Cheap accomodation for 1st timer

Lexmerc

Hi all, since on accommodation I thought can just ask here.

I read online that accommodation is cheaper if we book directly from the hotel on the day itself. May risk not having rooms but its okay because there are so many around. Is this true??

I'm aware that this might not work for peak period like xmas. I'm going during the last 2 weeks of Dec. Can I pull this off ._.

wildkev

I read online that accommodation is cheaper if we book directly from the hotel on the day itself. May risk not having rooms but its okay because there are so many around. Is this true??

I'm aware that this might not work for peak period like xmas. I'm going during the last 2 weeks of Dec. Can I pull this off ._.

If you are going during last 2 weeks in Dec, better book fast if not I can only say "Good Luck" to you. :s13:

marcho21

TPE dun take the risk. Or else u can prepare camping bags at TMS.

marcho21

If you are going during last 2 weeks in Dec, better book fast if not I can only say "Good Luck" to you. :s13:

Hotel bookings start 3 mths bef, so just camp in front of your com on 1 Sep.

Book Cityinn cfm safe.

wildkev

Hotel bookings start 3 mths bef, so just camp in front of your com on 1 Sep.

Book Cityinn cfm safe.

I am more Kiasu, I will call and book normally. Sometimes will hit jackpot as they allow me to reserve. Normally is 4 to 5 mths earlier. =:p

incredible.piggie

Dec period and you dont want to book?!? Remember to bring tent and sleeping bag to taiwan.

dede1217

My friend went there last year ...
hotel price super expensive ...
one stayed at ecfa, one nite four ppl is abt 250sgd ...
three stars 20m2 size hotel with breakfast
offpeak period can be as low as 130sgd ...

the other stayed at airline ...
abt 250sgd per nite for two ...
offpeak period abt 120sgd

my understandings is that rack rate is at least 30 to 50% more expensive than when you book online, and in advance. price will change if you book at least 30 , 45 , 60 days in advance ...
you can try book when you there.

dede1217

booked go sleep hotel for fri to sat ... abt 64sgd with breakfast ...
at xmd hotel ...
was researching everytime for below 75sgd budget at xmd with breakfast n bath tub ...
finally managed to find the hotel today, hence faster book ...
stayed there before 2x not bad , unless you picky need stay atas hotel ...

Lexmerc

My friend went there last year ...
hotel price super expensive ...
one stayed at ecfa, one nite four ppl is abt 250sgd ...
three stars 20m2 size hotel with breakfast
offpeak period can be as low as 130sgd ...

the other stayed at airline ...
abt 250sgd per nite for two ...
offpeak period abt 120sgd

my understandings is that rack rate is at least 30 to 50% more expensive than when you book online, and in advance. price will change if you book at least 30 , 45 , 60 days in advance ...
you can try book when you there.

How come so expensive?
I went there 2 yrs back CNY the px also not that ex leh ._.
Thought I could try my luck with coming Dec holidays if can just walk in like that not. But again, seeing all the replies, I had better not take the risk!

incredible.piggie

How come so expensive?
Thought I could try my luck with coming Dec holidays if can just walk in like that not. But again, seeing all the replies, I had better not take the risk!

My recommendation: http://www.hopehotel.com.tw/?ptype=hotel

- at TMS (opp bus station)
- No breakfast
- Bath tub (except single rm)
- Window (some single rm no window)
- Lift
- Pricing very standard - 周五,周六與國訂假日前後 都是算假日價 周日至周四 都是算平日價
- Deposit: 1 day via cc, rest via cash on arrival
- Got washing machine and dryer, can use foc but have to bring own detergent.

I stayed twice, my group of friends also always stay there. The beds are quite comfy, rm and toilet is clean and not too small, 24hr front desk, staff are very friendly and chatty, but dont expect too much service from them.

wildkev

How come so expensive?

Don't forget during that time not only tourist will be at Taipei but people from all over Taiwan will be there. It's good to book early as I have seen people walking in at last min during that period and ended up couldn't find a room. You are there for holiday and not spending your time going to one hotel after another trying to book a room. Don't let this spoils your holiday mood. Also there are alot budget hotels around. You don't have to follow what most Singaporeans did by staying at City inn. Do your homework and you will find one which is avg and suit your budget. A simple hotel like Red Cabin Inn will do and the price is not that expensive. You are there for holiday and not staying in hotel so as long as it is safe and clean will do. Just my 2 cents.

紅菱閣大飯店

There are alot such hotel around Ximending.

dede1217

How come so expensive?

haha coz they going xmas and countdown period lol ...
demand high ...
no forgetting many ppl around the world would b flying there to celebrate also

dede1217

was researching taipei hotel ...
found go sleep hankou at 62.50sgd per nite on my travel date , wed to fri
then fri to sat is abt 75sgd

Diary of Taipei Hotel II, Zhonghua Branch , wed to fri is abt 67.50sgd per nite

dede1217

Managed to find diary of taipeiat xmd 4 pax at 69sgd per nite with breakfast ...
at expedia :)
think is oni selected dates.
checked my travel date only one day have the price ...

dede1217

was checking hotel promo ...
managed to find wish hotel and hotel puri tms @ 85sgd per nite ...

dede1217

checked my sept travel date
some hotels kinda worth !

go sleep wuchang double with bf abt 43sgd
itrip Taipei Inn superior with bf is 73sgd
Green World Hotel Zhonghua standard is 84sgd
Hotel Puri Taipei (XMD) standard is 88sgd
SWIIO Hotel standard is 88sgd
AT Boutique standard with bf is 90sgd

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.