Clothes dryer

derrickgoh

Have read online about the pros and cons about condenser type dryer and air vented dryer. Problem is these website are usually in UK, US or other temperate climates.

Anyone here familiar with dryers? For HDB flat and considering our climate, what the pros and cons of both types?

wizzyslurpee

I did my research last time but unfortunately I have forgotten the details.

I think condenser is the significantly more expensive one right? Just go for the cheapest dryer or second cheapest dryer and it will do the job for you reasonably well enough for years.

No point wasting money on more expensive ones. Even the salesman said so when I "cornered" him. Of course, you may have your own preference or anti-preference for brands, so you can filter your choices with that.

Before you buy, you can also google the reviews of the models online. I think courts usually has the cheapest. But look out for the promos - most stores (courts or others) have promos on and off for certain models. So read the papers (for advertisements) and visit the stores during weekends or public holidays. The model you want may be offered at a discount.

derrickgoh

Hi wizzyslurpee. Condenser is almost double the price! My understanding is condenser has hot air blowing one way and cold air blowing the other way. This results in water that needs to be drained out hence condenser dryer must have outlet like washing machine will have a hose going into draining hole in your kitchen floor.

Apparently clothes dried in condenser are less crumpled than air vented. Don't know how true but that's what I was told. From what I understand air vented dryer the hot air is blown out the back of the dryer. Which means you need a lot of space and can't have the dryer too near the wall.

I was told Whirlpool washing machine the clothes not so crumpled so I don't know if same applies for dryer. But I know Samsung washer sucks. Everyday hear my mum KPKB and swear never to buy Korean again. :s13: Think previously she was using Bosch.

I did go down to Courts megastore at Tampines. Really a lot of models there!

derrickgoh

maybe you can consider the one from city gas. My friend just recommended it to me. Think now got promotion, $790 for 1.
Safe boh? Got open flame inside leh to heat up the gas. At least normal type is electric, no open flame.

wizzyslurpee

Yup, condenser is really very expensive! :eek:

That's why I still suggest you get the cheapest or second cheapest from a brand you trust. I don't think a condenser will last twice as long as a non-condenser so you might well get the cheapest and change it when repair gets too expensive.

Depending on the model, sometimes it is just an issue of the belt loosening; or you may just need new filters.

Wait for Xmas or New year. They might have special promos... also, check your card promos, see if you can work this purchase into them to get some nice rebates or freebies. :)

wizzyslurpee

From citygas website: Yes. Gas Clothes Dryer has a built-in sensor that can detect if there is a failure to ignite a flame and reacts by cutting off the gas supply immediately.

I'm also looking for a dryer coz my house will be ready in march haha

That's if your house has gas. Then you can even consider gas heater too.

But I was analyzing last time, and felt that gas heater is too dangerous. Then in the end I converted my stove to electric cooker, and cut off my gas supply totally. So I can't use gas dryer even if I want to now.

No more flatulence anymore :s13: J/K
I have been buying dryers based on my logic and it has worked for me. If your budget allows though, no harm going for more expensive models, including the condenser type. Good luck shopping! :s13:

derrickgoh

Call me paranoid but I have visions of anything gas related exploding. :s13: So no gas water heaters and probably no gas dryers too.

In fact if budget wasn't an issue I'd probably have gotten those induction hobs too so I don't have to use gas when I cook but oh well..........

wizzyslurpee

Call me paranoid but I have visions of anything gas related exploding. :s13: So no gas water heaters and probably no gas dryers too.

In fact if budget wasn't an issue I'd probably have gotten those induction hobs too so I don't have to use gas when I cook but oh well..........

Personally I think it is worth the investment - at least I don't need to smell gas anymore. I think inhaling too much gas is not very healthy. You don't absolutely need to change to electric stove - you can opt for induction cooker too. You can get the latter for under $100 each so they are relatively affordable. :)

You also do not need to do a total conversion - just get an induction cooker and see how you like it (you do not need to cut off gas supply right away). This cooker can only serve as a backup for steamboat during CNY (if you have steamboat at home). :D

derrickgoh

Personally I think it is worth the investment - at least I don't need to smell gas anymore. I think inhaling too much gas is not very healthy. You don't absolutely need to change to electric stove - you can opt for induction cooker too. You can get the latter for under $100 each so they are relatively affordable. :)

You also do not need to do a total conversion - just get an induction cooker and see how you like it (you do not need to cut off gas supply right away). This cooker can only serve as a backup for steamboat during CNY (if you have steamboat at home). :D
I will be moving into a new flat so everything will need to be bought. I don't cook much so a hob with 2 burners will suffice. If I go induction, the cheapest hob with 2 cooking zones I see at Courts is a Bosch costing $1499. In comparison a gas type with 2 burners from Bosch is only $479.

