CNA: The HR manager who faced cancer and autism diagnoses, got divorced and lost S$700k – all within 5 years....in a love scam...

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
  • Need help?
    Reach out to someone from Samaritans of Singapore (24 hours): Call 1-767 or WhatsApp 9151-1767 More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

lobstercrab

So high functioning...high income...keep looking for love kind of people got autism? Then half the population ought to be diagnosed with autism!!

jywy2005

Salute This guy for marrying the woman with emotional baggage and health issues. Hope this is a genuine story

runny yolk

Sibei power sia. HR manager but got $700K

That is why I always say life is damm easy for females in SG. A lot of them work in lobo jobs like HR manager or relationship manager, earn damm high celery. And when you talk to them, you know they know nothing, a bit brainless type
700k is easy to hit if marry young and hit bto toto. 40+ is a sweet spot for non degree holders too, when degree holders start to flood the market these few years, they are already quite experienced and already promoted to managerial positions with good pay. Its too easy for this age group regardless of gender. I have met dumb clueless male manager who are more interested in finding fault then finding solutions when met with problems, and he came from ite to diploma and able to be promoted to senior manager by early 40s. He is lucky he wasn't born 10 years later

pokipoki08

vitamin deficiencies, particularly in vitamin A, D, B6, B12, and B9 folate, may be linked to the development or severity of autism spectrum disorder (ASD), with vitamin A deficiency emerging as a leading contender

... during pregnancy and early childhood...

pokipoki08

Yes, my first job was SME. They made me resign myself. I was too young and inexperience to handle that situation. Later I found out from another colleague that each department was given instruction to remove one headcount. AMDK MNC will be more transparent and follow their process.

Such bad behavior of removing workers left me a scar forever. I still remember until today.
its amdk vs asia chao kuan
1 thing good abt amdk is their freedom and personal rights, this was applied well, except for starting wars

bochup84

You should have and very likely to be jobless now… hr headcount has been super lean, with a lot of it scope outsource. Of course those who got it will have pretty good paycheck as they will have to be the key person to handle everything that falls under HR.
Agree. Many HR functions can be automated. Last time still got people to do payroll, do hiring. Now to succeed in HR, must be leading the policymaking or key person resolving employee disputes with the company (while safeguarding company interest). All these need higher level skills and legal knowledge, no more just admin skills.

TopGun

Agree. Many HR functions can be automated. Last time still got people to do payroll, do hiring. Now to succeed in HR, must be leading the policymaking or key person resolving employee disputes with the company (while safeguarding company interest). All these need higher level skills and legal knowledge, no more just admin skills.

Payroll, hiring etc are still needed. Bigger companies have the economies of scale to invest in enterprise grade ERP and AI to support the business. Smaller companies on other hand, are better off with a cheaper software and pay for headcount to perform the tasks. The tasks will evolve, and the skill sets required will shift over time but having a human in the loop is still important.

Whimsica

Why the article mention covid?

What has covid got to do with the things in her life?

Nowadays the standard of journalism is really low.

bochup84

Autistic can be HR manager which requires human touch is a bigger scam.
There is no human touch in HR. They manage resources, not humans.

Bulk of HR job is payroll, hiring, or ensuring compliance to company policies or issuing warning letters, PIP. What they need is someone meticulous, strong in ensuring consistent in processes, and knowledgeable in legal aspects of employer obligations to give company advice when they need to get rid of employees. I can see how an autistic person who is highly logical, can be very good at this job. Because she will be very consistent in the application of logic in different contexts. And when it comes to hiring, HR just filter applications. Interview qns are done by hiring managers. HR just follow up with processes.

bochup84

Payroll, hiring etc are still needed. Bigger companies have the economies of scale to invest in enterprise grade ERP and AI to support the business. Smaller companies on other hand, are better off with a cheaper software and pay for headcount to perform the tasks. The tasks will evolve, and the skill sets required will shift over time but having a human in the loop is still important.
Yes you still need people but the point is, not as many as before. So still a sunset occupation.

iam7377

While the COVID-19 period was a difficult time for a lot of people, for Wendy Boey it was the start of what can only be described as a marathon of misery.

Towards the end of 2019, just before the pandemic, her 12-year marriage was falling apart.

Struggling with stress and anxiety, she attempted to commit suicide. She survived, only to be hit with a stage 1 breast cancer diagnosis in early 2020. She went to see a doctor when she felt a sharp pain one day.

As 2021 began, her marriage was over and her cancer treatment was in full swing.
Sometime in April, a few months after her divorce was finalised, she went on the dating app Tinder to seek out love again – only to become entangled in a love scam.

Over three months, she lost S$700,000 (US$541,000) to a man she thought she had fallen in love with. Despite police investigations, the man – and her money – disappeared into thin air.

How a HR Manager have SGD$700K...?

TopGun

Yes you still need people but the point is, not as many as before. So still a sunset occupation.

Hardly a sunset occupation, but evolving yes. Skill sets will shift and those who failed to adapt will face obsolescence. The traditionally administrative aspects have long since been outsourced to cheaper regions.

Areas like employee relations, union relations... these require people with certain traits to be effective.

ahnyaahnya

If you have been living 40 yrs without any major problems, even capable enough to be a manager, so what if you're diagnosed to have autism? Obviously your case is a mild case and nothing to be sad about? I fully believe I can be diagnosed to have autism too if I go and test for it :o
I think I have ADHD

SecretAgent

Alamak!

So long never heard from her .....

Hope she'll have better days!

TopGun

This is an useful site. Feel free to check it out. Obviously you won't be earning this figure 20 years ago. But if you spread it out... Saving an average of $25k per year over 20 years land you with $500k. You will save less early your career but more in the later part.

https://stats.mom.gov.sg/bt/Pages/salary-comparison-general-for-employer.aspx

How a HR Manager have SGD$700K...?

Think pap need to investigate how hr mgr (not director) can accumulate 700k

XCalintz

So when her life is smooth & happy again, her autism will be gone?

Got such thing?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.