ChitChat About Haswell Overclocking....

betadyne

Lai lets talk about Haswell overclocking.... Me very new to it and did some reading online so perhaps we all can share with each other. Seems that Haswell oc is quite difference from previous CPUs due to various voltage inputs etc....

This is what I gathered so far

1. Input voltage of around 1.9-2V

2. 4.5GHz need around 1.25V, 4.7GHz around 1.35V (depending on luck). 5GHz is literally impossible at room temp. Sucks when you consider its 22nm and whatever 3D transistor.

3. Cache of Haswell is not very good. Most chips have problems going above 4.5GHz. Eg. mine 4.5GHz need 1.3V to be totally stable. But on the other hand, I found that cache speed do not really affect performance that much. If you lower it to 4.2GHz still quite ok.

4. Memory speed also hardly improve performance, save for apps like 7Zip, Winrar.

5. Haswell is one super hot CPU. It runs cool only at idle. Once you oc and up voltage, its hot like hell even with watercooling. I use direct die water cooling and its still almost 70C under full load in IBT. Idle is just 38C. Maybe better thermal paste will improve things a little.

Teng Zai

Lai lets talk about Haswell overclocking.... Me very new to it and did some reading online so perhaps we all can share with each other. Seems that Haswell oc is quite difference from previous CPUs due to various voltage inputs etc....

This is what I gathered so far

1. Input voltage of around 1.9-2V

2. 4.5GHz need around 1.25V, 4.7GHz around 1.35V (depending on luck). 5GHz is literally impossible at room temp. Sucks when you consider its 22nm and whatever 3D transistor.

3. Cache of Haswell is not very good. Most chips have problems going above 4.5GHz. Eg. mine 4.5GHz need 1.3V to be totally stable. But on the other hand, I found that cache speed do not really affect performance that much. If you lower it to 4.2GHz still quite ok.

4. Memory speed also hardly improve performance, save for apps like 7Zip, Winrar.

5. Haswell is one super hot CPU. It runs cool only at idle. Once you oc and up voltage, its hot like hell even with watercooling. I use direct die water cooling and its still almost 70C under full load in IBT. Idle is just 38C. Maybe better thermal paste will improve things a little.

Day by day reading all these haswell threads here and ocn starting to really put me back from purchasing haswell.. Nothing to contribute here now but will input my experience if I hoot it..

betadyne

Day by day reading all these haswell threads here and ocn starting to really put me back from purchasing haswell.. Nothing to contribute here now but will input my experience if I hoot it..

Its well just ok...... Nothing much compared to IB lor..... If IB is alot cheaper than HAswell, I will hoot IB instead.

ah_khoo

I'm very new to Intel too... not even started to go into detail yet... :)

on 2. > chip mileage differs from chip to chip, even same batch one can be super good while d other being lemon. that's what i read so far. :o

on 3. saw most reviews keep it around 4k only, not so sure how big is d impact on performance if run it low.

on 4. again not so sure bout d performance but mileage wise sure significantly better than IB. DDR3 2666 seemed like easy, most able to hit > 3k, something not all IB can do.

on 5. only IBT/Linx managed to push d temp limit close to 100'C, normal gaming/programs @ full load still bearable ba? :s11:

will bookmark this thread for learnin purpose... :deg:

bemylove

haswell overclocking should be no different than ivy bridge leh. same 22nm. at least dont go over 4.3ghz, should be okay for day to day use. heat and efficiency wont be a problem.

ah_khoo

high bclk (200+) is possible on Haswell while with IB u cant even break 110 blck easily if i remember correctly. both are HOT chips thou... :o

bemylove

bclk limitation is the same leh, just haswell added some divider like sb-e.
nothing really affect the speed, is just another area you can tweak for overclocking.

haswell is really not as scary hot as you fear...as long you keep the vcore below 1.24v like ivy, prime95 wont hit 90 degrees.

of course once delidded, is really something else.

Teng Zai

bclk limitation is the same leh, just haswell added some divider like sb-e.
nothing really affect the speed, is just another area you can tweak for overclocking.

haswell is really not as scary hot as you fear...as long you keep the vcore below 1.24v like ivy, prime95 wont hit 90 degrees.

of course once delidded, is really something else.

Although somehow I know the actual situation is something like this...
Still thanks for this. I also don't know why but kinda put my mind at ease then don't need to keep on contemplating with 8350 hahaha.

Any bros arnd here do delidding svc? I no dingdongs to do razor method and no vice.

MacClipper

Even for real world apps using AVX, currently there is absolutely no need to delid at all. imo, no point risking your CPU unless you have money to burn.

