CNA Commentary| Hong Kong high-rise fire shows how difficult it is to evacuate in an emergency

moonlighter_sg

you all never experience the smoke dont know one
if got big fire the smoke sting your eyes also
not to mention how can one go pass stairways if got big smoke, sure less than 5 minute into smoke already unconscious

That is why commercial office buildings have installed fire-rated doors at their stairwell. This is to allow sufficient time for residents to exit the building.

For HDB, if I go down the staircase, halfway already smoke until unconscious.

alex22

LOL. Singapore is still sticking to the traditional take stairs and get to somewhere else safe! The fire drills don't even change patterns.

HK incident shows us lessons. But are our buildings changing to adapt to the society? Are the drills changing also?

I don't see that happening in Singapore. If any, I don't think it will change even after 10G ministers take charge of Singapore.
Cpf cpf cpf

sporeknight76

This is why I rather stay low floor. I’m lucky my unit next to stairs, the other day me and neighbours reported the fire escape stair door lock spoil. Very hard to open door. Town council told contractor to fix .
I rather stay low floor and escape faster.
I also damn kiasu, I got one fire extinguisher, 3 small lighter fire extinguisher placed near every room and a fire blanket. lol
U shld get a fireman suit to make it full set, or full proof. Wan do, do standard. Don half half.
Having been commando trained, using a parachute to jump from my 38th-floor BTO wouldn’t be an issue.

Now, I just need to find a parachute.
🙂 U sure 38 flr can deploy yr chute?

volarth

Be it HDB, SCDF or other legislation.... Hopefully SG can learn lessons from HK's situation.

I personally don't have high hopes since that requires lives to be valued. Only when the high property values are the Govt's liability... As PAP will than do everything to protect it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.