CNA - Older adults in Singapore at risk of malnutrition as many do not meet recommended protein intake

Tloslm

Singapore outside food is add many ingredients to make it tasty yet less nutrition and expensive.

Really must be selective eating outside

randyap

Ahh..you are telling me your way of eating is not healthy and nutritious. And it's bad for my body.

Thanks for informing.
Yar, my unhealthy way of eating gave me a perfect blood test, blood pressure, blood glucose and bmi. Your healthy way of eating gave you 3x upper limit LDL, probably high blood pressure and mental illness. :s13:

KPO_SAHM

The clip is about PROTEIN

Appetite, illnesses, medication, social isolation are listed as causes

Muscle mass and "uh memories" are affected

Their solution is education and they slipped in "connecting them with relevant dietitians"
-------------------------------------------------------

So they want you to pay dietitians

Last time was physio

Yes old folks do not eat sufficient protein .. when my mil cooks, one hand size of salmon for family of 6!!! When I cook, I ensure everyone in the family has one palm size of fish!!!

jeff79

The new nea foodcourts sell low nutrition food as budget meal. A slice of luncheon meal diced with white rice is $3.20 how to be nutrition.

Oldnerd79

So they suddenly became stubborn 2 years ago? Wasn't stubbron before? Because this maltrution thing only started getting worse 2 years ago. Something changed over past 2 years.
Should be these 2 years more elderly get health screening to find out about their malnutrition. Last time also the same but no check no pblm.

TiedInsurer

Should be these 2 years more elderly get health screening to find out about their malnutrition. Last time also the same but no check no pblm.
Might be. Recently my mum got receive advisory from the gov to go for health checkup so she went.

CaptchaCheebeh

Our hawker food is dogshit high carb low protein trash, that's why our elderly are malnourished.

Just go across the causeway and eat at any random Msian stall and see the vast difference in food quality.

PAP doesn't care though since hawker food is only for peasants.

rogze79

Yar, my unhealthy way of eating gave me a perfect blood test, blood pressure, blood glucose and bmi. Your healthy way of eating gave you 3x upper limit LDL, probably high blood pressure and mental illness. :s13:
Really, One thing I cannot understand why ppl like @Mecisteus and you are always making baseless assumptions. When you know nuts about what you are talking about.

Perfect markers? What is it based on? Please enlighten everyone.

Curious70

Knn i tot malnutrition is a 3rd world problem? In s'pore more and more old ppl are suffering from malnutrition over the last 2 years.
Is it bcos nowadays food prices too expensive liao, elderly are cutting down on their meals to save money? :(

Wah, this one sad lor. Ya, hawker food also not cheap now. Some old folks stay alone, no one cook for them, so they just eat plain bread or biscuits. Really is jiak bui bui.

Encouragesome1

Knn i tot malnutrition is a 3rd world problem? In s'pore more and more old ppl are suffering from malnutrition over the last 2 years.
Is it bcos nowadays food prices too expensive liao, elderly are cutting down on their meals to save money? :(

One hand they cut down meals
One meal eat as two
Another thing is their activity lesser so need to eat lesser cos less appetite

Visor9999

Our hawker food is dogshit high carb low protein trash, that's why our elderly are malnourished.

Just go across the causeway and eat at any random Msian stall and see the vast difference in food quality.

PAP doesn't care though since hawker food is only for peasants.

This have to thank pap Govt for allowing so much rubbish food, lower income sinkies need to survive on fast food as it is cheaper than hawker meals these days for the serving

Encouragesome1

Wah, this one sad lor. Ya, hawker food also not cheap now. Some old folks stay alone, no one cook for them,
Agreed so they don’t have people to talk with when eating or they don’t place emphasis on eating nutrients so they anyhowly eat some random stuff eg chabeehoon or fried things that can eat from morning till evening won’t spoil easily.
so they just eat plain bread or biscuits. Really is jiak bui bui.
Olden day people live with their grand children or children/ daughter in law so someone will need too make food for whole family so elderly definitely have hot meals that they can and must eat cos family will nudge them to

Visor9999

So they suddenly became stubborn 2 years ago? Wasn't stubbron before? Because this maltrution thing only started getting worse 2 years ago. Something changed over past 2 years.

Cost of living, expensive hawker meals, poor food servings all contribute to this over the last 2 years.

miko66

In before "What do you want, 3 meals of healthy food every day?"

Ya, mother of all quotes

"How much do you want? Do you want three meals in a hawker centre, food court or restaurant?”

Everything's is overpriced in SG no !

That's y many old folks go JB buy supplements, medications , and lately hearsay buy ensured milk powder ..

randyap

Really, One thing I cannot understand why ppl like @Mecisteus and you are always making baseless assumptions. When you know nuts about what you are talking about.

Perfect markers? What is it based on? Please enlighten everyone.
You have short term memory. Based on national guidelines, by real scientists with proven solid data. Unlike you, based on YouTube and tik tok videos with zero evidences on long term health.

rogze79

You have short term memory. Based on national guidelines, by real scientists with proven solid data. Unlike you, based on YouTube and tik tok videos with zero evidences on long term health.

Oh. national guidelines. And not forgetting your epidemiology studies with strong evidence.

Which real scientists with proven solid data are you referring to?

Visor9999

Bryan Johnson have the best health guidelines since he is a billionaire and spend alot of money on health and research. But no one will follow his diet plan with 111 pill taken daily as it’s too extreme. That will give the best optimal human possible health tests and data. Cannot trust the guidelines completely these days.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.