ChiangMai

Avante7227

I'm also curious on this place, not much information on CM.

is it too boring or unsafe?
Worth the go?

Whether worth visiting or not really depends on individual's preferences.

CM is a laid back town with lots of nature (think trekking, waterfalls, jungle zip lines, elephant parks, ATV, etc). A few are near the old city (within 30 mins drive) but most are 1 to 3 hours drive away and may involve a half or full day trip.

For history lovers, there are lots of old and splendid Wat (temples in Thai).

For night markets, the bigger ones are the Saturday Walking Street (opp Chiang Mai Gate) and Sunday Walking Street (from Tha Phae Gate), which operate on Sat & Sun respectively only as their names imply. There are also nightly
night market along Chang Klang (spelling?) Road but it is catered to tourist and slightly pricier.
I prefer the lesser known albeit smaller night market opp CMU. When I was there 2 weeks ago, I only saw a handful of tourists.

Although there are modern shopping centres with cinemas in CM (Central Airport, Central Festival, MAYA), they are scattered around. Hence, don't expect a vast shopping street like BKK or our Orchard Rd.

There are plenty of blogs and vlogs online, just need to spend time to search.

Hope this helps.

Delsamor

I'm also curious on this place, not much information on CM.

is it too boring or unsafe?
Worth the go?

More safe than sg TBH. Boring or not depends on personal preference. Yes, super worth it. I regret I never go CM earlier, but it will not be my last trip there. I have 2 more trips to CM in the making :D

kurtgoh

Whether worth visiting or not really depends on individual's preferences.

CM is a laid back town with lots of nature (think trekking, waterfalls, jungle zip lines, elephant parks, ATV, etc). A few are near the old city (within 30 mins drive) but most are 1 to 3 hours drive away and may involve a half or full day trip.

For history lovers, there are lots of old and splendid Wat (temples in Thai).

For night markets, the bigger ones are the Saturday Walking Street (opp Chiang Mai Gate) and Sunday Walking Street (from Tha Phae Gate), which operate on Sat & Sun respectively only as their names imply. There are also nightly
night market along Chang Klang (spelling?) Road but it is catered to tourist and slightly pricier.
I prefer the lesser known albeit smaller night market opp CMU. When I was there 2 weeks ago, I only saw a handful of tourists.

Although there are modern shopping centres with cinemas in CM (Central Airport, Central Festival, MAYA), they are scattered around. Hence, don't expect a vast shopping street like BKK or our Orchard Rd.

There are plenty of blogs and vlogs online, just need to spend time to search.

Hope this helps.

yeah, I did goggle on CM and read mostly were enjoying and good experience.

if I not wrong, there isn't any direct flight from sg to CM.
actually I hate taking planes especially domestic/smaller planes..
I guess the distance don't allow me to drive from bkk to CM.

renting a car in CM seems to be a good move since petrol and POI are affordable and distance away.

what would be a good time to go CM?
is communication as bad in BKK or they can speak teowchew ?

More safe than sg TBH. Boring or not depends on personal preference. Yes, super worth it. I regret I never go CM earlier, but it will not be my last trip there. I have 2 more trips to CM in the making :D

nice, what do you actually do in there?
leisure or work purpose?

Andrew833

If you don't like taking plane, you can take train but slower.
Speak mainly Thai but many PRC go there so now they learn to speak some mandarin.

Avante7227

renting a car in CM seems to be a good move since petrol and POI are affordable and distance away.

Tiger (Tue, Thu & Sat only, depart 12pm) fly direct from SG to CM (3 hours). SilkAir and SIA also have direct flights but I don't have the schedules.

Nov to Jan is the peak season to visit as it is the cold season.

If you have time to spare, taking the overnight train from BKK to CM is a good experience.

Andrew833

Tiger (Tue, Thu & Sat only, depart 12pm) fly direct from SG to CM (3 hours). SilkAir and SIA also have direct flights but I don't have the schedules.

Nov to Jan is the peak season to visit as it is the cold season.

If you have time to spare, taking the overnight train from BKK to CM is a good experience.

I heard 1st class overnight train very cold, is it true?

Delsamor

nice, what do you actually do in there?
leisure or work purpose?

Go there enjoy holiday haha. There are SIA flight operated by Silkair that fly directly to CM.

As I mentioned before, CM is becoming little china. Some Thais know how to speak Mandarin, and it's not just those working in tourism. There are quite a good number of locals, especially students, who can hold a mandarin conversation with you.

I traveled from BKK to CM via sleeper train. It's very comfortable and easy, you should try it if you have 13hrs to spare.

I heard 1st class overnight train very cold, is it true?

For me it's super cold lah. So cold until I went to their restaurant car to get hot dinner and coffee, best meal in my life because of the cold. But once the person setup your bed at 7pm+, you will have blanket to keep you warm.

