Chroming for plastics

CyanCyan

to be specific, LEGO parts
I am doing a project, personal own self happy type.
So looking at who can chrome the parts for me in Singapore.
I googled basically is no :(

I tried air-brushing. Alclad seems to be the best way, but my knowledge is SG is sold out.
I tried Mr Hobby's metalic series, but not the shiny chrome I want. (basically mirror chrome.)
And also after I tried, with my noob brushing skills, risks are high, hence not very keen to buy Alclad overseas to try out.

Anyone can or know any shops that does it for small scale? Maybe 30 small parts.

lookers

to be specific, LEGO parts
I am doing a project, personal own self happy type.
So looking at who can chrome the parts for me in Singapore.
I googled basically is no :(

I tried air-brushing. Alclad seems to be the best way, but my knowledge is SG is sold out.
I tried Mr Hobby's metalic series, but not the shiny chrome I want. (basically mirror chrome.)
And also after I tried, with my noob brushing skills, risks are high, hence not very keen to buy Alclad overseas to try out.

Anyone can or know any shops that does it for small scale? Maybe 30 small parts.

lol same problem here >.< got lobang jio me K?

Wanna chrome toys and sink materials like so common ... but wanna find them so hard

Hinata76

whoa...dope****...

we can make loads...selling chrome stormtroopers as and when we like!!!!!!!!!!!!

close313

There is MGM Hobby chrome powder which is a graphite powder that you rub on top of a gloss black finish. The result will be exactly like chrome. However since it is rubbed on, it can simply be removed by handling. So it should only be used on display pieces. Sealing it with gloss coat will destroy the finish too.
Got mine from M Workshop but probably some other hobby shops might have it too.

lookers

There is MGM Hobby chrome powder which is a graphite powder that you rub on top of a gloss black finish. The result will be exactly like chrome. However since it is rubbed on, it can simply be removed by handling. So it should only be used on display pieces. Sealing it with gloss coat will destroy the finish too.

hmm, u got any photos of your finished products to show us please? thanks

CyanCyan

I tot the graphite power was discontinued? :s11:
I read on the web somewhere.

100% agree the result is damn solid.
got some youtube videos on it.

CyanCyan

Ahh it was Ginsan that was no longer available.
But I saw ppl using pencil leads :s13:

thanks for the links, tonight see :)

lookers

Interesting~ but they can rub on a huge surface area... But for smaller surface area how sia =/

CyanCyan

Not minifigs :D
you wait and see my project :D
will post at Lug hehe.
I think still need a few more weeks. items slowly flying to europe now.

CyanCyan

how much is the charges for chroming in europe?

Depending on sizes of the things you want to chrome lor
and how complex the chroming is.
quite a big range.
Cheapest is 0.60 Eur, to about 5 Eur a piece

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.