Car showroom packed today

Marbok_Tan

SINGAPORE: Some car showrooms were packed with potential buyers on Saturday, following the changes to the Certificate of Entitlement (COE) system announced earlier this week.

Some carmakers even cut prices ahead of the changes, which will come into effect next year.

Swedish carmaker Volvo said traffic at their showroom doubled, as they dangled discounts ranging between S$20,000 and S$30,000.

The luxury car maker has five models with an engine capacity of below 1,600cc.

But these models also have a high engine horsepower of more than 130 brake horsepower.

From February next year, these will be transferred from the current category A to category B, competing with other premium brands.

Carmakers seem to be benefiting, at least for now.

Chow Yi Ling, marketing manager for Volvo Wearnes Automotive, said: "Since the announcement of the COE re-categorisation, we have seen a surge in showroom traffic. Customers are even coming in on weekdays. In fact, we even saw sales increase mainly in Cat A cars.

"Although there is a demand for Cat A cars, there are also people looking for Cat B cars at the moment, because they don't know what is going to happen after the policy sets in when all the current Cat A models are moved to Cat B, so people who are keen or ready to buy are going to buy now as well."

Customers said they are likely to buy now, as the cars they are eyeing could cost more once the new rules kick in.

The changes were made after several months of public consultation to better ensure elements of social equity in car ownership.

- CNA/xq

Tyrian

Buy now to increase the price of COE further? Brilliant idea

AL5509

Tyrian; said:
Buy now to increase the price of COE further? Brilliant idea

Seriously, many should know who is planning for COE to shoot off the roof!
Now is only September 2013 and people are rushing for a Feb 2014 ruling!!
As far as I remember; most ruling will be announced and will kick in asap, isn't it?

Let's see CAT B to shoot through 100k ba.

Eviltrap

Yay!
COE prices on a rise still!! :D

If only can invest in COE and earn money when it rises, sure make money one. :(

The policy makers are gonna have another good laugh while they await their bigger bonuses that is to come. :(

AL5509

Eviltrap; said:
Yay!
COE prices on a rise still!! :D

If only can invest in COE and earn money when it rises, sure make money one. :(

The policy makers are gonna have another good laugh while they await their bigger bonuses that is to come. :(
Lets too wait for the next GE.
After the last GE, seem like many are still not listening and keep many still talking.........

Tyrian

Lets too wait for the next GE.
After the last GE, seem like many are still not listening and keep many still talking.........

Talk about what?

It's every Singaporean's dream and aspiration to "own" a car. Then blame COE price high. If there is no demand, it wun be high in e first place.

Perhaps, if all sinkie thinks that it's a dream to not own a car, then there wun be a need for the COE policy coz no one is buying.

AL5509

Tyrian; said:
Talk about what?

It's every Singaporean's dream and aspiration to "own" a car. Then blame COE price high. If there is no demand, it wun be high in e first place.

Perhaps, if all sinkie thinks that it's a dream to not own a car, then there wun be a need for the COE policy coz no one is buying.
Talk about what....
Talk about why is it so expensive to stay in SG lo.
Housing, education, medical, cars, singapore's pay, opportunity and daily needs...

Guess you may be a high flyers who are not affected by any of these mentioned...

Tyrian

Talk about what....
Talk about why is it so expensive to stay in SG lo.
Housing, education, medical, cars, singapore's pay, opportunity and daily needs...

Guess you may be a high flyers who are not affected by any of these mentioned...

Haha bro, I chao peasant. My ride is only a Honda wave. In case u duno what's that, it's those bikes which look like a bicycle

I'm not a high flyer. I am just easily contented with my bike. It's a "private" transport still. At least I'm happy. :)

AL5509

Tyrian; said:
Haha bro, I chao peasant. My ride is only a Honda wave. In case u duno what's that, it's those bikes which look like a bicycle

I'm not a high flyer. I am just easily contented with my bike. It's a "private" transport still. At least I'm happy. :)
I am a driver and a rider too btw.
Wave is a decent bike which is suitable in SG especially when traveling during the peak hours.
Hhmm likewise, are you married yet with housing, children, aging parents to take care of?

Tyrian

I am a driver and a rider too btw.
Wave is a decent bike which is suitable in SG especially when traveling during the peak hours.
Hhmm likewise, are you married yet with housing, children, aging parents to take care of?

Wow, driver and rider. I was one too, until I sold off my esi and sticked to my wave.

I'm married with no children, yet. Hse coming up nx year, a 300+k bto in wdl. Whose parents r not aging? :) at least they can still walk around n my father's still healthy n working.

Anyway, which ride you're on? Seldom see merc driver riding too.

AL5509

Tyrian; said:
Wow, driver and rider. I was one too, until I sold off my esi and sticked to my wave.

I'm married with no children, yet. Hse coming up nx year, a 300+k bto in wdl. Whose parents r not aging? :) at least they can still walk around n my father's still healthy n working.

Anyway, which ride you're on? Seldom see merc driver riding too.
ohh who said I drive a merc?
Just a Honda driver only.
Am riding spark and RT1150.

Cost of living is really shooting up the roof.
Till you get your flat and when junior is coming, you may feel it 'coming'....
Or maybe you may still be contented then hopefully which that will be good.

AL5509

Eviltrap; said:
Can't wait for the next GE!!

I'll be in AMK GRC!! :s12: :s13:

At AMK huh?
Guess nothing much to talk there..can only listen....
Lolzzzzzz

Tyrian

ohh who said I drive a merc?
Just a Honda driver only.
Am riding spark and RT1150.

Cost of living is really shooting up the roof.
Till you get your flat and when junior is coming, you may feel it 'coming'....
Or maybe you may still be contented then hopefully which that will be good.

Wa. That means u got 1 car and 2 bikes. Still better than me lah. Got car considered merc Liao. :D

I think I will feel it when the time comes. Till then, just be happy and enjoy. Got roof over head, wife n junior healthy can liao. The rest r luxuries.

AL5509

Tyrian; said:
Wa. That means u got 1 car and 2 bikes. Still better than me lah. Got car considered merc Liao. :D

I think I will feel it when the time comes. Till then, just be happy and enjoy. Got roof over head, wife n junior healthy can liao. The rest r luxuries.
Ya you are right!
Health is most important.
Cause in SG, trust me that you can die(touch wood), seriously cannot be sick. Lolzz

Anyway back to topic in case kanne mark wor lolzzz

shamuslee

ya lo. my friend also went car shopping. :(

really many cash rich singaporeans ard still.

cscs3

Talk about what?

This is true, just think this way. The price to pay for a car is enough to buy a house in Johore for retirement !

Anyway, I am not sure on decision on transferring these high HP car to cat B. To me, changing road tax to charge base on HP may be more effective and be fair to new and current owner.

You want more horse power ? Pay for it !

cscs3

Seriously, many should know who is planning for COE to shoot off the roof!
Now is only September 2013 and people are rushing for a Feb 2014 ruling!!
As far as I remember; most ruling will be announced and will kick in asap, isn't it?

Let's see CAT B to shoot through 100k ba.

Given his ability to fix the COE and MRT issues. I think he should retire early or lost his job sooner.

cscs3

ya lo. my friend also went car shopping. :(

really many cash rich singaporeans ard still.

Use one of the lesion I learned from a bank manager.
The problem is the price continue to raise. So it make sense to buy early rather then late. Until it come to the point that no one can effort.

If the price is like going down trend. Everyone start to wait.

Providence

Now I finally realize that a lot of Singaporeans are cash-rich. Including some PRs. :eek:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.