Changing private driving instructor..

nipponguru

Hi All,

Last month I joined to take driving lessons with a private driving instructor. Already went for 4 lessons but the instructor keep discouraging and very verbal. He is not clear in his instructions though i told him i have zero driving experience and expect me to act according to his thinking as matured driver. He felt as I am not good learner and he is feeling very tense after teaching me and he need time to cool down. He told he can't give lessons weekly and has scheduled next lesson for end of this month.

Though I have read reviews about the instructors and already prepared to some extent for the scolding but i am still preparing to change instructor if I can't take it at some point.

The question is what will be the implication if I change to another instructor. On day one, I signed a agreement type of card and i didn't notice the details. Will it be like I just pay the enrollment fee with the new instructor and the count of lessons will be reset for taking the simulator test and can forget about this instructor or is it more than that like pay any penalty to this instructor?

Thanks in advance for any help..

zzzzzzz

if u looking for structured learning, better off enrolling yourself in a driving school and start off on a clean slate
:(

g_t2006

Hi All,

Last month I joined to take driving lessons with a private driving instructor. Already went for 4 lessons but the instructor keep discouraging and very verbal. He is not clear in his instructions though i told him i have zero driving experience and expect me to act according to his thinking as matured driver. He felt as I am not good learner and he is feeling very tense after teaching me and he need time to cool down. He told he can't give lessons weekly and has scheduled next lesson for end of this month.

Though I have read reviews about the instructors and already prepared to some extent for the scolding but i am still preparing to change instructor if I can't take it at some point.

The question is what will be the implication if I change to another instructor. On day one, I signed a agreement type of card and i didn't notice the details. Will it be like I just pay the enrollment fee with the new instructor and the count of lessons will be reset for taking the simulator test and can forget about this instructor or is it more than that like pay any penalty to this instructor?

Thanks in advance for any help..

what's the logic of paying penalty to this instructor?

when he asked you to book your next lesson, just tell him your schedule is busy now. you'll contact him to book your next lesson. then don't contact him ever again lor.

BuGGi3

Never heard of a contract for PDI. Long ago when SSDC was still at YCK, I've also stopped taking lessons from an instructor and changed to another PDI. It's pay per lesson anyways.

yuzu28

Wow, ur pdi similar to mine. After 4 lessons I also can't turn properly. He kept saying he dun want to teach me since 2nd lesson. I'm registered with school now. But the queue is very long. Enrolled on 2 jan but till now not even the first induction lesson. When dates are opened, wasn't able to grab a date too.

nipponguru

Thanks all for the views. I already informed the PDI that I am not continuing lessons with him anymore and already enrolled with a school.

crystalcl13

Wow, ur pdi similar to mine. After 4 lessons I also can't turn properly. He kept saying he dun want to teach me since 2nd lesson. I'm registered with school now. But the queue is very long. Enrolled on 2 jan but till now not even the first induction lesson. When dates are opened, wasn't able to grab a date too.
Hello! Your situation is so alike with mine, today I just took my 2nd driving lesson with this BBDC 3A PDI and halfway on the road he got so pissed with me and threatened me if I do sth again and he not happy he would kick me out of the car on the spot, he would give me today's lesson for free and refund me the $70 registration fee. All because he thought I didn't listen to him and I was "hard to teach". In the end he still proceeded to ask me when I wanted to book my next lesson. Because he is my PDI so I was calm and didn't scold back and all the way I was very cordial but I already developed that phobia of driving and at that point of time I started wondering if I just don't belong on the road. I am still waiting to see who will kick whom first. Honestly I wouldn't mind being kicked by him at least I can get my $70 back and change to another PDI or switch to school. And to stop absorbing the toxic energy from him.

1. I feel his teaching is not structured.
2. He likes to speak to me in Hokkien sometimes. I told him not to talk to me in Hokkien (as I don't quite understand) but he would still go back to Hokkien after awhile.
3. Today he kept scratching the skin of his hand very very hard and he flaked the dirt off his nails.
4. He kept yawning because the weather was really good to snooze.