Andrew833

For me it's super cold lah. So cold until I went to their restaurant car to get hot dinner and coffee, best meal in my life because of the cold. But once the person setup your bed at 7pm+, you will have blanket to keep you warm.

Then next time you can try 2nd class, I heard it's not so cold as 1st class.

kurtgoh

Go there enjoy holiday haha. There are SIA flight operated by Silkair that fly directly to CM.

As I mentioned before, CM is becoming little china. Some Thais know how to speak Mandarin, and it's not just those working in tourism. There are quite a good number of locals, especially students, who can hold a mandarin conversation with you.

I traveled from BKK to CM via sleeper train. It's very comfortable and easy, you should try it if you have 13hrs to spare.

13hrs from BKK to CM?
thanks but no thanks :s13:

I guess the best way is to fly direct..
I don't think I will drive there.

Maybe once reach CM, I then rent a car to move around.
I'm keeping this for 2018..

Delsamor

Then next time you can try 2nd class, I heard it's not so cold as 1st class.

Not sure about 1st class, but 2nd class is really cold...for me lah. Maybe 1st class I will need down feather jacket liao :D

13hrs from BKK to CM?

13hrs if no delays or ridiculous stopping :D

BoonMee

13hrs from BKK to CM?

a new hotel for your 2018 trip..:D

4lrbbs.png
[/IMG]
https://www.booking.com/hotel/th/u-nimman-chiang-mai.html

2dwabt.jpg
[/IMG]

beanstalk6

Taking the first class sleeper between Chiang Mai and Bangkok is an experience in itself. The food is good and they have recently introduced new coaches. Since it is an overnight sleeper, you get to sleep on board through the night and arrive at either city in the fresh morning air. First class comes with private cabins, while for second class travelers who sleep light may have a problem.

Ah-Toh

thinking of going solo to CM, is it recommended for a first time solo-er and how many days should i spend there?

butterbarter

thinking of going solo to CM, is it recommended for a first time solo-er and how many days should i spend there?

CM is very safe and easy for solo travellers as it is very tourist-friendly. Just take the songthaew or Uber/Grab. If you can ride a motorcycle, rent a scooter for 300baht a day and ride around. There are lots to explore in CM and the surrounding mountains and countryside.

The famous Samoeng loop is a 100km road trip around the mountains, passing by strawberry farms, botanic gardens, coffee shops, small villages, and waterfalls. Very nice. Go by car or by rental scooter (again, only if you can ride and have a licence).

3 days would be a good start, although it really depends on what you like to do.

Then, if you have time, you can take a Green Bus (buy ticket online and pay at any 7-11) to Chiang Rai. Also another chillax place that's even more laid back. Chiang Rai is known for it's White Temple, Black House, mountains, nature, a massive Sat night market, and proximity to Golden Triangle.

You can do both in a week. Note: I rented a scooter in CM and CR, so transport was not an issue. I took the Green Bus between the 2 cities.

LonelyMan

For Chiang Mai and Chiang Rai, very safe places. Just keep your alertness and you can go out at night not an issue. Backpacked 2 weeks in CM and CR.

FYI, do not go for elephant tours which provides elephant riding as this is cruel to the elephants and can injure their spine. Go for those where you can bath and feed the elephants.

CR you can do trekking or hiking tours, go to the Thai Myanmar border into Myanmar itself. Golden triangle is another place you can go when you go to Thai Myanmar border. There are 2 museums for opium history to visit at the golden triangle. There are temples around so if you are keen you can go visit.

CM has a lot of cafes, temples. There is a Thai women prison massage place with a restaurant. I would say the massage is decently good and the food is good too by there female prisoners. Go support them.

Edit:
FYI I go by public transport like mini bus and tuktuk or red taxi etc. I speak no Thai but you just need to respect them by putting your palms together and you will get your way around easily. Of course plan your itinerary before hand. Yes the key is respect by remaining silent rather than make lots of noises which I see many Singaporeans do so overseas.

applefreak

FYI, do not go for elephant tours which provides elephant riding as this is cruel to the elephants and can injure their spine. Go for those where you can bath and feed the elephants.
second this. the elephants are not well treated and cruel things done to them behind the tourists' eyes...

can consider visiting https://www.elephantnaturepark.org/
had a great time there feeding and bathing the elephants

Ah-Toh

decided to pull the trigger and book the trip for CM next week, will spend 5.5days there.

any place you guys recommend me to stay and any must do? (i cant ride scooter though)

beanstalk6

decided to pull the trigger and book the trip for CM next week, will spend 5.5days there.

any place you guys recommend me to stay and any must do? (i cant ride scooter though)

You can look at joining a Golden Triangle land tour, since you have 5 days.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.