China's new AI Model: DeepSeek

Krabs.

can ask it whether 动态清零 was harmful to the economy ?

FireEmblem

China needs to find a way around US attempt to block China's adoption of AI. Necessity is the mother of invention. Well done, Deepseek.

Other Chinese tech firms are also trying to provide cheaper, accessible LLM for more rapid adoption.

AI going to replace 99.999% of human jobs cos it is so cheap :(

crandfs

DeepSeek’s lightweight version is so efficient it can even run on your smartwatch, though you’ll need stronger hardware for the full setup.

It’s way cheaper to build.
Training DeepSeek-V3 cost about 5.58million ,while ChatGPT spent over 100 million.

Performance-wise, is comparable to Chatgpt's current leading o1.
Deepseek has more features as it is plugged to the internet for real time data.
You can also see how it reasons with itself before answering.

DeepSeek is open-source, so anyone can tweak or run it locally.
ChatGPT stays locked behind OpenAI’s system.

Training methods also differ. DeepSeek starts by learning through rewards (like teaching a kid with treats), then fine-tunes with data. ChatGPT does the opposite—fine-tunes first and only added rewards in later versions like GPT-4 o3.

Basically, DeepSeek’s the underdog that’s faster, cheaper, and more transparent. I'm already using Deepseek more than Chatgpt.

I think installing them on your pc is not worth the trouble, every 3 months there will be a new update.

This is good news as Chatgpt was too comfortable being the best AI for so long, price hikes were expected for their newer models. Especially when have have spent so much money, their revenue still can't break even their expenditure.

With Deepseek's Open Source success many countries will be inspired to make their own AI than to depend solely on Chatgpt.
Deepseek is trying to become the Android of AI, that's why open source. Maybe ChatGPT will become the iOS of AI?

But cannot ask it anything aboutr any major Chinese politician, not even "Who is Zhao Leji". For non-Xi politicians, it will sometimes start typing, but almost immediately detect what it has done and delete what it typed, but for Xi Jinping, won't even start typing

canteen0101

This one very petty wan
Just push boundary a bit
Then account kena suspended
no need much just key in any string with '4' and '6' can liao. next second acc tio banned and deleted permanently. i wonder how students can do their maths homework next time. use their own brains? that has good unintended consequences.

dereth

DeepSeek’s lightweight version is so efficient it can even run on your smartwatch, though you’ll need stronger hardware for the full setup.

It’s way cheaper to build.
Training DeepSeek-V3 cost about 5.58million ,while ChatGPT spent over 100 million.

Performance-wise, is comparable to Chatgpt's current leading o1.
Deepseek has more features as it is plugged to the internet for real time data.
You can also see how it reasons with itself before answering.

DeepSeek is open-source, so anyone can tweak or run it locally.
ChatGPT stays locked behind OpenAI’s system.

Training methods also differ. DeepSeek starts by learning through rewards (like teaching a kid with treats), then fine-tunes with data. ChatGPT does the opposite—fine-tunes first and only added rewards in later versions like GPT-4 o3.

Basically, DeepSeek’s the underdog that’s faster, cheaper, and more transparent. I'm already using Deepseek more than Chatgpt.

I think installing them on your pc is not worth the trouble, every 3 months there will be a new update.

This is good news as Chatgpt was too comfortable being the best AI for so long, price hikes were expected for their newer models. Especially when have have spent so much money, their revenue still can't break even their expenditure.

With Deepseek's Open Source success many countries will be inspired to make their own AI than to depend solely on Chatgpt.
You keep singing very flowy praises about Deep Seek since day one and our posts against Deep Seek kept getting silently deleted. Are you a mouthpiece of the Communist party?

If I get banned for this. We know what's up with this place.

FireEmblem

bro next time no need degree

ai is smarter than anyone of us
Supposedly the average AI model IQ is now 120, higher than 90+% of humans?

In 5 years time, hardly any humans can match liao with fierce competition between US and China.

canteen0101

You keep singing praises about Deep Seek since day one and our posts against Deep Seek kept getting silently deleted. Are you a mouthpiece of the Communist party?

If I get banned for this. We know what's up with this place.
oh no am i going to be the next one in line

touchring1

AI is definitely exploding. chatgpt or deepseek are just the beginning of the AI revolution which will evolve into robotics. have you considered what happens when there are no more need for factory and many office jobs, how will they keep the masses occupied? who is going to rent the units?

We're not exactly the type of culture that can lepak whole day at the beach or fishing whole weekend, our bros in the north maybe can.

Clarence NMT

So means cost of 100billion for USA AI is overflated? All the money go to elon pocket?
Can trabsfer knowledge ones, and do some fine tunning, nobody will train from scratch

Computer can easycopy paste, unlike human knowledge cannot copy paste easy

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.