Considering changing course in sem 2

XxInNOutxX

Hi im a freshie from mech engine and I'm considering changing courses. I dont like physics and maths i just took back physics quiz. I failed even after 1 week of revision and i really think that physics is just not for me (Got an E for A levels physics). Any things that I need to take note of?

XxInNOutxX

i also failed... u r not alone.

*hugs* idk what im doing in uni. study, get degree, then what? Im not even enjoying this process because i just hate physics. I got an E for a levels cos i didnt study, I admit. I got a freaking fail cos i studied for a week? Crushing blow man...

smallJB

LOL,i have the same feeling as u. want join cca also not time, everyday chiong on revision, yet still cmi...

XxInNOutxX

LOL,i have the same feeling as u. want join cca also not time, everyday chiong on revision, yet still cmi...

Precisely. I dont get it. Ppl who join cca and have hall activities can still excel or at least pass (most of them). I strictly study till 10pm then have 1-2hr of entertainment before sleep still fail. Maybe my study methods wrong... but still. Hais.

marilyn_william

Precisely. I dont get it. Ppl who join cca and have hall activities can still excel or at least pass (most of them). I strictly study till 10pm then have 1-2hr of entertainment before sleep still fail. Maybe my study methods wrong... but still. Hais.

hi fail is common in uni, but is whether the norm also fail? also, it depends on ur quiz weightage..

hmm if you wanna change course, that means u waste 1 sem..

XxInNOutxX

so early jiu sleep... siao on people usually burn mid night oil to study.

Haha I dont believe in burning midnight oil. Need my sleep so i can feel refreshed when i wake up. I also believe u dont need to be siao on to even pass. :(

hi fail is common in uni, but is whether the norm also fail? also, it depends on ur quiz weightage..

hmm if you wanna change course, that means u waste 1 sem..

The quiz average is 34. The fact that I fail (+ studied for a week) Means im ****ing phail ttm alrdy. Im still feeling the effects man.... :/ quiz is 10%... its only gonna get harder with the next quiz. Im at a loss to what to do atm. No motivation. No drive. Starting to qn myself what the **** im doing in uni.

I may be wasting one sem. But if i continue failing isnt it a waste of 4 years? To think i even aspired a 2nd class upper... Haiz.

smallJB

Haha I dont believe in burning midnight oil. Need my sleep so i can feel refreshed when i wake up. I also believe u dont need to be siao on to even pass. :(

The quiz average is 34. The fact that I fail (+ studied for a week) Means im ****ing phail ttm alrdy. Im still feeling the effects man.... :/ quiz is 10%... its only gonna get harder with the next quiz. Im at a loss to what to do atm. No motivation. No drive. Starting to qn myself what the **** im doing in uni.

I may be wasting one sem. But if i continue failing isnt it a waste of 4 years? To think i even aspired a 2nd class upper... Haiz.

just study hard lo, other courses also the same, difficult.

XxInNOutxX

sulpice

i failed 4 out of 5 courses in 1st sem. gpa was 0.54.

second sem gpa up till 2.09.

now third sem. u think u bad? lol. i officially started from the bottom. (0.54 and work to the top.)

u want to quit up to u.

-Wanderer-

An internal transfer to another course is not easy unless you have a GPA > 4.00.

Dumb rule if you ask me because if you have a low GPA, it shows that you are either struggling in your particular course, or you have no interest in it, or you are just not working hard/smart enough.

But then again, if they allowed any Tom, Dick, Harry to transfer so easily, then you will see plenty of frivolous transfers and new classmates throughout the academic year. :s22:

XxInNOutxX

An internal transfer to another course is not easy unless you have a GPA > 4.00.

Dumb rule if you ask me because if you have a low GPA, it shows that you are either struggling in your particular course, or you have no interest in it, or you are just not working hard/smart enough.

But then again, if they allowed any Tom, Dick, Harry to transfer so easily, then you will see plenty of frivolous transfers and new classmates throughout the academic year. :s22:

^ That is seriously quite a high ask considering i have absolutely no interest in physics! Haiz just hope my econs and astro can carry me :(

duameatball

i failed 4 out of 5 courses in 1st sem. gpa was 0.54.

second sem gpa up till 2.09.

now third sem. u think u bad? lol. i officially started from the bottom. (0.54 and work to the top.)

u want to quit up to u.

imba sia your gpa. applaude you for not quitting.

I never fail anything la, just got a bunch of Ds. :( I consider myself super lucky cause my CAs always A or B one. Means my exam papers all damn cui one, must be fail one. In mech engine its not uncommon to hear people failing actually. Do your best la. If really feel like changing just change lor. Your life your choice.

My physics and maths a levels got B, in the end come here all Cs and Ds. :(

watchlor

Quiz fail actually nvm 1. But good bye to A unless u can do super well for finals. I fail quite a few quiz b4 but no fail overall get c or d...

ME/4 here. 2nd 3rd 4th year more maths and physics related stuff. If really don't like, change early. But it will not be easy to change. What are your possible choices? Eee pap? Depends on ur A lvl or poly grades too.

easy to downgrade, hard to upgrade.

XxInNOutxX

imba sia your gpa. applaude you for not quitting.

I never fail anything la, just got a bunch of Ds. :( I consider myself super lucky cause my CAs always A or B one. Means my exam papers all damn cui one, must be fail one. In mech engine its not uncommon to hear people failing actually. Do your best la. If really feel like changing just change lor. Your life your choice.

My physics and maths a levels got B, in the end come here all Cs and Ds. :(

@_@ ur grades are already not bad compared to mine. C for Math and E for physics in JC LOL. I seriously want a change in course that's not related to physics. See how it goes i will try. If all else fail then no choice suck thumb tahan next 3 and a half years lo. :s22:

Quiz fail actually nvm 1. But good bye to A unless u can do super well for finals. I fail quite a few quiz b4 but no fail overall get c or d...

ME/4 here. 2nd 3rd 4th year more maths and physics related stuff. If really don't like, change early. But it will not be easy to change. What are your possible choices? Eee pap? Depends on ur A lvl or poly grades too.

easy to downgrade, hard to upgrade.

Im looking into Humanities courses now because I enjoy writing 2000 word essays compared to resolving 1000000 forces on a free body diagram. My A level grades, admittedly, not ideal for humanities courses (even for sociology and English) but Im still gonna try.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.