Consecutive cold boot problem(unable to power) with diff seasonic psu?

Nickzz

Have this problem where my pc is unable to boot recently. Sometimes it can, sometimes it cant. Have to flip the power switch and try new power socket in order to boot. But once it boot it works fine

Have had this problem since rma-ing 4 times with seasonic x1050w which resurfaced each time after approx 1-2 yrs of operation and each time it happen it would get worse. Replaced it for a plat 1000w and the issue is back within same timeframe.

Have changed platforms from 1150 platform to Ryzen yet still same problem so its puzzling.

On the 1150 platform there was once the 3.3v rail went out of spec but i cant find how to monitor the 3.3v rail on the x370 carbon bios.

royfrosty

More like faulty house 3pin socket.

Might wanna try it in your living room with a spare 3pin plug and see if there is any issues?

Nickzz

More like faulty house 3pin socket.

Might wanna try it in your living room with a spare 3pin plug and see if there is any issues?

Nope. Monitor can power on fine, external fan on same extension cord which i swapped with my psu can power on also. So might not be socket?

Neptunes43

Hi there,

My guess is that either the cables (PSU to mobo OR mobo to case power switch) or the mobo itself is having issues. How about you try jump starting the PC with a screwdriver shaft instead of the power button?

You can safely eliminate the wall plug variable by plugging in something else, say like your phone charger, to test your electric connections.

royfrosty

Nope. Monitor can power on fine, external fan on same extension cord which i swapped with my psu can power on also. So might not be socket?

Hmm but is so suspicious that you can change so many times and it still has the same issue? Can't be new PSU each time shows the same problem, even they upgraded it to the Platinum series and yet face the same issue?

royfrosty

Apart from that the video shows like the relay trying to turn off the PSU. Might wanna check your motherboard or gpu?

Also check if you can turn on manually on the motherboard.

trenzterra

I have had this problem with three Seasonic G650 PSUs as well. After one or two years it will have problem booting up, or resuming from standby. 2 units happened to my own PC, other unit happened a computer i DIYed for my sister. All plugged into a Belkin surge protector.

Bought a SuperFlower PSU and everything has been fine since, for almost two years now.

Nickzz

Apart from that the video shows like the relay trying to turn off the PSU. Might wanna check your motherboard or gpu?

Also check if you can turn on manually on the motherboard.

Nope. This is an old vid of my x1050w ah. It is the same prob now but it doesnt even turn on at all. Its silent and totally dead. Moved it to the living room also no luck.

Nickzz

Hmm but is so suspicious that you can change so many times and it still has the same issue? Can't be new PSU each time shows the same problem, even they upgraded it to the Platinum series and yet face the same issue?

Dunno leh. I also no clue. But my bro seasonic also never even change psu once. Maybe just bad batch bah. Since i got the replacement plat around the time it was widespread

royfrosty

Nope. This is an old vid of my x1050w ah. It is the same prob now but it doesnt even turn on at all. Its silent and totally dead. Moved it to the living room also no luck.

Do another RMA first, most probably this time round they will give you the prime gold or the focus edition.

See if the problem persist.

What puzzle me is that you have RMA 4x and yet the problem persist over and over again with the same issue.

Got so suay or not same thing happens. Some more we are talking that within that span of 4x of RMA each time there is a newer revision of that particular model and yet still have the same issue?

royfrosty

If by any chance it fails again on a new model, then I think most likely your old components inside got issue, or you just jinx to use Seasonic haha.

Nickzz

Do another RMA first, most probably this time round they will give you the prime gold or the focus edition.

See if the problem persist.

What puzzle me is that you have RMA 4x and yet the problem persist over and over again with the same issue.

Got so suay or not same thing happens. Some more we are talking that within that span of 4x of RMA each time there is a newer revision of that particular model and yet still have the same issue?

Perhaps it happened at wrong timing bah. Around the time i got there were many reports, i think at that time i research ang moh forum also have. Perhaps i might have got an old batch with unresolved revision?

The only old components i have inside that exist from the 4770k days and the first RMA are the ssd, hdd dvd rw. They working fine so far reh.

hlots123

i rem seasonic x, the older KM models (look at model name on psu) seem more susceptible to this problem
then when newer KM3 model came out (which i bot), didn't hear of this - mine 650w & 750w both still ok *touch wood*

not sure platinum, but on web i see got XP, XP2, XP3 models...

Nickzz

i rem seasonic x, the older KM models (look at model name on psu) seem more susceptible to this problem
then when newer KM3 model came out (which i bot), didn't hear of this - mine both ok

not sure platinum, but on web i see got XP, XP2, XP3 models...

Mine is the 1000w plat if it helps to narrow down. Used to have x1050w gold before changing to the current model. I last rma to the plat about last year or the year before if i not wrong.

royfrosty

Mine is the 1000w plat if it helps to narrow down. Used to have x1050w gold before changing to the current model. I last rma to the plat about last year or the year before if i not wrong.

P1000. That could be revision XP-2. There is a newer model that released which was the P1050 XP-3.

But I believe now if you return to Corbell they should be exchanging it to the new Focus or Prime.

Hopefully this time it won't happen again.

Nickzz

P1000. That could be revision XP-2. There is a newer model that released which was the P1050 XP-3.

But I believe now if you return to Corbell they should be exchanging it to the new Focus or Prime.

Hopefully this time it won't happen again.

Hmm whats the difference between plat and prime or focus? Is there a difference in wattage/ rating?

royfrosty

Hmm whats the difference between plat and prime or focus? Is there a difference in wattage/ rating?

It's their newer line up. Your this current model no longer in market.

So if there is a need to replace it they will replace it of the same value.

This is their new line up and it is by far their best PSU that they have liao. If it still fail with the same issue then I have no idea. Lol

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.