So tell me, what now?

Btw, he is Mr. Neo, not sure of the full name (98567207).

yuzu28

Hello! Your situation is so alike with mine, today I just took my 2nd driving lesson with this BBDC 3A PDI and halfway on the road he got so pissed with me and threatened me if I do sth again and he not happy he would kick me out of the car on the spot, he would give me today's lesson for free and refund me the $70 registration fee. All because he thought I didn't listen to him and I was "hard to teach". In the end he still proceeded to ask me when I wanted to book my next lesson. Because he is my PDI so I was calm and didn't scold back and all the way I was very cordial but I already developed that phobia of driving and at that point of time I started wondering if I just don't belong on the road. I am still waiting to see who will kick whom first. Honestly I wouldn't mind being kicked by him at least I can get my $70 back and change to another PDI or switch to school. And to stop absorbing the toxic energy from him.

1. I feel his teaching is not structured.
2. He likes to speak to me in Hokkien sometimes. I told him not to talk to me in Hokkien (as I don't quite understand) but he would still go back to Hokkien after awhile.
3. Today he kept scratching the skin of his hand very very hard and he flaked the dirt off his nails.
4. He kept yawning because the weather was really good to snooze.

So tell me, what now?

Btw, he is Mr. Neo, not sure of the full name (98567207).
My PDI finally 'kicked' me out and refunded me the registration fee last year. I was actually waited for that. I joined CDC and going for TP soon. I think the money with CDC is more worth it, though they have some redundant lessons. I'm a slow learner.

crystalcl13

My PDI finally 'kicked' me out and refunded me the registration fee last year. I was actually waited for that. I joined CDC 'one team' and going for TP soon. I think the money with CDC is more worth it, though they have some redundant lessons. I'm a slow learner.
After how many lessons he kicked you out and for what reason? I think I am also a slow learner, I actually watched driving clips on Youtube then I could understand better how to drive properly. Probably those clips could teach better than my PDI. Today's experience has always stuck on my mind until now, I gave it a thought and actually I think I am ready to forgo the $70 anytime, like what's $70. I will wait and see if I can hang in there till I get back my $70 or I dump him first. Most likely I won't change another PDI and will just switch to school too. I think I can still save more money overall being a school student than keep failing TP under these PDIs....

yuzu28

After how many lessons he kicked you out and for what reason? I think I am also a slow learner, I actually watched driving clips on Youtube then I could understand better how to drive properly. Probably those clips could teach better than my PDI. Today's experience has always stuck on my mind until now, I gave it a thought and actually I think I am ready to forgo the $70 anytime, like what's $70. I will wait and see if I can hang in there till I get back my $70 or I dump him first. Most likely I won't change another PDI and will just switch to school too. I think I can still save more money overall being a school student than keep failing TP under these PDIs....
4 lessons. At 2nd lesson, he already said want to kicked me out. He had been yelling at me every lesson, I did not learn anything. I can't even turn properly at a curve and he scolded me. When I asked how much to turn, he said by feeling. 🤷 Then I think 3rd lesson, he brought me to a car park learn u turn. As usual, no say turn how much, how to turn etc. Then scolded me for not doing correctly. 🤷 Glad that I took back the registration and I immediately cancelled a lesson with him. Now with school much better. It's more expensive but at least I'm learning. And instructors scared people complain one.

I think u dun wait liao. Just dump him and be thick skin. Tell him "that day u said will refund me the registration..." , dun waste time liao cos i feel u won't learn anything more. He maybe taking u as a float, earning ur money when lesser student. When go more students, he will kicked u. He won't have the real heart to teach u.

crystalcl13

4 lessons. At 2nd lesson, he already said want to kicked me out. He had been yelling at me every lesson, I did not learn anything. I can't even turn properly at a curve and he scolded me. When I asked how much to turn, he said by feeling. 🤷 Then I think 3rd lesson, he brought me to a car park learn u turn. As usual, no say turn how much, how to turn etc. Then scolded me for not doing correctly. 🤷 Glad that I took back the registration and I immediately cancelled a lesson with him. Now with school much better. It's more expensive but at least I'm learning. And instructors scared people complain one.

