Collecting Gold and Silver coins

lousylah

3% flash sale....tonight opex night....usually will have a couple of waves of price falling off a cliff.
first wave happened like about an hour ago.
The popularity recent yrs amongst retail horde in US for zero DTE exacerbates this effect.

bakuten

The popularity recent yrs amongst retail horde in US for zero DTE exacerbates this effect.
too many not so smart kids overleveraging their positions only to get liquidated by folks who knows what cards they are holding.

lousylah

i managed to order 1 morgan and 1 peace before they locked out.
dunno need to wait how long to ship
You lucky bro. US Mint just updated its pricing > outright price gorging! (or are they signaling/pre-empting true price of metal?)

Apparently RCM also halted sale on its website.

bakuten

You lucky bro. US Mint just updated its pricing > outright price gorging! (or are they signaling/pre-empting true price of metal?)

ok confirmed never tio cancelled......received notification that my order has been shipped.

bakuten

Gold just broke SGD6k 😂
I always wanted eagle and krugerrand but always hesitated when I had the chance.

So glad I bought my gold eagle when they were still under $3k(after GST)...now I can only look at the Krugerrands in sadness. 😭

MAS should make these 2 coins GST free as well....they serve the exact same purpose as 999 bullion coins besides the purity not being 999.

fire

I always wanted eagle and krugerrand but always hesitated when I had the chance.

So glad I bought my gold eagle when they were still under $3k(after GST)...now I can only look at the Krugerrands in sadness. 😭

MAS should make these 2 coins GST free as well....they serve the exact same purpose as 999 bullion coins besides the purity not being 999.

Not sure about coins, have no interest in paying premium for gold coins. I only buy bullion bars 😂

Mephist0pheLes

Not sure about coins, have no interest in paying premium for gold coins. I only buy bullion bars 😂
i always tot i will be mainly stacking bars.

but when i finally made the purchase, the collector itch couldnt be suppressed. the coins are jus more chio

anyway, dunno i sld be happy or sad now.

happy bcos i made my first purchase a month ago, and saved >$1k compared to the price today, but sad at the same time bcos it will be more exp now to collect more.

NintendoSwitch

I was also going to buy the silver eagle (tube) and a gold krugerand (but apparently it is not popular in Asia) but the prices shot up faster than I could save up money to buy them.

lousylah

I witnessed this afternoon, PRC lady stacking sgd7k worth of fractional silvers (old asian legal tenders).

thing is she doesnt even know what she getting! she simply left it to the shop to min-max her stacking. After the purchase the shop keeper then wrote down for her the categories and collection of coins she bought.

fire

i always tot i will be mainly stacking bars.

but when i finally made the purchase, the collector itch couldnt be suppressed. the coins are jus more chio

anyway, dunno i sld be happy or sad now.

happy bcos i made my first purchase a month ago, and saved >$1k compared to the price today, but sad at the same time bcos it will be more exp now to collect more.

I know the allure of the chioness 🤣 I stacked silver coins initially and some small gold bars in previous years for collection. Only few months ago invested lump sum in gold bullion bars, wanted to add more but now too high and troublesome to queue 😂

bakuten

I witnessed this afternoon, PRC lady stacking sgd7k worth of fractional silvers (old asian legal tenders).

thing is she doesnt even know what she getting! she simply left it to the shop to min-max her stacking. After the purchase the shop keeper then wrote down for her the categories and collection of coins she bought.
Those Yuan Shikai silver dollars?
I'm a morgan/peace/japan dragon yen fan

lousylah

Those Yuan Shikai silver dollars?
I'm a morgan/peace/japan dragon yen fan
Wah you really expert!

yea the 大头/dua tao, “king george” (probably straits settlement) and other stuff too. The lady ended up with kilos of the stuff. Shopkeeper so happy!

Lady legit hadnt a clue what she stacking, just simply wanted to max her budget in junk silver (as the ang mohs call it).

bakuten

Lai liao

peace-and-morgan.jpg

bakuten

Wah you really expert!

yea the 大头/dua tao, “king george” (probably straits settlement) and other stuff too. The lady ended up with kilos of the stuff. Shopkeeper so happy!

Lady legit hadnt a clue what she stacking, just simply wanted to max her budget in junk silver (as the ang mohs call it).
silver dollars have a special place in my heart.
i go around finding reasonably priced silver dollar(or very near same purity/dimension) type of coins used for trade in east asia before ww2

lousylah

Is there a good way to buy gold/ silver without the spread? Using etf?
Lol. No free lunch bro, everyone’s got bills to pay.

even fx, stocks and crypto has bid/ask spread on top of transaction fees.

dont chase the dragon (or rabbit) if you have no intention to hold nor conviction on prices.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.