• Widening income gap

Votes: 263 30.7%
  • Unemployment/Lack of opportunities for citizens

Votes: 393 45.9%

• Total voters

Philipkee

Do you have some recent examples of these countries?
I see it as a people issue, not a full transparency issue.
It could be that many of us are not ready to see the full and glorious light.
Actually I was thinking of USA. Where the press is free to produce everything

https://www.nytimes.com/2020/05/31/us/george-floyd-investigation.html

I did wonder if the news shouldn’t have been so graphic as it led to riots in USA. Of cos one can say cannot hide such info. But maybe being transparent will also incite more anger

https://www.nbcnews.com/news/amp/ncna386141

And of cos news reports might inspire copycats

spinning_quirK

Actually I was thinking of USA. Where the press is free to produce everything

https://www.nytimes.com/2020/05/31/us/george-floyd-investigation.html

I did wonder if the news shouldn’t have been so graphic as it led to riots in USA. Of cos one can say cannot hide such info. But maybe being transparent will also incite more anger

https://www.nbcnews.com/news/amp/ncna386141

And of cos news reports might inspire copycats
But this does point to it being a problem with the people.
In this world today we still have the Nordic and Baltic states, we have Switzerland. Apart from rising woke levels, their people don't riot in the face of raw data. Heck, the raw data, the metrics, speak well of the kind of people they have.

Also, there's always an issue with private news outlets selling their souls to make money, and that includes propaganda, bias, graphic images that nobody should be seeing except police investigators and coroners.
By data, I really just mean a structure or system of full figures with maximum category breakdown and with oversight by 3rd-parties (data agency, auditors, a group made up of equal-ratio representatives from political parties with seats in Parliament, GovTech for the tech support, etc) that are overall preferably slightly to fully-against government interference in data. That means the role of government is ideally only to provide the man-hours that collates the data in raw format with no ifs and buts, but of course even in best-case reality it's not that simplified.

I kinda like that our Auditor-General's office still takes its oversight role quite seriously. Maybe it can be the public auditor vs the independent private auditors, for the pool of auditors in this envisioned system.

Eureka75

Opposition rallies attract opposition supporters from all over the island, and some swing voters , thus making it seem like ground is sweet for Opposition Parties
Opposition and swing supporters are interested in what Harpreet who have very satki CV can contribute to politics lah, but those rallies from RP, PV, NSP, SPP and SDA audience come for entertainment and want to know more about them as newspaper dont report much about them

Toonsy92

ahnyaahnya

Except SGD in your CPF - which the government promises roughly 2.5% and if it can't be met then they extend your retirement age. Then they increase the BRS. The FRS. The ERS. They cut off CPF shielding.

That's the guarantee I am fighting because that doesnt sound like a guarantee.
From your list of suggestions, it's not so much fighting against the status quo. It's about pushing CPF account holders to invest in BC, and demanding govt to guarantee that everyone makes a profit, and all the time too. When you know full well that BC price does fluctuate too.
You sound more self serving than serving the people

Ethan_

In this episode of R U OKAY!?, MP Tin Pei Ling sheds light on her journey being in politics - how do you gain everyone's trust at 27 years old? How did Tin win all the hearts in Macpherson GRC? What can you do when daily negative comments are thrown at you?

But it’s not all policy talk. Tin Pei Ling also opens up about the personal cost of public service - including a heartbreaking moment when her young son didn’t recognise her as “mummy” after long stretches apart.

Think can understand somewhat the part about working private sector as an MP. The work can help the MP stay connected to the ground and society. Have some knowledge and experience from certain professional perspective. Help stay connected to the working class. Understand and feel what they face when all are about same level.

But abit cannot understand those that take so many directorships. How does that help. :s22:

NTB2DO

PAP copied so many SDP and WP ideas already. :s13:

Some of the original ideas from PAP are more fake talent, smaller HDB and higher GST and land cost. TS must be thinking these are doing the right things.
This is very true. For eg I believe not many are aware that the PG package was first proposed by WP's CSM. Kena shot down by PAP only for PAP to introduce it later. And nationalizing public transport which was first proposed by GGiam, Progressive wage model was first proposed by LTK, etc.

HushiePuppies

fwah east coast chio bu spotted: Hazlina Abdul Halim

Untitled-design-2023-03-17T151258.114-aspect-ratio-2-1.jpg.optimal.jpg

Image Source (Not AI): https://www.curtin.edu.au/friends/f...list-gives-voice-to-countrys-most-vulnerable/

she can be dotter of East Coast no problem!

peterlim95

What if I move house close to polling date period and change IC address ?

will my polling district change to my new address ? Or I need to go back to my old house district to vote ?

come_5

What if I move house close to polling date period and change IC address ?

will my polling district change to my new address ? Or I need to go back to my old house district to vote ?
I think will be based on the address when they updated/ confirmed the number of voters few weeks or months ago?

blackie83

Even they win need go start a grc. A town council wp had no resources to setup before and the previous services cannot continue to support. 100% they can find faulty say oppo town council eat money one.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.