[Consolidated] [SAGA] Sylvia Chan + NOC

o blong

Those who say that what she said is normal, please lah, it's not normal.

That kind of attitude should not be condoned or normalised. Her attitude is toxic and abusive.

She also crossed the line by trying to morally police a female employee's so-called slutty behaviour. That is too personal already. She's not her mum and she has no right to do that.

I've been in many high pressure jobs, and it's not true that in high pressure jobs, abuse is ok. She is just a poor leader with poor leadership skills. She doesn't know how to lead or manage. She uses low EQ anyhow hantam style.

It is not OK.

U are right. It is toxic and abusive.

But most st1nki are surrounded by low eq ppl or got used to abusive/umbrage culture

That's why they like to justify and say "it is normal" "this is the real world" etc..

tokong

Samantha quite pretty
In my previous company, it is normal for management to manage out under performing employees, as what Sylvia is trying to do if she thinks Sam is not performing.
The difference is in the way they do it.

My previous boss, also a lady, does it in a tactful way, e.g she will say “xxx is not suitable for our line, she’s still not well versed in yyy even though we have provided support” and these are reflected in formal appraisals. She also tries to help them by referring to other departments, and have a frank talk with them on options. No need to degrade the employee “f*** face, and every single sentence also littered with f*** and in group chats with other management/employees? Also Jus cus the employee might not be suitable for x role, they might do well in y role, whether inside or outside the company. The bosses people look up to and respect are those who can uplift people.

Also I personally feel it’s alright to use expletives at work, but directed at the situation and not the person.

lastly have some respect for yourself la. If you made mistakes and get scolded, sure it’s fine (I’ve also been scolded at work before when I was younger).
But once your boss starts hurling insults at you, and minor things you do, she can say “u f**** stupid, why use this font that font”, just find a new job, not stay in the toxic company and keep justifying that you deserve this.

Media or film production is different, because it is not a nine to five job.

You say who or who is underperforming but how do you justify? He/She at night is still sticking around with the crew or waiting for his/her turn in the neverending filming - that is also time spent in work. Weekends still need to work or continue filming or head over office to brainstorm or read scripts and think of ideas.

NOC is already an established media company. I am not convinced that they cannot customize a role for their staff. No employee is truly useless in a company. If you behkan then say behkan, that means you cannot even create a new idea to project the strength of your employee.

Even if the employee is the worst you have seen since your birth, you still have to solve things amicably and formally. Your other employees are watching.

Using vulgarities only increases hostility and bad blood, it will never improve any relationship at work. In addition, it destroys any positive morale in the company.

dxdx999

Yes, her name is something similar to Charles & Keith (hint). It's her, 100%, I saw the first post without an edit, unless she was being sabotaged.

just say the name la.

allergedly was Charlene lor. from the initial screenshots that they replaced.

m@maboi

Yes, her name is something similar to Charles & Keith (hint). It's her, 100%, I saw the first post without an edit, unless she was being sabotaged.
ok, i know who liao. she is pretty...

dxdx999

wow the news has been picked up liao.

xi guay ong so smart to zao already and do own f&b

Toonsy92

Woah. Woah. Most surprising is Isabelle the current most featured NOC girl is also resigning.

Actually Samantha is very nice lady. I don't know why NOC in first place selected her through the contest and signed her if Sylvia don't have good impression of her at all. :s22:

peaceheart

Got investigation lor, check email, check the internal company chats. Anyways this kind of thing is New York HR decide one, they don’t look too kindly on these

Oh in formal written communication? That I agree with you then. Cos if verbally with colleagues in casual setting I doubt will have any repercussions.....

batman_888

so last time Nina left then came back years later. Got reason right??;)

NeverTooLate

Samantha quite pretty

Media or film production is different, because it is not a nine to five job.

You say who or who is underperforming but how do you justify? He/She at night is still sticking around with the crew or waiting for his/her turn in the neverending filming - that is also time spent in work. Weekends still need to work or continue filming or head over office to brainstorm or read scripts and think of ideas.

NOC is already an established media company. I am not convinced that they cannot customize a role for their staff. No employee is truly useless in a company. If you behkan then say behkan, that means you cannot even create a new idea to project the strength of your employee.

Even if the employee is the worst you have seen since your birth, you still have to solve things amicably and formally. Your other employees are watching.

Using vulgarities only increases hostility and bad blood, it will never improve any relationship at work. In addition, it destroys any positive morale in the company.
It's just SME my friend. Lol, Talent Retention; pardon the Talent pun here lmao, is non-existent. And most don't even have a proper HR professional to properly define the scope/R&Rs of each employee. So resulting in no real measurements for the performance of the Employees, the Towkays can simply tell you they don't like you so your performance is not good and there's no one daring to oppose the Towkays because well, they're the Towkays/Paymaster so they 'Own' you and they're always definitely right. Lol.

It all about how much can the Towkays can milk. It's like they discovered an avenue to make money, they will keep milking it over and over again with no real future planning in sight which is why it will remain SME or just dies out awhile once the milk dried up.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.