Citibank auto waive yearly fee, no need to apply

Whimsica

Other banks have been enamoured of foreigners who are happily charging away and paying interests and annual fees, and decided that sinkies are not the customers they want.

Citibank urm chio at the ticking time bomb and prefers to stick to tried-and-tested sinkies.

Xeniel

They do that not because they are good to you or love you

think about it

if you are Citi, would you rather not earn $190+ and have a customer
OR
insist on earning 190+ , lose a customer then pay the same customer 300-400+ in signup gifts?
honestly i think they should rework their assumptions on how much each cust is worth

i nveer see other banks so aggressively getting customers and i don't see how citi card holders will spend more than other banks

maybe that's why they need to layoff so many people

EveMuffins

ocbc should learn from them. Citi give waiver and still thank me hor.

xiaosinsinful

honestly i think they should rework their assumptions on how much each cust is worth

i nveer see other banks so aggressively getting customers and i don't see how citi card holders will spend more than other banks

maybe that's why they need to layoff so many people
It’s just about market share

obviously customer will be getting whichever product give you the most benefits right?

companies should really rework their logic. rather then throwing $$ grabbing market share, which user can just take signup and leave. They should focus on long time, loyal customers

Xeniel

It’s just about market share

obviously customer will be getting whichever product give you the most benefits right?

companies should really rework their logic. rather then throwing $$ grabbing market share, which user can just take signup and leave. They should focus on long time, loyal customers
market share is a vanity metric if your custs are not outspending your acquisition cost
you spend more to acquire them doesn't mean they will suddenly spend more

yes, citi's current reward structure just incentivize ppl to sign up and leave, before repeating the cycle again

xiaosinsinful

market share is a vanity metric if your custs are not outspending your acquisition cost
you spend more to acquire them doesn't mean they will suddenly spend more

yes, citi's current reward structure just incentivize ppl to sign up and leave, before repeating the cycle again
Hence I mentioned they should reverse it. Give little to new customers but rewards for loyal customers to continue to stay

but I understand where they are coming from
new customers = new potential source of revenue
existing customers= they are already spending, why waste money to reward what they are already doing?

look at all the telcos, same pattern also. New customer enjoy lower rate, higher data etc. existing loyal customers get stuck with higher rate and NOTHING

the_dog

citibank has been like that for ages. i have not paid fees on my Citi cards for donkey years

another generous one is HSBC

local banks like DBS the most ngiao

TrollersRollers

Stanchart, HSBC, Citibank always waive without failure.

OCBC, UOB and DBS sometimes will not waive and want you to pay for the annual fee.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.