• Widening income gap

Votes: 263 30.7%
  • Unemployment/Lack of opportunities for citizens

Votes: 393 45.9%

• Total voters

BohemianSG

Whether WP got mention or no mention it is really up to them lor.

Anyway on this issue it will still be hard for any party to score points no matter PAP or oppo, cos the Palestinian issue is complicated anyway. Of course, Calvin Cheng should stop talking until election is over since he pissed off the Malay community with his "send the activists to Palestine" comments.

U are digressing. U gave me an unprompted reply on the palestine issue and in your own words quoting you - "I believe the Palestinian issue is of importance especially to the Malay community and also of the wider population too for those who are concerned with the human rights of the Palestinians."

I just would like to know is that your personal view or a an important issue you think WP should have in this election? Because it was you who gave an umprompted response to me.

jeffrey745

i just responding to the guy who listed the issues ah. So i am asking is Palestine a WP issue for this election since the candidate brought it up? Is it cannot ask question?

A straight answer will do.
If u watched Alia's interview with CNA u will understand the reason why they brought it up in parliament.

No matter how insignificant it is, everyone has a voice and should be heard in parliament.

https://www.facebook.com/share/r/1FUBkpJzhL/

Kiwi8

U are digressing. U gave me an unprompted reply on the palestine issue and in your own words quoting you - "I believe the Palestinian issue is of importance especially to the Malay community and also of the wider population too for those who are concerned with the human rights of the Palestinians."

I just would like to know is that your personal view or a an important issue you think WP should have in this election? Because it was you who gave an umprompted response to me.
I dun have to give u a reply on this. I already have outlined my opinion on the Palestinian issue and will leave it at that.

Kiwi8

Thank you And the PAP is against it?
PAP's policy is similar to WP's except that PAP have yet to recognise the current State of Palestine, I suppose.

Probably not a big issue since the current State of Palestine is not widely recognised anyway, but recognising it now ahead of the negotiated solution will stress Singapore's stance for respecting the plight of the Palestinians lor. But then again will piss off the Israelis and USA President Trump.

Toonsy92

Election fever truly begins!

Lorry with loudspeaker finally arrived in my area.

s3nt1n3l

Thank you And the PAP is against recognising palestine? or both WP and PAP is ok with recognising Palestine.

In response to media queries on the issue of recognition of the Palestinian state, the MFA Spokesperson said:

“Singapore has consistently supported the right of the Palestinian people to a homeland based on a negotiated two state solution.

As Minister for Foreign Affairs told Parliament in July 2024, we will recognise the Palestinian state at an appropriate time.

This position is also in line with relevant United Nations Security Council resolutions, which seek to enable Palestinians and Israelis to live side by side in peace and security.”

https://www.mfa.gov.sg/Newsroom/Press-Statements-Transcripts-and-Photos/2025/04/MFA-Spokesperson-Comments-on-the-Issue-of-Recognition-of-Palestinian-State-April-2025#:~:text=“Singapore has consistently supported the,state at an appropriate time.

So the incumbent is adopting wait-and-see approach, while WP wants gov to be decisive

BohemianSG

I dun have to give u a reply on this. I already have outlined my opinion on the Palestinian issue and will leave it at that.

Noted. I take it that is is your personal view then since it was you who gave an unprompted response in the first place.

LWZ

mods now stressing out over all the kosher hummus posts mingled into this megathread

Kiwi8

In a way I also prefer to do as what WP proposed and that is to recognise the State of Palestine now, but then again diplomatically it is probably still not the time, cos of our links with Israel and by extension its backer USA, and especially with Trump in charge, he is even ultra pro-Israel than previous presidents. :s22:

BohemianSG

So both the WP and PAP is ok with recognising Palestine. Thanks for letting me know.

But in that case, in your opinion, why would the Punggol candidate bring up palestine in the rally. Is it something she will advocate for if elected as MP?

What are your thoughts ?

carlongerdidu93

First-Time Voters: What’s Their Move for GE2025?

They’ve grown up on TikTok explainers and storytime tea on Instagram. They’ve got sharp opinions, built-in BS detectors, and a pulse on everything—from climate change to cancel culture.

But when it comes to local politics, how much do they really know?

Do they even care? RICE dives into the confusion, quiet anxieties, and invisible pressures surrounding a Gen Z rite of passage in 2025—casting their first vote in Singapore’s general elections.

#GE2025

testart

Can the workers party solve this? Explain to me because i would really like to know more.
The truth is no single party can solve all of Singapore’s issues overnight. Not the WP and not even the PAP.

WP has improved. They are tabling serious policies, drafting motions, and asking the tough questions in Parliament.

Letting WP grow gradually could be a safe way to balance power, without rocking the boat too hard.

Just enough to send a clear signal to the PAP - Don’t take Singaporeans for granted.

Kiwi8

mods now stressing out over all the kosher hummus posts mingled into this megathread
Indeed, I feel that the Palestine issue is really a minor issue that will not be crucial to the election.

It is still bread and butter issues like cost of living and jobs.

yperic

People’s Action Party’s (PAP) Ong Ye Kung said that the Singapore Democratic Party’s (SDP) Chee Soon Juan needs to give a better explanation on why he “abandoned Bukit Batok to come to Sembawang West".

Speaking at an election rally on Thursday (Apr 24), the second day of the #GE2025 campaign, the anchor minister for Sembawang GRC said that if the SDP chief became MP for the adjacent Sembawang West SMC, he would not be able to properly take care of residents there.

Saying that Sembawang West SMC residents were “still part of the big Sembawang family”, he urged voters to choose PAP candidate Poh Li San to keep the “strong family ties”.

Mr Ong was among the speakers at Woodlands Stadium, along with Ms Poh and Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC candidates, Mr Zaqy Mohamad, Mr Alex Yam and Ms Hany Soh. PM Lawrence Wong gave the final speech of the night.

Full story here: https://cna.asia/3GmI2Wm

Toonsy92

Haha still hard lah. Liang Po Po is still the incumbent plus the PM also. Daft voters will still vote for Liang Po Po. :o
But gotta to admire PM Wong bravery tbh... all past Prime Minister GRC are 5-man GRC...

He rather stay on.

BohemianSG

In a way I also prefer to do as what WP proposed and that is to recognise the State of Palestine now, but then again diplomatically it is probably still not the time, cos of our links with Israel and by extension its backer USA, and especially with Trump in charge, he is even ultra pro-Israel than previous presidents. :s22:

That being the case, do u still believe the WP stance is in the best interests of Singapore?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.