China Southern Airlines?

croc1977

Any review...thinking of either booking them or MH to Shanghai...MH taken before normal but cheap but china airlines it will be my first time

dede1217

Any review...thinking of either booking them or MH to Shanghai...MH taken before normal but cheap but china airlines it will be my first time

Wanna book China Southern for my Guangzhou trip ...
Eventually go with scoot ...

If I rmb correctly, you fly China Southern to Shanghai, must transit at CAN.
You can get about $300 to Shanghai if u fly China Southern, if they have super good deals ...

China Southern , Sin to CAN, using small aircraft, a319 a320 b737-800
Hence, we go with scoot using boeing 787, which is a bigger aircraft ...

croc1977

Wanna book China Southern for my Guangzhou trip ...
Eventually go with scoot ...

If I rmb correctly, you fly China Southern to Shanghai, must transit at CAN.
You can get about $300 to Shanghai if u fly China Southern, if they have super good deals ...

China Southern , Sin to CAN, using small aircraft, a319 a320 b737-800
Hence, we go with scoot using boeing 787, which is a bigger aircraft ...
other than small plane?

ocw000

China Southern airlines (CZ) is ok lar. Nowadays they got abt 3 flights to and fro Guangzhou daily. Weight allowance is 23kg and up to 2 luggage per pax. Been taking them for years till I gave up Air China

Plane is small though, 3 a side. Noise lvl higher than SQ. I flight meal don't go for the Chinese type. In flight entertainment better use your own phone

Sent from Somewhere Ulu In Singapore using GAGT

beanstalk6

MH should give you a shorter flight time overall compared to China Southern with its transit in Guangzhou. Have you checked Spring and Juneyao for prices? They also fly direct. Xiamen should also be quite short.

dede1217

Sin to Can: 0355, 0800, 1330, 1750
Can to Sin: 0840, 1245, 1825, 2315

For Shanghai, you can choose to land at SHA or PVG.

croc1977

If u gonna fly to shanghai, the transit time should be about 2 to 3 hours each way ... Review online is not bad. If you are ok with the transit timing, and not picky with the aircraft type, should be ok ...

For their review you might wanna read here:
https://www.airlinequality.com/airline-reviews/china-southern-airlines/
i dont mind the transit....even last year and before i took cx to taipei and tokyo and transit waiting 3 hrs i ok...moi mrs wife of cos grumble.....like going shanghai ....taking direct flight is $200 more....by SQ....and i got total 4 person leh....

that why i rather choose MH or china southen ....MH transit 1 hrs plus diff...and 30kg....china southen small plane, 23 kg and unknown quality....MH i took before 3 years find ok for the price....but china flight i really got '?' and small plane got my worry also...toilet only behind nia...enough meh?i always took flight 3-4-3 or cx ones 2-4-2....never 3-3....only small plane i took is C-130 long time ago

croc1977

MH should give you a shorter flight time overall compared to China Southern with its transit in Guangzhou. Have you checked Spring and Juneyao for prices? They also fly direct. Xiamen should also be quite short.
spring and junyao is what?

croc1977

dede1217

i dont mind the transit....even last year and before i took cx to taipei and tokyo and transit waiting 3 hrs i ok...moi mrs wife of cos grumble.....like going shanghai ....taking direct flight is $200 more....by SQ....and i got total 4 person leh....

that why i rather choose MH or china southen ....MH transit 1 hrs plus diff...and 30kg....china southen small plane, 23 kg and unknown quality....MH i took before 3 years find ok for the price....but china flight i really got '?' and small plane got my worry also...toilet only behind nia...enough meh?i always took flight 3-4-3 or cx ones 2-4-2....never 3-3....only small plane i took is C-130 long time ago

normally smaller aircraft for full fledged airline, there is only 2 toilets at the back. The front toilet, they would reserve them for business class holders.
China southern , Sin to CAN is 3x3 seating arrangements.

Doubt they have their individual IFE, silkair also uses smaller aircraft for most destinations, they do not have individual IFE. Means no screen for you to watch. They allows you to connect to their silkair studio wifi, their shows very outdated ...
Every few rows, there would be one small screen at the top corner for passengers to watch ...

croc1977

normally smaller aircraft for full fledged airline, there is only 2 toilets at the back. The front toilet, they would reserve them for business class holders.
China southern , Sin to CAN is 3x3 seating arrangements.

Doubt they have their individual IFE, silkair also uses smaller aircraft for most destinations, they do not have individual IFE. Means no screen for you to watch. They allows you to connect to their silkair studio wifi, their shows very outdated ...
Every few rows, there would be one small screen at the top corner for passengers to watch ...
wah no inflight....sian.....

dede1217

Be prepared that the aircraft would be very noisy ...
Have flew to Guangzhou and other parts of China, most of the times, the plane is very noisy ... They would talk loudly and change seats anyhow ...

dede1217

wah no inflight....sian.....

From the youtube video, there isnt IFE lol ...
Sin to CAN is already about 3.5 to 4 hours journey lol ...
have to download your own movies to watch ...

Have flew on silkair b737-800 and a320 ...
Their a320 is very squeezy just like budget airline
Would prefer flying on b737-800
Perhaps southern airline is also the same case ...

therat

I took China Southern airline last week from Shanghai to Guangzhou.
Was impress on their selection of TV and movie. Their selection is way more then SQ.
Their in-flight meal is not so bad for me.

Their leg room is better then SQ economic class.
Their chair is better than SQ economic class.

Plane type : boeing 787-9

croc1977

Was impress on their selection of TV and movie. Their selection is way more then SQ.

but that 2 hrs flight....im talking more abt sg to guangzhou...that one long hours

dede1217

If you are using China Southern 787 to compare with SQ b772, of cox 787 seat is more comfortable
Just like comparing SQ a359 with china southern a320, of cox SQ a359 aircraft is much more comfortable

Depending on which airport u wanna land in shanghai.
Flight timing varies and the type of aircraft used are different too.

For China Southern, CAN to PVG (Pudong)
CZ3550: 1030 hrs departure
CZ379: 1400 hrs departure
CZ3586: 2205 hrs departure
By A321 .

For China Southern, CAN to SHA (honqiao)
There are more timings.
They uses a321, 33C, 73E, b737, a330, b787, b777

dede1217

but that 2 hrs flight....im talking more abt sg to guangzhou...that one long hours

Yup agree, about 4 hours lol ...
If no iFE, quiet boring actually ...
unless is flying on budget airline, then bo bian ...
if u flying full fledged airline, normally would prefer to have ife ...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.