Changing Body Composition

garyyyyt

Hi guys, I'm in a bit of a rut now. Just did a body comp measurement.

My weight is 65.1kg.
Muscle mass: 31.3kg
Body Fat mass: 10kg
BF: 15.3%

My initial plan (before this) was to just bulk to 75kg, I'm just going to do it really slowly (1lb a week), estimated 6 months.

I'm not extremely savvy with nutrition but I know the basics.

My question is, and I'm saying this with the knowledge that losing fat and gaining muscle at the same is close to impossible or really difficult to achieve (I may be wrong), would it be wise to just carry on with my plan of gaining weighty to 75kg in the cleanest possible way or cut first to a better BF % and then bulk?

I'm probably going get some snide comments along the way, but just try to be constructive if possible. Thanks in advance :)

XanderBuilt

How old are you?

Why do you think it's necessary to bulk and cut? Your opinion on why you think it's necessary or is "it's what everyone does".

How do you know your BF measurement is accurate?

What's your goal? Physique, strength?

garyyyyt

How old are you?

Why do you think it's necessary to bulk and cut? Your opinion on why you think it's necessary or is "it's what everyone does".

How do you know your BF measurement is accurate?

What's your goal? Physique, strength?

Turning 26 in November. I'm not saying its a necessary process but in definitely wanting to gain a lot more mass.

And whether or not it's acrutate.

Goal is aesthetics.

galapogos

15%, assuming it's accurate, is pretty good. I would say gain some weight. If you're able to maintain 15%, it will look a lot better with more muscle mass.

Anyway, post some pictures. It will be more telling than an inaccurate BF% reading from a BIA machine.

garyyyyt

15%, assuming it's accurate, is pretty good. I would say gain some weight. If you're able to maintain 15%, it will look a lot better with more muscle mass.

Anyway, post some pictures. It will be more telling than an inaccurate BF% reading from a BIA machine.

Aesthetically it's not very pleasing. My abs aren't showing. I'm thinking I gotta drop the BF more.

Yea I'll post some pictures tonight.

galapogos

At 15%, you're not gonna be showing any abs. However, you should also not have a muffin top. That's pretty good compared to the general population. If you want any better you'd have to work harder.

garyyyyt

Tried to make it as natural as possible. Taken in the morning.

1zp781z.jpg

2dni3t.jpg

garyyyyt

At 15%, you're not gonna be showing any abs. However, you should also not have a muffin top. That's pretty good compared to the general population. If you want any better you'd have to work harder.

Yea I'm probably going to have to up my weight hopefully with lean muscle mass.

galapogos

Yeah that's probably pretty close to 15%, or slightly lower. You can see a hint of abs, and some chest separation. I would say go ahead and bulk.

garyyyyt

Yeah that's probably pretty close to 15%, or slightly lower. You can see a hint of abs, and some chest separation. I would say go ahead and bulk.

Thanks for the advice.

Now to meal planning, I'm going to go for 1g of protein/lb bodyweight. So basically the ratio would be 60:22:18 (C:p:F) totalling at 2500 cals a day.

Still working on the details. Will post for critique when I'm done.

gkhchay

Thanks for the advice.

Now to meal planning, I'm going to go for 1g of protein/lb bodyweight. So basically the ratio would be 60:22:18 (C:p:F) totalling at 2500 cals a day.

Still working on the details. Will post for critique when I'm done.

At any stage within the bulking phase you gain more fat on your belly than you desire, reduce the carbs.

A much better ratio, at least from my POV would be 50:25:25. May or may not work for you but when I bulked up in my younger days, any % higher in carbs, I'd start getting love handles & a belly...

garyyyyt

At any stage within the bulking phase you gain more fat on your belly than you desire, reduce the carbs.

A much better ratio, at least from my POV would be 50:25:25. May or may not work for you but when I bulked up in my younger days, any % higher in carbs, I'd start getting love handles & a belly...

Yea I'm actually concerned about the high carb value. Yea I'll take your advice and use that ratio. Thanks.

sAVaGEmP5

i wonder if i want to have more defined abs (like TS pics)

Do i bulk up or cut more fats ? I scare bulk up already size become big but still cant see much defined cuttings... esp abs.

xerref

Don't bulk. Eat at maintenance and just add cals (~10%) on workout days.
I think you've got a godo base, might as well maintain for a bit then cut down.

You look about 15-18% how tall are you btu? We're about the same weight.

garyyyyt

i wonder if i want to have more defined abs (like TS pics)

Do i bulk up or cut more fats ? I scare bulk up already size become big but still cant see much defined cuttings... esp abs.

Lol I don't have defined abs bro. You can hardly even see them.

Don't bulk. Eat at maintenance and just add cals (~10%) on workout days.
I think you've got a godo base, might as well maintain for a bit then cut down.

You look about 15-18% how tall are you btu? We're about the same weight.

I'm at this stage for a long time now. I wanna transform, in this case is to get bigger. I'm 168cm

jokerk

My 2cents is at 15% bf would be to either remain at 15% while "bulking" up or cut down to 10-12% before bulking up.

Things(nutrition partitioning, insulin sensitivity) get harder when you get too fat. It also becomes easier when you get lean (10-12%).

Anyway with some non-natty lighting and positioning, your abs would probably look more defined

garyyyyt

My 2cents is at 15% bf would be to either remain at 15% while "bulking" up or cut down to 10-12% before bulking up.

Things(nutrition partitioning, insulin sensitivity) get harder when you get too fat. It also becomes easier when you get lean (10-12%).

Anyway with some non-natty lighting and positioning, your abs would probably look more defined

I'm going to go with the first option. I'm planning to take it really slowly until Nov. Hopefully if all things go well, I'm going to be at 75kg.

sAVaGEmP5

Lol I don't have defined abs bro. You can hardly even see them.

I'm at this stage for a long time now. I wanna transform, in this case is to get bigger. I'm 168cm

hey ya... tats why if u bulk up the abs will be gone sia, not like u can control where the calories will go... Big size but no defined abs also sian

gkhchay

hey ya... tats why if u bulk up the abs will be gone sia, not like u can control where the calories will go... Big size but no defined abs also sian

Well, you can do a clean bulk which will take much longer but you won't gain any fat at all. Keep the cabs low but increase calories by increasing fat & protein intake.

garyyyyt

Yea, but I rather gain size then have abs cause it's a total package isn't it? Slowly lor

Well, you can do a clean bulk which will take much longer but you won't gain any fat at all. Keep the cabs low but increase calories by increasing fat & protein intake.

Yup that's the plan. Go for the clean bulk and keep the fat % low as possible. See how it goes.

But thanks so much for the advice and recommendations.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.