Computer freezes on random occasions

Felynx

Hopefully someone has encountered this before and is able to pinpoint the cause of the problem:

I had this issue at least twice in the past month whereby the computer just freezes and had to be force-rebooted because it doesn't respond to anything. Symptoms are as follows:

- Cursor able to move around a few seconds before PC freezes, but during these few seconds, nothing responds to clicks.
- Once computer freezes, it doesn't respond to any input. Num Lock toggles, mouse movement, Ctrl-Alt-Del, etc.
- Time on the tray clock doesn't update.
- LED for HDD activity doesn't blink at all.
- Display still works, just that nothing changes on screen.
- Holding down the power button doesn't force-shutdown the machine. Pressing the reboot button works though.

Based on the last point, I could only guess that the mobo is dying. Any idea what else it could be?

HairySpice

Whats your hardware specs?
Maybe parts are old and worn, like psu or ram etc.
Maybe windows itself is the problem? Try to format or do a clean installation.

sonic00

Hopefully someone has encountered this before and is able to pinpoint the cause of the problem:

I had this issue at least twice in the past month whereby the computer just freezes and had to be force-rebooted because it doesn't respond to anything. Symptoms are as follows:

- Cursor able to move around a few seconds before PC freezes, but during these few seconds, nothing responds to clicks.
- Once computer freezes, it doesn't respond to any input. Num Lock toggles, mouse movement, Ctrl-Alt-Del, etc.
- Time on the tray clock doesn't update.
- LED for HDD activity doesn't blink at all.
- Display still works, just that nothing changes on screen.
- Holding down the power button doesn't force-shutdown the machine. Pressing the reboot button works though.

Based on the last point, I could only guess that the mobo is dying. Any idea what else it could be?

I am not sure but have you tried starting in safe mode to see whether the same issue happens?
If not perhaps check the programs that are getting initialized?
Also, have you check the network traffic?.
How many HDDs do you have in you computer? If more than one, have you tried to unplug the rest leaving the boot up HDD to start up to see whether it might have a problem?
Did any windows update happened prior to this? Maybe restore windows to an earlier time stamp?

Just my thoughts and opinions, do correct me if I am wrong?

Felynx

Thanks for both of your replies. I just another crash whereby before it did, the cursor changed colour and was a thin pipe, while the computer was freezing every few seconds. Googling about that gave me some results that point to issues involving the latest Nvidia drivers (am using a GTX 460). I've now updated to the beta drivers, and will see if it works out for me.

liewhl

I have similar issue as you recently too but I manage to fix it

my pc just hang randomly, mouse, keyboard and everything is not responding but still got light. it just freeze/bsod there or sometime it will work again after 1 min saying that graphic driver had recover.

and also sometime nothing will happen to it and it will work fine for the whole night.

so I run memory test, harddisk test and cpu test.

I discover that my cpu temperature is running at a very abnormal 50 - 55 degree when it is idling and around 60-65 when I use it to run some simple application like watching youtube. I go online and check that my cpu only can tahan maximum 70 degree.

so I went ahead to change my cpu fan and apply new thermal paste to it. once they are replace my problem is fix. my cpu is running around 35-40 at idle and 50 plus when running apps/program.

I guess my cpu is overheating.

HairySpice

No hardware specs hard to determine.
Since u said is gtx460 am taking as your system is coming 5 years old. Am not sure if u have thermal throttling enable. Just monitor your cpu and vga temps.
Also could be signs of hdd, ram or psu failing.

If your temps are high, check the fans if they are still spinning at above 2000rpm.
Also, is it dusty? If so, remove the dust and clean the hsf.

liewhl

the thing is thread starter are you a hardware savvy guy. you have experience with part? if not better check out some youtube video before you clean the heat sink or anything.

Phen8210

Hi I had the same problem after I updated my nvidia drivers. Now I revert back to 314.22

Felynx

Thanks for the replies guys. Currently still on beta drivers now, no freezes as of now. But if it crashes one more time, I'll downgrade the drivers to 314.22 as well.

u have the same problem too? i am using gtx 460 too should i down my drivers?

If it ain't broken, don't fix it. :D

Felynx

Hi I had the same problem after I updated my nvidia drivers. Now I revert back to 314.22

I upgrade from 314.22 liao my Dota 2 FPS increase from 40+ to 60+ sia. Really hoping that the beta drivers works out for me.

Phen8210

lol mine was quite obvious actually.. i installed cod ghost.. nothing happened but the textures look abit weird and not right.. so i updated my drivers and that's when all the stupid crashes coming..

i mean i'm not the kind of person that keep doin changes to his PC so i'm quite sensitive about stuff happening and as well as the bros helping me to confirm the culprit.. it was indeed the latest drivers from nvidia.

Since this isn't the first time this sort of things happen, i also want to say that in the past using Windows XP with my old gt8600 with newer drivers. Whenever there was flash content playing my PC had a chance to crash and i believe it wasn't fixed at all since 1-2 years ago. Had to revert back to old drivers.

So i believe that they do not focus their drivers on older GPUs..
i'm using a gtx560 and it's pretty old too.. just like 460.

i also believe newer drivers tend to be problematic for older cards..

Not everyone likes to upgrade their GPU.. so we just have to play smart..

havetobuy

1st rule of the thumb
clean yr gfx card fan throughly(with a vacumn
next
sprayed with wd40 leaved it for 30 mins
than plug back
if no problemo
u saved som ca$h
if still hav
time to change gfx card lioa
2nd rule:
ram seldom die on u
unless if liked me i ordered more than 13 plates of prawn @ 1 go
sured reboot 1s
guranteed

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.