HUGE difference!! And keeping in mind that instead of buying normal pots and pans I will need induction type which costs more. So ultimately one does pay quite a bit more when going with induction cooking.

While the safety factor is definitely there, whether its practical from one's financial pov is another issue.

The only thing I'm unsure of, not sure if you have any clue, is whether gas cooking or induction cooking is more costly. Gas cooking obviously uses gas while induction cooking uses electricity.

With all things constant, will cooking with gas result in a larger Singapore Power bill or will cooking with electricity result in larger bill?

GenuineSeller

Hi wizzyslurpee. Condenser is almost double the price! My understanding is condenser has hot air blowing one way and cold air blowing the other way. This results in water that needs to be drained out hence condenser dryer must have outlet like washing machine will have a hose going into draining hole in your kitchen floor.

Apparently clothes dried in condenser are less crumpled than air vented. Don't know how true but that's what I was told. From what I understand air vented dryer the hot air is blown out the back of the dryer. Which means you need a lot of space and can't have the dryer too near the wall.

I was told Whirlpool washing machine the clothes not so crumpled so I don't know if same applies for dryer. But I know Samsung washer sucks. Everyday hear my mum KPKB and swear never to buy Korean again. :s13: Think previously she was using Bosch.

I did go down to Courts megastore at Tampines. Really a lot of models there!

Condenser type doesn't need a hose.... Water is retained in the reservoir. Just need to clear the water usually on the top left hand side of the dryer. I just bought one, waiting for delivery.

wizzyslurpee

I will be moving into a new flat so everything will need to be bought. I don't cook much so a hob with 2 burners will suffice. If I go induction, the cheapest hob with 2 cooking zones I see at Courts is a Bosch costing $1499. In comparison a gas type with 2 burners from Bosch is only $479.

HUGE difference!! And keeping in mind that instead of buying normal pots and pans I will need induction type which costs more. So ultimately one does pay quite a bit more when going with induction cooking.

While the safety factor is definitely there, whether its practical from one's financial pov is another issue.

The only thing I'm unsure of, not sure if you have any clue, is whether gas cooking or induction cooking is more costly. Gas cooking obviously uses gas while induction cooking uses electricity.

With all things constant, will cooking with gas result in a larger Singapore Power bill or will cooking with electricity result in larger bill?

Actually, I was suggesting induction cooker as in this:

0TjWGrx.png

I filtered by price and Courts is selling this cheapest one at $39. It's also conveniently portable so you can have steamboat with it too. While yours is a new house, there is no need to rush to set up the stove. You can always place this portable induction cooker (you can buy 2) on the stove top and try it out.

If you want to go for the induction stove version as in this:

pfXg3GG.jpg

, then definitely the cost will be higher. This is also sort of permanent and you can only use it for non-mobile cooking. So try it out with the mobile version before you take the plunge.

If you want to do the stove version, personally I prefer the electric version which I am using which you can get at around your bosch price at those expo exhibitions. Despite what wiki, etc. say, I like that I can use pretty much all cookware on the electric stove. You need cooking vessels made of ferromagnetic metal for the induction stove so it can be troublesome. But if you don't have any pots and pans to start with, then I guess this is not an issue.

Before I switched to electric from gas, I did try those portable induction ones. I don't like them at all. Cooking was very frustrating and we simply gave up.

All said, if you don't intend to cook much, I think just get the cheapest of whatever type... even the portable gas type using gas cans.

I don't see my power bill going up after switching to electric. Induction is supposedly less power consuming but my electric has this "smart" temperature regulating function that is energy saving so I guess the two sort of even out.

