China & hk stocks/ etfs

limster

Brah....all i can see is walls of text.
Not a single recommendation on what stock to buy and why.

Can we cut to the chase?
i've been noticing this of late. even people who say they don't buy China/HK stock (or don't share their China/HK holdings) are regularly posting wall of text in China HK stock thread like non-Apple user going to Apple user group and spamming posts..... :ROFLMAO:

d5dude

i've been noticing this of late. even people who say they don't buy China/HK stock (or don't share their China/HK holdings) are regularly posting wall of text in China HK stock thread like non-Apple user going to Apple user group and spamming posts..... :ROFLMAO:

I own about 500k of EIMI, China is 25% of that so dun say I got no skin in the game hor.

Compared to the ppl with peanut portfolios I think my nominal exposure to China is already quite substantial.

And yes I do regret investing in this ETF, many things that I dunno back then I know better now.

stanlawj

Yea I know you are a short term trader, obviously anything can happen within such a short time since fundamentals mean nothing. My posts mostly pertain to the long term, from the posts in this thread it’d appear that most people here are long term investors too so it ought to be relevant.
Well, then the post about you saying

"US stock market has generated long term value for investors. This video (requires decent Chinese language proficiency) has some numbers on why the Chinese stock market has done so poorly for long term investors over the years, there are just too many structural issues"

is just basically irrelevant. You can also lose money over the long-term (1yr to 10 yrs) in US stocks just as you would in buying Chinese stocks. What matters more is: are we in the bull cycle, or bear cycle? Next, which stocks are going up in this cycle?

Brah....all i can see is walls of text.
Not a single recommendation on what stock to buy and why.

Can we cut to the chase?
A-share premium over H-share is telling you something.
If you are bear: China stocks going to crash.
If you are a bull: Hang Seng stocks going to moon.
FYI, MasterLeong is the bull, he already got a list of stocks.

Ref: http://www.aastocks.com/en/stocks/market/ah.aspx

d5dude

Well, then the post about you saying

"US stock market has generated long term value for investors. This video (requires decent Chinese language proficiency) has some numbers on why the Chinese stock market has done so poorly for long term investors over the years, there are just too many structural issues"

is just basically irrelevant. You can also lose money over the long-term in US stocks just as you would in buying Chinese stocks. What matters more is: are we in the bull cycle, or bear cycle? Next, which stocks are going up in this cycle?

Wtf are you taking about man? SPX is basically near all time highs right now, you’d be up even if you bought in during the peak in 2021, of course 3 years can’t even be considered medium term, let alone long term but even those buggers are winning. Who is losing? The day traders who went long at the open yesterday?

stanlawj

Wtf are you taking about man? SPX is basically near all time highs right now, you’d be up even if you bought in during the peak in 2021, of course 3 years can’t even be considered medium term, let alone long term but even those buggers are winning. Who is losing? The day traders who went long at the open yesterday?
Nope, US dollar is devaluing vs gold.
The SP500-to-gold ratio is lower today than in Nov 2021, and more than 50% below it's July 2000 peak.
Ref: https://www.macrotrends.net/1437/sp500-to-gold-ratio-chart?q=S&P+500

stanlawj

I own about 500k of EIMI, China is 25% of that so dun say I got no skin in the game hor.

Compared to the ppl with peanut portfolios I think my nominal exposure to China is already quite substantial.

And yes I do regret investing in this ETF, many things that I dunno back then I know better now.
Come, join the dark side in trading. You'll make more money and much faster too... :ROFLMAO:
I think you're doing quite well in your trading adventures so far. Your bearish China attitude actually works to your advantage.

limster

not referring to you and thanks for sharing.... i give more weight to opinions of people with skin in the game...

but I noticed someone who is active in this thread posted that he doesn't invest in HK/China. :cool:

Mephist0pheLes

not referring to you and thanks for sharing.... i give more weight to opinions of people with skin in the game...

but I noticed someone who is active in this thread posted that he doesn't invest in HK/China. :cool:

Am I one of those u r referring to? Jus like ppl that invested in China need to seek justification and validation, those who didn't also need to do it for their choices mah.

I got alot more skin in the US market, but I don't mind ppl going into the US investing thread and take opposite side of it, and we can argue/debate over it and then each of us make our own assessment.

stanlawj

"I only trade the S&P 500"

Someone just posted this in this HK/China stocks thread. Makes me wonder, if only trade S&P500, why not continue to post in the active US stock thread.... why post here :ROFLMAO:
Actually, I know what you are talking about. To be honest, it matters to pay attention to other views especially opposing views, and try to find ways to counter them. If you cannot counter them, means they are probably right.

DevilPlate

Then why still holding on to EIMI?

Can sell and invest into elsewhere since u are much more knowledgeable today?

aurvandil

"I only trade the S&P 500"

Someone just posted this in this HK/China stocks thread. Makes me wonder, if only trade S&P500, why not continue to post in the active US stock thread.... why post here :ROFLMAO:

Just kaypoh I suppose. I talk to people who trade all sorts of things. First time I encounter someone who tell me they don't want to talk to me because I don't trade their market.

limster

Just kaypoh I suppose. I talk to people who trade all sorts of things. First time I encounter someone who tell me they don't want to talk to me because I don't trade their market.
I actually have no problems but as someone else has noted, there is a lot of wall of text in these thread nowadays (not pointing specifically you as I think there are some others who post a lot of wall of text).

Unfortunately, most of this is just 'noise', nobody has gotten rich in the stock market by reacting to such news articles. (its not that easy) Its very hard to find people sharing actual actionable trading ideas which are far more valuable.

Added: your thread where you do your S&P500 marketwatch where you post updates every few days, thats very useful and very different from some of the wall of text we are seeing recently.

stanlawj

Regarding China A-shares premium to H-shares, there are three ways this gap can close:

1. A-shares drop
2. H-shares rise
3. RMB revalues up vs USD (HKD is pegged to USD, so HKD devalues)

#3 will likely cause more foreign funds to chase #2.
China bull: #2 + #3.
China bear: #1

Ok, can start placing your bets.

d9_lives

Regarding China A-shares premium to H-shares, there are three ways this gap can close:

1. A-shares drop
2. H-shares rise
3. RMB revalues up vs USD (HKD is pegged to USD, so HKD devalues)

#3 will likely cause more foreign funds to chase #2.
China bull: #2 + #3.
China bear: #1

Ok, can start placing your bets.

I am on winning streak this month.
Affirm -> crwd -> hood -> Sofi -> nu -> save -> stx -> tesla -> achr. All sold!

ALL IN 700 and baba!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.