Computer repair shop damage your item

sgdevilzz

recently I send my laptop to a local neighborhood repair shop for screen replacement. After a week when I collect, everything working fine. When I got home, I I noticed there was a screw missing near the screen opening. I later found out there are several cracks near the hinge of the screen and body!

I have not approach the shop yet as I do not know what are my leverages. They claim to give me one month warranty but I'm not sure if they will go back on their words.

If I do not manage to get compensation, which authorities can I go to and what are my chances? CASE? Small claims?

Please help!

localITguy

recently I send my laptop to a local neighborhood repair shop for screen replacement. After a week when I collect, everything working fine. When I got home, I I noticed there was a screw missing near the screen opening. I later found out there are several cracks near the hinge of the screen and body!

I have not approach the shop yet as I do not know what are my leverages. They claim to give me one month warranty but I'm not sure if they will go back on their words.

If I do not manage to get compensation, which authorities can I go to and what are my chances? CASE? Small claims?

Please help!

no one can help you.

GG,

so much for SG Laws:s13::s13:

kandinsky

😢 Don't like that leh.. I open close laptop screen really scary sia. Might break any time. I'm sure got people kena similar case before. Not even lemon law applies meh?

Lemon law - you read the thing, I don't see how it applies to repair and workmanship of repair.

The challenge here is you already left the shop. They can say you damaged it yourself after leaving and trying to pin it on them. You have no way to prove it happened under their care.

Would have had the most leverage if you pointed it out on the spot. Now, you can only hope they are honest.

Was there a T&C you had to sign? I noticed when I sent a mobile phone for repair, they actually clearly state that while they will do their most to be careful, they are not responsible for additional damage done during the repair and that is the risk customers must accept.

jtjt00

At the time of collection, you should inspect closely before payment. Now, kinda too late liao.

Audiology93

Please help!
Should've went to the repair Centre for ur laptop instead of 3rd party. Do u still have the invoice of the repair? Can try asking the shop to see wad they can do since u said that there's 1 month "warranty".

Sent from Sony F8332 using GAGT

ykgoh

The missing screw maybe they can try to find a compatible size one and screw in to tighten it.

The cracks, what do you expect them to do? Replace the body chassis, put gap filler or paint it over? Wait long long. The chassis replacement maybe costs more than the repair fee you paid them.

Myu~sun

I would say most have the t n c stated not liable for any damage . But in reality hinge area and stuff sure easy crack de. And also sometimes before sending in the internal also abit cracking up le so when they dismantle the area confirm will get worst de . Just that it's up to the technician got inform you anot . And if that area is cracking up missing one screw can put more stress to the housing which in turn cause it further crack . I would say try bring back see how . I would say the best they can have few option . Either help you do some epoxy or housing replacement . But of cos it will be payable

ZrE0_Cha0s

ur case is beri hard to settle. u can try asking nicely to them to see what can they do, else just LLST and deal with it.

unless u want to complain GAO GAO to ur Minitser in your area, complain to CASE, complain it on COURTS to settle your dispute make sure u post it to the media like social media, newspaper. :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.