Besides the $$$, one important question is whether you cook a lot. If you just make instant noodles once a day, anything is ok. But if you are at the stove for a few hours a day, I think it is better to choose induction or electric for health reason. If you have young children, maybe induction will be safer. Despite the higher cost, I would suggest you think long-term and treat it like an investment for health.

wizzyslurpee

Condenser type doesn't need a hose.... Water is retained in the reservoir. Just need to clear the water usually on the top left hand side of the dryer. I just bought one, waiting for delivery.

You don't need to clear any water if you don't go condenser. :)

I just clear the filter once in a while. My clothes drying works like a charm. :D

New house... A LOT OF EXPENSES. I think derrick has to decide which part of the house is most important to him, and then invest more there... the rest, you can make do with the cheapest then upgrade over the years.

There is really no rush to make your house "perfect" right away. I know people who borrow money or take up loans to renovate their house to their dream house... I strongly discourage that. Work within your means. Decide what's important to you. There is a saying that is very wise - "Do not spend what you don't have to buy things you don't need to impress people who don't care."

derrickgoh

All things considered, will probably just go for the regular hob not the induction. Really don't cook a lot. Instant noodles and some pan fried or grilled meats at the most. Definitely not one of those wok-flipping chefs. LOL!

Don't even foresee myself needing a kettle. I mostly drink from the tap and when I need hot water, my Dolce Gusto machine dispenses pretty hot water.

As for the dryer, well unless there is some sort of discounted package, if not will probably get the air vented one. Just need to locate it near the kitchen window I guess so the hot air can escape.

GenuineSeller

All things considered, will probably just go for the regular hob not the induction. Really don't cook a lot. Instant noodles and some pan fried or grilled meats at the most. Definitely not one of those wok-flipping chefs. LOL!

Don't even foresee myself needing a kettle. I mostly drink from the tap and when I need hot water, my Dolce Gusto machine dispenses pretty hot water.

As for the dryer, well unless there is some sort of discounted package, if not will probably get the air vented one. Just need to locate it near the kitchen window I guess so the hot air can escape.

Induction cooker.... Advantage is, kitchen will not be as hot when cooking.

I was told that vented dryer is mainly for cotton. If you put in other materials, they will be damaged. Not sure how true.

derrickgoh

Induction cooker.... Advantage is, kitchen will not be as hot when cooking.

I was told that vented dryer is mainly for cotton. If you put in other materials, they will be damaged. Not sure how true.
Well definitely not silk, wool, cashmere or those "atas" stuff but even nylon also can't? That's kinda odd leh. Then those of use who wear "office shirts" how? Not all office shirts are 100% cotton leh.

If I'm not wrong certain models (prob the higher end ones) you can set different dryness setting. So if you set to "iron dry" it should be fine? Don't set to the driest lah. In fact I believe people recommend "iron dry" cost there is still a bit of moisture left making ironing easier. If too dry is not easy to iron apparently.

So I guess just use "iron dry" setting and hang it out to air dry. That would probably save electricity and avoid the clothes possibly being damaged by too much heat.

GenuineSeller

Well definitely not silk, wool, cashmere or those "atas" stuff but even nylon also can't? That's kinda odd leh. Then those of use who wear "office shirts" how? Not all office shirts are 100% cotton leh.

If I'm not wrong certain models (prob the higher end ones) you can set different dryness setting. So if you set to "iron dry" it should be fine? Don't set to the driest lah. In fact I believe people recommend "iron dry" cost there is still a bit of moisture left making ironing easier. If too dry is not easy to iron apparently.

So I guess just use "iron dry" setting and hang it out to air dry. That would probably save electricity and avoid the clothes possibly being damaged by too much heat.

I am just sharing what I gathered during my buying process. It's up to you.

wizzyslurpee

Yup, just go for the basic no-frills one then. If you have new requirements in future, you can always "upgrade" then. :)

Regarding the dryer, the air is not so strong one. Unless you are sitting right next to the dryer, within 30cm or so, you won't likely feel it. I tried both the back vent and front vent, both are cool!

wizzyslurpee

I don't pay that much attention to this. I even throw silk in - just don't spin it for too long if you are concerned. If your dryer has a low or high setting, you can also switch to the low one for silk, etc.

Clothes are not meant to be worn forever (except your favorite pajamas :s8:). I dump everything into my dryer and it's all alright. After a few years when your clothes become unacceptable, maybe it's time to set them aside hehe. :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.