• Total voters

bolts

Those cheap cheap abalone u see are usually farm-grown from China

Exclusive10

For me ... i haven't tried those 200 300 per can kind of abalone before.
i dont know if they are really 4 or 5 times better than those selling at 50.

And more than often , those selling in restaurant is braised one.
if buying for steamboat, i dont know if it is worth it to buy those 200 300 type.
i mean if u can afford, of course that would be great and can just purchase.

recruit

Nowadays when they farm abalone they may use chemicals or growth hormones to speed up the reproduction of it. I know for scallops they have been doing it.

skytan13

For me ... i haven't tried those 200 300 per can kind of abalone before.
i dont know if they are really 4 or 5 times better than those selling at 50.

And more than often , those selling in restaurant is braised one.
if buying for steamboat, i dont know if it is worth it to buy those 200 300 type.
i mean if u can afford, of course that would be great and can just purchase.
For everything more expensive you dun measure by the price premium vs in a linear way.

YES you wont feel 5 times more shiok.

Market Demand, Branding, Rarity all plays a part.

If you are not into eating abalone and stuff, dun bother too much.
All the texture and this that might be different.

One can open liao next year ask you what you eat also dun remember.
Unless you want to buy all do a side by side. Some like AT bite size Abalone. some like NZ soft , Aussie. or even the chewy Mexico.. have to see ownself la.

我是Crone

abalone market controlled by those companies la.. who dares to disrupt market

o0KelviN0o

Usually my family will have Australia, NZ & South Africa ones for steamboat

No $$$ for the Mexico ones

only_lonely

Whats good about abalone?
Braised fr dried one is depends on the gravy.
Canned one like rubber.
I rather spend the money get fresh seafood and good wine.

only_lonely

1 cent marnee, 1 cent goods. Calmex abalone is not rubbery.
I tried leh. Every yr cousin bought alot expensive one. Not rubber yeah but i dump into yu sheng. Soso nia. I wont spend the money to get. Rather buy good sashimi fr jap restaurant.

GarnetDragon

Seldom jiak abalone, usually jiak only during CNY steamboat reunion dinner.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.