• Widening income gap

Votes: 263 30.7%
  • Unemployment/Lack of opportunities for citizens

Votes: 393 45.9%

• Total voters

jeffprobst

PAP Jurong Central SMC rally: Taking a chicken wing from you but giving you a whole chicken: Grace Fu on decisions like GST hike

76e240.jpg

No major decisions – including those concerning the goods and services tax (GST) – are easy to make, but the PAP is prepared to make these hard decisions, said Minister for Sustainability and the Environment Grace Fu.

Ms Fu, who is contesting Jurong East-Bukit Batok GRC, explained that there are always trade-offs involved in policymaking.

For instance, the GST hike could be painful for Singaporeans with little or no income, but that is why the government has established a permanent support system, such as the GST vouchers, MediSave top-ups and U-Save rebates, she said.

“We may be taking a chicken wing from you but we are giving you a whole chicken,” said Ms Fu, adding that GST is mainly designed to tax tourists and foreigners who purchase big-ticket items like cars and watches.

The GST was raised from 7 to 9 per cent over two years, in 2023 and 2024. The hike has been the focal point of criticism by many opposition parties in the campaign leading up to the May 3 polls.

ST PHOTO: ARIFFIN JAMAR
Another disgraceful comments.

yperic

WP rally: Tell the PAP what you want by voting for the WP, said Pritam Singh

cb68f0.jpg

WP chief Pritam Singh focused a big part of his speech at his party’s Punggol GRC rally on his criticisms of the government’s decision to raise the GST.

He repeated his accusations made in Parliament during the Budget debate that the government had turbocharged inflation and should have postponed the increases.

He argued that the surpluses accumulated by the government made it clear that it could afford to have delayed increases to the GST.

“Singaporeans should never be shy to ponder and ask, how much is enough for the reserves under what circumstances should or can we use it to look after our people," he said after noting that it was prudent to save for the future. “We must continue to question in good faith whether we are overburdening the current generations, even as we look to secure Singapore for future generations.”

He said voters should support the WP to send a message to the PAP.

“The PAP cares deeply about its percentage of votes and the number of seats it wins. Vote share and seats are how PAP politicians judge each other. These are the PAP’s KPIs. You, as the voter, can tell the PAP what you want by voting for the Workers’ Party,” he said.

“When the PAP loses votes and seats to the Workers’ Party, it has to take corrective action. It will think twice or even three times, before further raising the GST or implementing other policies that people object to, or at the very least, the PAP will consider the timing of their policies much more carefully.”

Like Mr Harpreet Singh, Mr Pritam Singh also took aim at PAP’s decision to move DPM Gan Kim Yong to Punggol GRC, arguing that voters should not be afraid to vote out the DPM.

Noting that DPM Gan was not elected to the PAP’s central executive committee last year, he said: “This is very strange for a deputy prime minister. Could it be that he was ready to retire to run in these elections? If so, can he be so critical to the PM’s plans? You mean the PM has no one else in his Cabinet that can negotiate with the United States on tariffs?”

ST PHOTO: LIM YAOHUI

yperic

PAP Jurong Central SMC rally: David Hoe passionate about championing youth, seniors, and young families

24ef30.jpg

Although he has been part of the PAP’s Jurong East-Bukit Batok GRC team for just over a month, political newcomer David Hoe said Clementi already feels like home to him.

In particular, he wants to fight for more opportunities for the youth in the constituency so that they are able to discover their own interests and define their own success.

Other priorities, he said, are to champion efforts that ensure seniors are well taken care of and that young families are supported.

“All these can only be done if you give us a strong mandate,” he said. “Because your vote tells us one thing – we are with you and for you, to build a stronger Jurong East-Bukit Batok community.”

Dr Tan Wu Meng, a retired MP who previously represented the Clementi ward in Jurong GRC, rounded off tonight’s rally at Jurong East stadium with his endorsement of Mr Hoe.

“Support David so he can speak up for you the way I had, because I couldn't have spoken up for Clementi without your support,” he said.

yperic

Team Tampines GRC and Tampines Changkat SMC — comprising Faisal Manap, Jimmy Tan, Dr Ong Lue Ping, Eileen Chong, Michael Thng, and Kenneth Foo — met the media today. They were joined by Secretary-General Pritam Singh and Chair Sylvia Lim, who addressed media queries. Chair Sylvia Lim reiterated the Workers’ Party’s position on the Insurance (Amendment) Bill and explained the reasons behind the Party’s decision to abstain from the vote.

