Chee Hong Tat on why public transport service standards should be separate from fare reviews

boredom2012

The question then becomes what is driving the increased operating cost that does not commensurate with increased reliability.
Hmm maybe management greedy. Management want more pay so operating cost increase

The_best2

He correct lo.. u go spa pay entrance fee $69 no matter how lousy service u get lo… if she can make u more happy u give her tips lo.. then due to cost increase they increase entranc fee to $89 u still need to pay even if lousy service, the most u dun go liao next time.

so if mrt or bus service bad then they increase fare u dun take lo.. if their service good until u bery happy u give extta tips to the drivers lo if u want or buy chocolate for the drivers

yes i think like the minister

buttbERry

Honorary Mentor
Why must separate

machiam bonus and how well a company do got no link

tomsss

lol so the public transport incentives is decided by LTA and not from the public.

Public transport then dun actually have to listen to public feedback la, correct? because doesn't matter mah. As long as LTA see public transport providers doing the bare minimum, all is good.

really good to work in govt. All that power.

HDLjhj

If lack of funding is the reason for fare increases, why not penalise the operator to make up for the lack of funding?

Eliwood

Hmm maybe management greedy. Management want more pay so operating cost increase

Means the formula isnt comprehensive and granular enuff.

They shd also consider the intent of the increase in operating cost and measure against the outcome...

neutralph

It’s like telling my boss my performance standard and my salary adjustment should be separated. I deserved a 10% increment because of inflation, and you cannot link my pay to my performance hor (even though I always late for work and did not meet expectations).

chee hong really is chee hong kia
I will play this video on my next performance review.

Medicated Oil

It is time that they look themselves in the mirror.
They need help.
Serious help.
Cannot carry on like this.

pohw0008

He correct lo.. u go spa pay entrance fee $69 no matter how lousy service u get lo… if she can make u more happy u give her tips lo.. then due to cost increase they increase entranc fee to $89 u still need to pay even if lousy service, the most u dun go liao next time.

so if mrt or bus service bad then they increase fare u dun take lo.. if their service good until u bery happy u give extta tips to the drivers lo if u want or buy chocolate for the drivers

yes i think like the minister
Difference is spa can don't go mrt cannot don't take 😂

The_best2

Difference is spa can don't go mrt cannot don't take 😂
Mrt can dun take lo can ride bicycle/ motorbike or take grab/taxi or take bus or drive car lo

spa must go lo cos sometimes muscle very hard need to make my muscle soft;) can consider as medical essential

klim668

When they up the fares, they say they do it so that they can serve u better.
When service no good, they say fares has nothing do with service standard.
人话是他,鬼话也是他.

priore

I quote from ST:

"If our fares are not adjusted to reflect rising operating costs, the persistent shortfall would have a chronic impact on service quality and reliability over time,” he said.

So what you're saying is that the recent episode is a fine example of a consequence of shortfall?

You're using this episode to teach us a lesson?

Nvm gaslighting, this is straight up obnoxious.

You know as well as I do that when it comes to MRT, there is ZERO market competition. Zero. There isn't another provider for MRT.

Bus is a far cry as a substitute good. And even if u want to deem it as a substitute product, the fares are not competing with MRT anyway - which is precisely why we have distance based pricing that links up from Bus to MRT seemlessly.

Ridiculous, absolutely abhorrent.

We all know that public transport system in Singapore is "privatised" - a farce that just about anyone with half a brain cell can see.

There is no competition to push prices - it's all arbitrarily decided through "fare review" instead of market forces. And yet you're saying it shouldn't be tied to the value that this service produces which should be measured by reliability?

CHT is on a whole another level of delusion.

He's making WOKE people look sane.

treeskull

Privatised and no competition means monopoly, means LTA can suka suka up price as and when they like

spinning_quirK

Where do we go to access SMRT executives' salary figures, the company revenues, profits, costs etc? Are these easily accessible? Do we know the background of every single SMRT executive?
Also, a former SMRT CEO talked about deep-seated culture, can we find out where this culture is rooted and most problematic? Is it at management level? Engineering level? Technician level?

Buses and trains are crowded, lacking insulation against exterior noise, full of unmanaged interior noise, inconsistent in frequency, (buses) stuck behind traffic lights that don't prioritise them, and fares are now in excess of $2 per meaningful trip. Trains don't sync up at interchange stations taking into account walking distance and speed, train doors are open extra long at interchange stations, meaning that if a line has more interchange stations, you can wait whole day.

Visor9999

Most of them looking down... all acting busy. What they busy with?

Or they also dont think he's saying anything important...

Yadayadayadayadayada

Because they will still hike transport fare... doesnt matter ma

Busy with counting money in their bank accounts lah

ribena.bing

Where do we go to access SMRT executives' salary figures, the company revenues, profits, costs etc? Are these easily accessible? Do we know the background of every single SMRT executive?
Also, a former SMRT CEO talked about deep-seated culture, can we find out where this culture is rooted and most problematic? Is it at management level? Engineering level? Technician level?

Buses and trains are crowded, lacking insulation against exterior noise, full of unmanaged interior noise, inconsistent in frequency, (buses) stuck behind traffic lights that don't prioritise them, and fares are now in excess of $2 per meaningful trip. Trains don't sync up at interchange stations taking into account walking distance and speed, train doors are open extra long at interchange stations, meaning that if a line has more interchange stations, you can wait whole day.

Thats why they privatised a national infrastructure. So no need to be transparent to commoners like u and me

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.