Comparison between NUS EE & NTU EEE

yoshi_sx

Hello guys, I would like to humbly seek advice regarding these 2 above courses.

What are the pros and cons of each?

Since both NTU and NUS would admit polytechnic students directly into the second year, there shouldn't be such a big difference right?

Thank you in advance for your help!

Inn0vator

Hello guys, I would like to humbly seek advice regarding these 2 above courses.

What are the pros and cons of each?

Since both NTU and NUS would admit polytechnic students directly into the second year, there shouldn't be such a big difference right?

Thank you in advance for your help!

hey bro! hows ur ntu application going?

andre101

Nus offers up to 1years of modules exemption, you might end up study 3years for honours, whereas ntu offers direct honours and direct entry to year 2. U check ntu year one for eee, you will see a module which is chemistry, then u realise year 2 modules is more relevant

ntu helps poly more in the sense, they offer foundation maths or physics.

In the end of the day, you must ask yourself if you want to work where also. Because nus is more recognise in those private mmc. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Currently serving ns, got in ntu eee :)

agenda

Brand name vs number of years taken to graduate

Internationally, people know NUS but there are certain places where NTU and SMU are unknown.

NTU allows you to graduate earlier, you can save about 7k but having a better brand name can help you command more salary and repay that 7k extra easily

Inn0vator

Nus offers up to 1years of modules exemption, you might end up study 3years for honours, whereas ntu offers direct honours and direct entry to year 2. U check ntu year one for eee, you will see a module which is chemistry, then u realise year 2 modules is more relevant

In the end of the day, you must ask yourself if you want to work where also. Because nus is more recognise in those private mmc. Correct me if I'm wrong.

yeap. i agree with u that ntu is 'poly-friendly'.

andre101

Internationally, people know NUS but there are certain places where NTU and SMU are unknown.

NTU allows you to graduate earlier, you can save about 7k but having a better brand name can help you command more salary and repay that 7k extra easily

I think your salary would still depend on your honours. And I still think the university is subjective. But if your boss is from nus? U think he like nus or ntu

yoshi_sx

yeap. i agree with u that ntu is 'poly-friendly'.

I think your salary would still depend on your honours. And I still think the university is subjective. But if your boss is from nus? U think he like nus or ntu

Thank you guys for all of your inputs, I really appreciate it!

Keep em coming!

Buaya_Hunter

1. NUS EE is also direct honour (In fact, only nus fass, sci and biz course still has the non honour and honours track)

2. Yes, the modules exemption depends on what is ur former poly course? Some get less, some get more

3. NUS also has foundation maths and sci (bio, chem, physics) modules. However, unlike like NTU, it is open competition as there is no sepearate foundation mod for the different degree. Meaning that u are taking the same foundation mod together with computing, science and other engineering course ppl in additional to the ocassional arts and biz students (Which is really bad for reasons u will only understand when u go in)

4. School Brand name does not really matter much. But ur grades really matters a lot. And if u are gunning for elite job position,grade + personal portfolio (meaning watever cca records, internship, enrichment program, etc)

vodka

I quite confuse leh. but slight biased towards NUS. u? The NTU-GT ki siao one. we apply using 3.9+ also cant go. zzz

haha...me too...feel like going to NUS...i think the NTU-GT only select those 4 pointer lah...sienzzz....

necrodome

Good to see this thread. After reading the posts, I have several questions to ask:

1) What is direct honour? Does it mean you must study a year for honour yet you are not guaranteed to get honour?

2) For NUS EE matters, 31 MCs are exempted to the poly students, which is approximately 1 year's worth of academic workload. However, some of the core modules are not exempted, whereas for NTU the whole year one modules are exempted(including cm), that is why NUS is somehow more stressful as you have to clear these remaining core modules.

3) I have heard a lot of times that studying engineering it is better to study in NTU. How come? Doesn't NUS have the better ranking?:s11: Or NTU really has something which is better?

4) I agree that NUS is more recognised at overseas. However, in Singapore itself, are NUS and NTU degrees equally-recognised? (I have actually read a report which stated that NTU engineering graduates have better employment rate and starting salaries)

MrCoolStoryBro

Good to see this thread. After reading the posts, I have several questions to ask:

1) What is direct honour? Does it mean you must study a year for honour yet you are not guaranteed to get honour?

2) For NUS EE matters, 31 MCs are exempted to the poly students, which is approximately 1 year's worth of academic workload. However, some of the core modules are not exempted, whereas for NTU the whole year one modules are exempted(including cm), that is why NUS is somehow more stressful as you have to clear these remaining core modules.

3) I have heard a lot of times that studying engineering it is better to study in NTU. How come? Doesn't NUS have the better ranking?:s11: Or NTU really has something which is better?

4) I agree that NUS is more recognised at overseas. However, in Singapore itself, are NUS and NTU degrees equally-recognised? (I have actually read a report which stated that NTU engineering graduates have better employment rate and starting salaries)

1) direct honour = auto enrol in honour course. u will get a classification based on ur gpa when u grad. yes u are not guranteed to get honours if ur gpa is below 3

3) to me ntu and nus is the same.

4)i believe employment in singapore is base on ur result and interview skill. u may need to meet the right person at right time

Inn0vator

Maybe I can help to answer this question.

Yes. As long as your GPA hits their requirements you'll be awarded honour.

Yup. I feel that NTU is more generous towards giving exemptions for poly grads.

Having a good ranking does not equate to being a better school. You should choose a university that suits your learning style. (Right now I am trying find out which one is best for me too.)

Well, I will say each university got its own strength. NUS is probably better in research, hence better ranking and better for further studies eg. getting a PhD. While on the other hand, NTU's strength is more towards hands on. Hence, employer tend to prefer those who 'can do'.

necrodome

Maybe I can help to answer this question.

1) direct honour = auto enrol in honour course. u will get a classification based on ur gpa when u grad. yes u are not guranteed to get honours if ur gpa is below 3

3) to me ntu and nus is the same.

4)i believe employment in singapore is base on ur result and interview skill. u may need to meet the right person at right time

Thanks for the answers :yawn:

I am having a hard time to find out which to choose:(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.