Congrats ! Singapore is the most expensive city for 3rd year in a row!

RyanJ

This tells me SGreans must be rich. How is it possible to live in the most expensive city in the world and not be rich?

Is like saying the most expensive restaurant is frequented by the not so rich? Doesn't make sense right?

Yes bro, I like ur logic.

Unlike most countries that tweak interest rates in response to inflation, Singapore MAS strengthens SGD when there is inflation.

https://www.mas.gov.sg/monetary-pol...lation/how-does-mas-carry-out-monetary-policy

exchange-rate-affects-inflation_v3.jpg

So when everything seems too expensive in Singapore, our dollar keeps getting stronger against other currencies, we can go japan to stretch the Singapore dollar.

Sg future is burning bright, thank you G!

articland05

Yes bro, I like ur logic.

Unlike most countries that tweak interest rates in response to inflation, Singapore MAS strengthens SGD when there is inflation.

https://www.mas.gov.sg/monetary-pol...lation/how-does-mas-carry-out-monetary-policy

exchange-rate-affects-inflation_v3.jpg

So when everything seems too expensive in Singapore, our dollar keeps getting stronger against other currencies, we can go japan to stretch the Singapore dollar.

Sg future is burning bright, thank you G!
except that cost reduction part pass to consumer not correct...cos once merchant inflate prices it will nv go down. only fatten their wallet nia

hardwriter

No leh. Every week I take bus 170 across to JB. Eat, shop, massage, watch movies, cut hair, etc. damn shiok.
Every time I return to sinkieland and spend $, feel I being scam. 🤣🤣
Dollar to dollar comparison.

You try earning ringgit salary and then say again?

Be appreciative to PAP is all I can say.

NintendoSwitch

singapore-remains-most-expensive-city-for-3-year-in-a-row-uaVmUknaRM.jpg

csm_city_ranking_2x3_effe75bd5a.webp

Singapore
Position last year: 1
Greatest price rise (YoY, USD): Business class flights +14.5%
Greatest price drop (YoY, USD): Healthcare -35.8%
Costliest Index items: Cars and women's handbags
Cheapest Index item: Treadmill

Sauce :
https://www.juliusbaer.com/en/insig...ving-well-global-wealth-and-lifestyle-report/

Looking forward to more price increases and also CDC vouchers year on year :)
Beri affordable for all the millionaires cum billionaires wat. No issue. Move along.
iu

TickTechToe

Too many super rich come in and bring up the properties and COE prices.. and of course median income....

Visor9999

No wonder malnutrition rates going up in sg, next time Govt may as well make it mandatory for all sinkies to be a millionaire to survive here

kleong

IB logic applies. COL in sinkieland is low and those who say high is ownself behkan. Use skillsfuture credits to upskill and reskill so can earn more. Anything else got bigger than bull cart wheel cdc vouchers to tank

RyanJ

Too many super rich come in and bring up the properties and COE prices.. and of course median income....

Beri affordable for all the millionaires cum billionaires wat. No issue. Move along.

Maybe part of the grand plan is use their income tax to contribute to our CDC and assistance vouchers.

Need to attract more whales to take up sg residency.

batuchka

/me imagines pro G post
1000% worth it! where else in world we could bask in the glory of infinite wisdom of the PAP? we have the PAP as both the sole generator and protector of truths - isn't it grand? w/o them u n i would be out at sea because SG would be a fishing village ok!

Wyattbird

Let's be clear. This is what the G will say in reply.

"COL is high mainly for expatriates, as they do not have subsidised housing, and their own personal choice of living (i.e., posh cars, luxury items, atas restaurants etc).

Singaporeans get subsidised public housing, rebates, tax relief, CPF contributions, CDC vouchers, SG60 vouchers etc. All these will help with your COL. Also, there are always cheaper alternatives (e.g., hawker instead of restaurant, public transport instead of buying a car, public schools instead of international school, public health care instead of private etc.)

So they will say it boils down to choice.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.