phone mount forever in car, use it for only google GPS function.

keenklee

Hi guys, recently bought a Garmin 57LM GPS, the interface not really used to it, compare to google map, e.g :

1. the road on Garmin just show by a very broad highlighted path and sometimes it cover some details of the road like slip road or turn.

2. hard to zoom in to find more detail on the road, unlike google map

3. Difficult to select the route you want, the route they calculated mostly avoid highway, i think they go by shortest distance... but with alot of traffic lights, and both route option did not use the highway... then i use google map and search, they make use of high way..

anyone here face the same issue?

Re 3 -

Either just drive to the nearest expressway and let the GPS re-calculate or tweak the GPS. I recall there are some settings like avoid U-Turn etc.

I separate the GPS assistance into START, IN-BETWEEN and FINISH.
START - To find out where in the SG the place is located
IN-BETWEEN - If I like the GPS route, I will follow. If not, I will drive my own and let the GPS recalculate.
FINISH - Nearer to the location for unfamiliar destination, I will follow the GPS.

Even on familiar routes, I use the GPS to estimate the arrival time. I add about 5 mins to the GPS time. This is especially useful when one is trapped in a sudden traffic jam or conditions. Looking at the arrival time allows me to make a decision on contingency.

seveneleven

1. Never encounter before
Try update map

2. Why need to zoom?
No need to find details ma

3. Its common, u can choose fastest time or shortest route
Play around see which one u prefer

Its very easy to use dedicated gps
What i do is i install singaporemap on my phone
Locate the postal code from singaporemap
Enter in gps and drive liao
The correct postal code will bring u to the exact place u are going
No need to zoom or find other details on the gps

sometimes u need to see which route the GPS use mah, but for garmin, once you try to use 2 finger to zoom, it will lag and the interfac is not smooth at all..

When using Garmin, i will mostly only see the turn rihgt/left in XX metre and the keep left/right image to navigate, hard to navigate by looking at the map, unlike google map.

ZhuTou!

sometimes u need to see which route the GPS use mah, but for garmin, once you try to use 2 finger to zoom, it will lag and the interfac is not smooth at all..

When using Garmin, i will mostly only see the turn rihgt/left in XX metre and the keep left/right image to navigate, hard to navigate by looking at the map, unlike google map.
Dun zoom
Sibeh lag one

U tap one of the 4 corners on the screen, forget where liao, i think bottom left
The screen will change into detail list mode, will show u the road name
The list will show the full planned route like next turn is where, next next turn is where etc

ZhuTou!

I find waze and Google maps good. Can use on iPhone, iPad and Android
No matter how ex or good is ur phone, the gps chip inside the phone will lose to dedicated gps
Once u go places like keppel road with blockage above ur car, the phone gps will go haywire liao
Pasir panjang road first lane under the mrt track will kena also

super365

No matter how ex or good is ur phone, the gps chip inside the phone will lose to dedicated gps
Once u go places like keppel road with blockage above ur car, the phone gps will go haywire liao
Pasir panjang road first lane under the mrt track will kena also

Are you using 'High accuracy' setting? High accuracy uses GPS, Wifi, mobile networks to estimate location.

In android phone location mode settings, remember to set to 'high accuracy'. And turn off power saving mode.

Do all these steps to get strongest gps signals.
settings>more>location>turn on location>mode>select [high accuracy]
settings>my device>power saving mode>turn off power saving mode
turn on 'wifi', 'mobile data', 'location' button in android.

ku7qgJ2.png

ZhuTou!

Are you using 'High accuracy' setting? High accuracy uses GPS, Wifi, mobile networks to estimate location.

In android phone location mode settings, remember to set to 'high accuracy'. And turn off power saving mode.

Do all these steps to get strongest gps signals.
settings>more>location>turn on location>mode>select [high accuracy]
settings>my device>power saving mode>turn off power saving mode
turn on 'wifi', 'mobile data', 'location' button in android.

ku7qgJ2.png
I know what is high accuracy setting
It uses gps + wifi for location
Ya its on high accuracy but still haywire
U try the 2 locations i mentioned above
Gps signal will be lost

match89

i used the Garmin 57LM as well, then upgraded to the Garmin NUVICAM LM, bigger screen, and comes with built-in travel camera, bluetooth for handphone and voice command recognition.

So if you are looking to upgrade can consider getting the NuviCam

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.