Read more about our stance in the infographics published on 16 October 2024 here: / 15pvybjsov

#GE2025 #WPSG #workingforsingapore

yperic

A green plan for West Coast-Jurong West GRC

ST20250428_202512800270 Hester Tan/  audes29 /  Exclusive interview with Desmond Lee , anchor minister for West Coast Jurong West GRC at MND Building Office on April 28, 2025

Sustainability issues have not been discussed during the hustings, as voters have many other bread-and-butter concerns, said Minister for National Development Desmond Lee on April 28.

But climate change is an existential problem for Singapore, and sustainability issues deserve to be kept in the public consciousness, said Mr Lee, who is the anchor minister for the PAP team contesting West Coast-Jurong West GRC.

That is why sustainability is one key pillar of the PAP's plan for the group representation constituency, if they are elected.

In an interview with ST, Mr Lee fleshed out what some of these programmes could look like.

They include efforts to involve residents in nature appreciation or tree-planting, or grassroots sustainability initiatives such as e-waste recycling schemes or detergent refill stations.

READ MORE HERE

ST PHOTO: HESTER TAN

Medicated Oil

Just curious.
There are a lot of mention about WP newbies here.
I dun see any mention about the white side newbies here.
Did all of them fail to impress ?

westtraveller

ST20250428_202512800270 Hester Tan/  audes29 /  Exclusive interview with Desmond Lee , anchor minister for West Coast Jurong West GRC at MND Building Office on April 28, 2025

Sustainability issues have not been discussed during the hustings, as voters have many other bread-and-butter concerns, said Minister for National Development Desmond Lee on April 28.

But climate change is an existential problem for Singapore, and sustainability issues deserve to be kept in the public consciousness, said Mr Lee, who is the anchor minister for the PAP team contesting West Coast-Jurong West GRC.

That is why sustainability is one key pillar of the PAP's plan for the group representation constituency, if they are elected.

In an interview with ST, Mr Lee fleshed out what some of these programmes could look like.

They include efforts to involve residents in nature appreciation or tree-planting, or grassroots sustainability initiatives such as e-waste recycling schemes or detergent refill stations.

READ MORE HERE

Sorry to say this but this kind of kacang putih initiatives don’t move the needle on real sustainability progress. It’s for show only

yperic

Campaign on wheels: Baey Yam Keng and team cycle to canvass for PAP team

PAP’s Tampines GRC candidate Baey Yam Keng is making sure to stay active while campaigning this election, cycling to neighbourhoods to canvass for his team.

jeffrey745

so that they can suan siao PAP on the last day of rally..

it is better if dont ask LTK to talk.. show that WP new generation can stand on their own ..

Actually i'm abit disappointed with PSP... Was hoping that TCB will let the new slate of candidates stand on their own....

yukirin92

PAP Jurong Central SMC rally: Taking a chicken wing from you but giving you a whole chicken: Grace Fu on decisions like GST hike

76e240.jpg

No major decisions – including those concerning the goods and services tax (GST) – are easy to make, but the PAP is prepared to make these hard decisions, said Minister for Sustainability and the Environment Grace Fu.

Ms Fu, who is contesting Jurong East-Bukit Batok GRC, explained that there are always trade-offs involved in policymaking.

For instance, the GST hike could be painful for Singaporeans with little or no income, but that is why the government has established a permanent support system, such as the GST vouchers, MediSave top-ups and U-Save rebates, she said.

“We may be taking a chicken wing from you but we are giving you a whole chicken,” said Ms Fu, adding that GST is mainly designed to tax tourists and foreigners who purchase big-ticket items like cars and watches.

The GST was raised from 7 to 9 per cent over two years, in 2023 and 2024. The hike has been the focal point of criticism by many opposition parties in the campaign leading up to the May 3 polls.

I guess it was a very tough decision to give coffee shop owners money to clean their own toilet.

Can make another tough decision and give sinkies money to clean their home toilet also :o

yukirin92

READ MORE HERE

I guess he wants to create more natural habitats for himself and his lizard friends :o

yukirin92

Tomorrow who going to UOB plaza to see Dr Chee?

Should be more worthwhile than today and hopefully less people also :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.