Commemorative SG50 notes

iCuteCube

Let me clarify most of the standard questions many people have.

1) Do bank have folders?
Ans: Yes, everyday majority of them have folders, but while stock last, normally over within the first hour for most branches.

2) Like that i must die die queue early if not no folder lah?
Ans: Singaporeans have the whole september to change, meaning 1 full month just for Singaporean. There is still ample opportunity to exchange IMHO.

3) What is the limit of changing?
Ans: Per Pink IC as of now, 5 set of notes and 2 folders (If got stock). 1 set meaning 1 x $50 notes and 5 x $10 notes.

4) What is the mode of exchanging?
Ans: You can use either cash or deduct from bank account as per normal withdrawal, bring your ATM/Debit card.

5) No bank account can exchange bo?
Ans: Yes, just bring cash and exchange. Remember your pink IC, there are many banks that can change, UOB,DBS,OCBC, Standard Chart, Maybank, etc.

CPTMiller

Let me clarify most of the standard questions many people have.

1) Do bank have folders?
Ans: Yes, everyday majority of them have folders, but while stock last, normally over within the first hour for most branches.

2) Like that i must die die queue early if not no folder lah?
Ans: Singaporeans have the whole september to change, meaning 1 full month just for Singaporean. There is still ample opportunity to exchange IMHO.

3) What is the limit of changing?
Ans: Per Pink IC as of now, 5 set of notes and 2 folders (If got stock). 1 set meaning 1 x $50 notes and 5 x $10 notes.

4) What is the mode of exchanging?
Ans: You can use either cash or deduct from bank account as per normal withdrawal, bring your ATM/Debit card.

5) No bank account can exchange bo?
Ans: Yes, just bring cash and exchange. Remember your pink IC, there are many banks that can change, UOB,DBS,OCBC, Standard Chart, Maybank, etc.

thanks for the detail explanation.

makav31i

So the SG50 Commemorative Note thread on both this sub-forum and EDMW is talking about what?I am even more surprise that you can create a thread about this when people were discussing about it on all the SG50 Note threads since the news announcement...This picture sums it all up...

missed+train.jpg

archcherub

It is 20 million pieces of $50 note which is the total value of $1 billion and 15 million pieces of $10 or the total value of $150 million...Not $20 million worth of $50 or 400k pieces and $15 million worth of $10 or 1.5 million pieces...So the total number of sets that can be formed is 15 million sets with 5 million pieces of extra $50 note...

Given that most people will have the money kept at home and not use it in the economy, the government has just earned an additional of $1.15 billion dollar worth of additional revenue.

Just great to spend on some goodies for GE2015... i mean, national building process.

makav31i

Given that most people will have the money kept at home and not use it in the economy, the government has just earned an additional of $1.15 billion dollar worth of additional revenue.

Just great to spend on some goodies for GE2015... i mean, national building process.

How did the Government earn the $1.15 billion? Government exchange the $1.15 billion with the banks at dollar for dollar and the banks exchange it with the customer dollar for dollar...It is like you saying during CNY and new money is being issued and governement earns $xxx amount of money for the new issues...It is dollar for dollar exchange and not an expansion of money supply...

Do you even know what MAS did with the old worn out notes and the process of destroying old and circulated notes when a new note was being issued...Or do you even know of the process in which bank had to deposit a certain amount of cash with MAS after the bank received a certain amount of cash from the depositor...

I thought this kind of absurd thinking would only come out in EDMW...

foxer77

get the sg nusmis from noel would be much appreciate later as the mintage will be lesser. unless u got hold of the good number of the currrent sg 50 notes then that will spell a differ ....

foxer77

set currently issue from bank are getting lesser today uob my side isuing only for 50 customers which is 100 folder. last week.there still 200 folder each day.

highsulphur

get the sg nusmis from noel would be much appreciate later as the mintage will be lesser. unless u got hold of the good number of the currrent sg 50 notes then that will spell a differ ....

What are you getting?

makav31i

low mintage does not equal to price appreciation in the future... If not all of Singapore Mint's products would skyrocket in the aftersale market...We don't see that being the case right?

Buying the Noel gift to bank in on the 50,000 mintage for the $50 note which is $85 or 70% premium to appreciate is a much higher risk as compared to exchanging $50 for $50 which can be used at shop...The second is of no additional cost to the customer and the money can still be used at its face value...

Shion

Senior Mentor
set currently issue from bank are getting lesser today uob my side isuing only for 50 customers which is 100 folder. last week.there still 200 folder each day.

bishan uob here dunno for how long dun have folder liao...:s11:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.