Chit Chat with Mommy 👍🏻 🗓 ⛪️🎼 ✝️

teagarden

Tell story need feel de ah? Need to choose 良辰吉日 also? but its ok lah cos i understand not everyone wanna share personal stories de. So dont worry :o 🥴

Actually not Mani people are fortunate enough like mommy dee...

So yah...

Don't comprain why sinkie gov bring in alien lorkun and why muz bond chiur daughter gao gao Liao okai???

Also... Telled chiur daughter, find a bf in med school... Will be one of the best decision of her lifu...

:frown:

Yaoxis

True, things do get better when you are a consultants, but it still isn't easy, or at least not as easy as what most people fantasise it to be.

But frankly speaking, if one is speaking purely from the salarial perspective, the amount of effort and sacrifice put in by the local medical graduates in order to become consultants isn't worth it; passion really plays a huge part.

For myself, it was about AUD60ish thousand per annum in school fees alone. Now it is about AUD80K per annum. I think it costs about the same to train a junior doctor in Australia?

But the difference is that the hours here are much lesser than in Singapore, and most people work extra hours (such as myself) because they want to, not because they have to.

I'm curious too! :s13:

But it needs to be done in moderation. It isn't really a good idea to overwork anyone to the tune of >12 hours a day just to gain experience; your mind doesn't absorb anything after 10 hours of pressurising work.
For china, they have 2 hours lunch break...

They also work hours berry gao lat...

SongManKranji

mlmlwml. Go in only $250 fly away. If free entrance for local citizens i will go in look see a bit.
redface.gif

1f974.png
150 since when increase 250 dah. Ha ha ha
Must think u can get back 1M dah.

If not go orchard see lights but today wet wet ah. 🤣 🤣

Life is v short. Ai song song kao tuas & Changi.

HomeMommy

The issue isn't really about being bonded or not; it is more of the working culture in Singapore. Even if one was a doctor working in the public healthcare system without a bond, he or she will still be subjected to the same working conditions as a bonded doctor. The only difference is that he or she can quite without incurring any financial penalty. The trouble is that there are only so few paths you can take if you choose to leave the public healthcare system as an unspecialised, junior doctor. You could dabble in aesthetic medicine, but you need to have a certain look to sell that to your potential clients.

The only way to specialise (including family medicine) is to run the gauntlet that is the public healthcare system.

Well, in their defence, most people put money first, above passion. This is especially so in capitalist Singapore, where there are no social safety nets to catch you if you do experience hiccups while pursuing your passions.

If most other professions are allowed to pursue wealth without being placed under moral scrutiny, why not doctors too? Some may say there is a conflict of interest, and that doctors may line their pockets at the expense of their patient's interests, but it is very easy to do well financially as a doctor without compromising on your ethical conduct; they are not mutually exclusive.

for me i see it as they know that most will not break bond hence they can force upon the long hours on them as they either grit their teeth or pay a substantial amt as compensation for breaking the bond. If there ish no bond involved for all then will there could be a possibility that public hospitals will offer better work life balance to entice ppl to join them?

i think its definitely fine for them to pursue $ as part of the reasons for joining this profession because to be fair, its tough to be become one and the stress involved hence they shld be duly compensated. But if during the interview u tell them $ over passion u prob will be the first to be kicked out? So why they even bother to sieve out those ppl that r honest? 🤣

And thank u so much for entertaining lao ah po’s qns today. Really appreciate it. Have a great wkend and pls dont overwork urself. Health over wealth ok? Got health got wealth but got wealth no guarantee can get back health. :o :D 🥴

HomeMommy

Actually not Mani people are fortunate enough like mommy dee...

So yah...

Don't comprain why sinkie gov bring in alien lorkun and why muz bond chiur daughter gao gao Liao okai???

Also... Telled chiur daughter, find a bf in med school... Will be one of the best decision of her lifu...

:frown:

U say i fortunate ah? U donno moi story also de :frown:

y u like this? Moi char bor gia donno can be one or not lah. :frown:

then why u dont find gf in med sch and happily gao ying? :o 🥴

Whirling_Dervish

For china, they have 2 hours lunch break...

They also work hours berry gao lat...

I'd rather skip lunch and go home 2 hours early! :s13:

for me i see it as they know that most will not break bond hence they can force upon the long hours on them as they either grit their teeth or pay a substantial amt as compensation for breaking the bond. If there ish no bond involved for all then will there could be a possibility that public hospitals will offer better work life balance to entice ppl to join them?

i think its definitely fine for them to pursue $ as part of the reasons for joining this profession because to be fair, its tough to be become one and the stress involved hence they shld be duly compensated. But if during the interview u tell them $ over passion u prob will be the first to be kicked out? So why they even bother to sieve out those ppl that r honest? 🤣

And thank u so much for entertaining lao ah po’s qns today. Really appreciate it. Have a great wkend and pls dont overwork urself. Health over wealth ok? Got health got wealth but got wealth no guarantee can get back health. :o :D 🥴

To be frank, a good number of local graduates can afford to break the bond if they really have to because they mainly descend from well-to-do families. The reason why they don't is because their career opportunities are limited if they choose to leave after completing specialist training.

Hmmm I think most interviews are more about bringing out your best side instead of being brutally honest. Anyway, everyone knows that most people apply because of the potential lucrativity of the job that awaits, even the interviewers.

No worries! I really enjoy chatting; beats studying! I'll try to bear that in mind, but I'll probably soldier on :s13:

MochaMaverick

To be frank, a good number of local graduates can afford to break the bond if they really have to because they mainly descend from well-to-do families. The reason why they don't is because their career opportunities are limited if they choose to leave after completing specialist training.

Hmmm I think most interviews are more about bringing out your best side instead of being brutally honest. Anyway, everyone knows that most people apply because of the potential lucrativity of the job that awaits, even the interviewers.

No worries! I really enjoy chatting; beats studying! I'll try to bear that in mind, but I'll probably soldier on :s13:
ZZ lim kopi liao mah? Aussie coffee nice to drink? :o

SongManKranji

now boleh land every fri will be given 2hrs early to tng zhu ah. :grin: :s13: (y) 🙏

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.