Chan Chun Sing on how some black sheep in the tuition industry can hurt the entire education sector

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

charleslee1989

Minister for Education Chan Chun Sing was speaking at an event for a graduating cohort of National Institute of Education (NIE) teachers, jointly held by NIE, the Ministry of Education (MOE) and Institute of Policy Studies (IPS) on Feb. 11.

Have he and his bosses ever thought why a lot of people force their ginnas to go for tuition in the first place?

AndroidComa

Have he and his bosses ever thought why a lot of people force their ginnas to go for tuition in the first place?
dun worry even if they have the stats they will know how to skew it to make it sound like govt is doing the BEST
likely he will tell u cos parents dun wanna self teach (when we boost of our world class education) the education is only 1 way, teacher to kids, the kids dunno how to teach their own kids
or parents want some other ppl to be responsible for the grades or teaching...

Joseph12

Seriously, he is saying that tuition centre pre-select students ? He got proof that the student has 4A1 before going for tution ? I don't think he can ever prove it. So...

can POFMA ? :ROFLMAO:
Maybe it's true maybe it's not
If true it's their right
If untrue then his black sheep argument is flawed from the start
Anyway it's stupid
He thinks tuition agency should like teach kids like schools? Take anyone willing ti pay?

Mancunian2

talking about tuition industry black sheep ....
page 5 and edmw still haven't mention yyhwin aka Onghuathuat?

BlackWing1977

Is he talking about advertisement creating a sense of FOMO to parents so that they will send their kids to tuition centre... instead of letting kids having a more well rounded growth in not just academic studies?

Coaster

Maybe it's true maybe it's not
If true it's their right
If untrue then his black sheep argument is flawed from the start
Anyway it's stupid
He thinks tuition agency should like teach kids like schools? Take anyone willing ti pay?

Ministers cannot talk like that mah. He has to talk based on facts. He cannot make an affirmative point based on 'maybe'.

Not only that, he really undermine all the students studying under his ministry. He is saying that our 4A1 students are so stupid that they just spend time and money in tuition centres not knowing whether they learn anything from there. It's such a silly thing to say...

Coaster

i hope can do like china

ban all tuition.

I think so too cause tuitions are so expensive. Those that cannot afford will be worse off.
But that would mean that the school must deliver the same without tuition ! Can CCS promise if he bans all tuition, then all the students will be better off ?

wwenze

EDMW on how some black sheep in the airline passenger industry fuging grounded the entire air travel for days and tanked the economy, but we're not going to talk about that.

Dr Stephen Strange

Wifey was unfairly slammed with below-average teacher grade for so many donkey years because she just wants to teach, want to value-add to students via cca, and doesn't want to do those dumb kpi things. And who set the kpi and the bell curve grading system? MOE HQ. Who grades the teachers? Immediate supervisors who benefit from the kpis being fulfilled.

Been through the system. I can tell you that every HOD has a quota to fulfill for lousy grades for those under them. What you ‘didn’t do’ will be used against you. I am talking about fancy projects that serves no purpose. No matter how well you teach, no one can see other than your students. End up those who spent most of their time bootlicking and doing pointless projects and extra stuff and not prioritizing the teaching of their students get a much better performance grade than teachers who are dedicated to teaching.

NintendoSwitch

I think so too cause tuitions are so expensive. Those that cannot afford will be worse off.
But that would mean that the school must deliver the same without tuition ! Can CCS promise if he bans all tuition, then all the students will be better off ?
Mini-star children will be better off as they will hv fewer competitors. All struggling to say a b c or count 1 2 3.

maxresdefault.jpg

hachi

Tell him not to pre-select students for government scholarships based solely on good grades.

If they do that, what value are they actually adding to the students?

Tell him to be perturbed by that.
Mahahhaha there are people that super hard to uplift. Then ask govt to use the same fund go ITE?
No pun intented as I was also ITE grad.

Dr Stephen Strange

Remember the Stephen Chow’s words in his Beggar movie? When the emperor told him that he felt threatened by the size of the beggar sect, Stephen Chow told him that if the emperor is wise and benevolent and his people under him is well clothed and has enough to eat, who the hell wants to be beggars? The size of the beggar sect is determined by the emperor’s ways.

Same for the tuition industry. If the teachers do their jobs properly and students are taught well, who still wants to pay money and spent time sending their kids for tuition?

spinning_quirK

Been through the system. I can tell you that every HOD has a quota to fulfill for lousy grades for those under them. What you ‘didn’t do’ will be used against you. I am talking about fancy projects that serves no purpose. No matter how well you teach, no one can see other than your students. End up those who spent most of their time bootlicking and doing pointless projects and extra stuff and not prioritizing the teaching of their students get a much better performance grade than teachers who are dedicated to teaching.
I briefly been through but didn't "enjoy" the full-fledged experience. Just enough to have seen and heard things personally, can understand the lingo, can empathise with peers. Some themselves are beginning to become KPs (it's been almost 10 years since I exited). With my own ears I personally heard ministers and dges repeatedly taichi away the need for smaller class sizes across the board, citing costs and threatening slashing of teacher salaries. While our roads take up the same area as our total housing footprint, accruing those maintenance costs, and while they proactively increase ERP, taxes, health costs to fund their own salaries and the Defence budget.

Somehow they're powerless to do the same to fund the Education budget, must threaten costs and rank-and-file teacher salaries?

parchiao

The best primary schools at best produces 30ish % IP students?
Like my niece was in a very good pri sch in the West. But she wasn't happy cos her peers were too strong.

Now at sec 3 G2, she is getting top 10% every year.

Like i said... Every sch is a good sch.. No doubt we all like better schools. And schools cannot choose their students. In this case... Tuition centers can... They are not wrong as well... They price it like it is previlege to be inside there?

The every school is a good school is rubbish lah.

Schools are not equal, will never be.
CCS might as well implement a policy to make it mandatory for schools to accept students into any CCAs that the students want to try during their secondary schools.

Currently many schools only accept the best into certain CCAs through selection exercise (eg RGS’s & Nanyang Girls’s tennis) so that the school can compete at national level. Anyone with keen interest but no prior experience will be outright rejected and not even given a chance to try out that CCA for a period of maybe a year or so. Is that what our Education Minister want to inculcate to our younger generation, that you’ll have no chance if you’re not the elite?

Please ask CCS this question.

I am sure 80 to 90 percent of parents will agree.

whuttt

This is just what's happening almost everywhere. Those that talk the loudest, wayang the most, bootlick the most get promoted.

whuttt

I feel the key is actually the class size. People go tuition because the teacher can give individual attention which the school cannot.

hachi

The every school is a good school is rubbish lah.

Schools are not equal, will never be.

Please ask CCS this question.

I am sure 80 to 90 percent of parents will agree.
Are all students the same? If yes then is easy... If no? Then how?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.