I think u dun wait liao. Just dump him and be thick skin. Tell him "that day u said will refund me the registration..." , dun waste time liao cos i feel u won't learn anything more. He maybe taking u as a float, earning ur money when lesser student. When go more students, he will kicked u. He won't have the real heart to teach u.
Actually what u say is correct... I saw his notebook, his schedule is packed for the weekends.. At the end of my 1st lesson we were checking for availability for my 2nd and he struck off another student's contact number and mumbled sth I couldn't catch so I didn't know the exact reason for dropping that student's slot. Yesterday we were booking a slot for this weekend and he shortened another student's booking from 2hrs to 1hr for me. I also have a vibe he will just kick whoever if he has new students. Kinda unpredictable. I looked up pdireviews.com and saw two Neos under BBDC 3A category, 1 with reviews, 1 without and I was wondering if mine is the one with reviews and the 1.5star rating šŸ˜‘ Thinking to go to school after this but heard it's getting more and more difficult to secure lessons, sigh. Anyway let's see if I can get back my $70 this weekend, will update you :) Last night I whatsapp-ed that manual PDI who gave me his number for his full name, he replied "Sorry I don't have his full name" LOL

EJB

A little bit only cannot take it, when you get your license, you get bullied by bigger cars on the roads, Q7, X5, M7, GLCs, C45 etc., then what? Going to give up driving?

Your focus is on driving not how he talks or scolds. As long as you did it correctly, just continue. If not just go school. School's a big business, Q is longer, more expensive and of course instructors won't berate you like PDIs.

I took mine under PDI, passed one time. My instructor only say left, right, uturn, that's it.

yuzu28

Actually what u say is correct... I saw his notebook, his schedule is packed for the weekends.. At the end of my 1st lesson we were checking for availability for my 2nd and he struck off another student's contact number and mumbled sth I couldn't catch so I didn't know the exact reason for dropping that student's slot. Yesterday we were booking a slot for this weekend and he shortened another student's booking from 2hrs to 1hr for me. I also have a vibe he will just kick whoever if he has new students. Kinda unpredictable. I looked up pdireviews.com and saw two Neos under BBDC 3A category, 1 with reviews, 1 without and I was wondering if mine is the one with reviews and the 1.5star rating šŸ˜‘ Thinking to go to school after this but heard it's getting more and more difficult to secure lessons, sigh. Anyway let's see if I can get back my $70 this weekend, will update you :) Last night I whatsapp-ed that manual PDI who gave me his number for his full name, he replied "Sorry I don't have his full name" LOL
Reviews dun seem to work one. The pdi I had, review was good. But i dun find him good. Pdi earns money with more new registration. I dun think they welcome slow learners. Before I went school, i texted 2 other pdi to enquire. I mentioned to them I'm a slow learner. After 2-3 exchanges, they dun reply me liao.

If u think u are slow and timid, i suggest u learn at cdc. Cos ubi area can build up confidence. It's indeed not easy when u driving around ubi.

dilphinus

Reviews dun seem to work one. The pdi I had, review was good. But i dun find him good. Pdi earns money with more new registration. I dun think they welcome slow learners. Before I went school, i texted 2 other pdi to enquire. I mentioned to them I'm a slow learner. After 2-3 exchanges, they dun reply me liao.

If u think u are slow and timid, i suggest u learn at cdc. Cos ubi area can build up confidence. It's indeed not easy when u driving around ubi.
:eek: :eek: :eek: really ah? I took my lessons at Ubi. I have to admit I had a great instructor. 2nd lesson I've learnt to u-turn. I got bored driving on the road by the 4th lesson and stopped going for lessons until I passed my FTT. As soon as I passed my FTT, he helped me booked my TP test.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.