Teng Zai

Even for real world apps using AVX, currently there is absolutely no need to delid at all. imo, no point risking your CPU unless you have money to burn.

Very true.. More of like a hobby/interest thing. Naturally feels dam shiok when temps go down a lot.

MacClipper

Simple to do that actually, don't run any stress apps with unrealistic AVX loading... temps drop 20-30C rightaway. Though still useful if used meaningfully but Linpack and P95 are NOT recommended stress apps anymore.

You can use real world apps with more realistic AVX usage instead eg. x264 encoding or try AIDA64 which is the current recommended stress app for modern CPUs.

bemylove

actually i dont trust aida64 even if it uses more functions of the cpu. my exp is happy happy stress testing overnight like asus recommended. all passed. then few days later while surfing hwz in chrome with other tens of twenties tabs, suddenly tio hang!

restart testing with more tweaks and linX avx for a few hours passed, daily use no problem liao.

MacClipper

then few days later while surfing hwz in chrome with other tens of twenties tabs, suddenly tio hang!
System freezes during low loads (ie. low stress) are not quite related to inadequate LinX AVX testing (high stress) and are more closely related to other causes like IMC/RAM instability.

Chrome does not use AVX afaik...

So you are probably barking up the wrong tree with LinX AVX, try P95 Blend (no need AVX) or HyperPi 32M instead.

Best to do intended targeted stress testing - minimise power costs, noise, heat and the wear and tear on your rig. You can do and pass 24/7 stress testing today and crash tomorrow anyway.

betadyne

System freezes during low loads (ie. low stress) are not quite related to inadequate LinX AVX testing (high stress) and are more closely related to other causes like IMC/RAM instability.

So you are probably barking up the wrong tree with LinX AVX, try P95 Blend (no need AVX) or HyperPi 32M instead.

I fully agree. I was testing out and just found out my comp is not really stable at even 4.6GHz under prime and OCCT when it runs IBT....Voltage don't help at all.

It turns out to be my RAM. I set to DDR3-2800 and its not working well (Dom plat crap...). Set back to 2666 and Prime runs.

betadyne

cinebench_zps0c35743f.jpg

prime95_zps72905e62.jpg

Slowly learning more about overclocking Haswell...... OK, manage to push up a bit. Now can run prime95

ghillie

switch to haswell 4670k, bt stock already at 1.19V. Tried to stabilize 4.2ghz at 1.23v 1 week no bsod, aida stress test pass..suddenly bsod in game sigh. end up also off overclock, cudnt tell difference in game. Really wonder, whats a safe voltage nt to exceed on air..1.25v?

FinalTidus

Haswell and IB overclocking has been severely limited because Intel uses cheap and lousy TIM instead of fluxless solder. Just by delidding and applying a high quality thermal paste you can improve temps by as much as 30+ C. Its so substantial its really not funny.

2nd, Haswell is designed from grounds up primarily for mobile CPU, not desktops. Intel knows that desktops are going to be extinct soon and mobile is the way forward. So their future products will not be desktops oriented anymore and expect it to be this way in the future. Also in future CPU will be soldered to motherboards, so enjoy this short period of bare CPU DIY and overclocking as much as you can while its still available, because all this will disappear probably in the next 5 years or so.

For me I am looking forward to more amazing mobile CPUs from Maxwell, Broadwell etc etc....

betadyne

Hopefully socket CPUs will not disappear from the market. Cause right now, nothing could still compete with PC in terms of gaming power.

bemylove

Best to do intended targeted stress testing - minimise power costs, noise, heat and the wear and tear on your rig. You can do and pass 24/7 stress testing today and crash tomorrow anyway.

well thats the thing. aida64 should have tested more functions of the cpu. well it passed totally, until a few days later chrome hang the pc. guess aida64 dont test enough of the cpu.

linX with just avx, seems to work better for me. but i dont do 24hrs stress test, i agree it is pointless and weak the cpu. at max 4hrs of linX with half of ram, if pass dont care liow. those ang mohs too free to recommend 24hrs 2-3days loading.

MacClipper

btw, do you know which CPU function/s that Chrome uses but which AIDA64 missed out?

Eg. Adobe Flash itself can be troublesome even on an otherwise stable rig.

All those tests that you are talking about... be it LinX AVX or AIDA64 etc... are about load testing but if your rig freezes during Chrome, you are talking more about either idle and/or IMC/RAM instability etc... but not CPU load instability.

Whichever load tests you may want to choose, no single test will be perfectly complete in itself or bring out idle stability which you would still need to check during your usual daily usage.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.