• Widening income gap

Votes: 263 30.7%
  • Unemployment/Lack of opportunities for citizens

Votes: 393 45.9%

• Total voters

Yuripa

Yes, my considerations now vs my considerations when i was a first time voter was different.

Politics is about comms. If different parties have different ideologies, then show it.

However, for this election, i'm seeing these 'coalition' parties echoing the same motherhood messages. In fact, i suspect some of them rushed out a manifesto by copying from each other. Come on.

So my conclusion is, it is ego issue, they have different political ambitions. There is a difference between ambitions and ideologies.

I'd take one step even further. To give them benefit of doubt, even if there are differences in ideologies, i dont see these differences. This means their comms failed; they are lousy in delivering messages.

You cant comms properly and you want to talk about improving policies? Come on.

My opinion is different from your last para, but i'm happy to agree to disagree
I like it that we have differing but positive opinions.

Unless we have concrete proof/facts that the opposition parties had reached out to each other then there's actually a few scenarios that we can all speculate on -

1) They did speak to each other but coalition failed due to whatever logical / selfish reasons.

2) They didn't speak to each other due to possible tactical strategies that isn't publicly made known.

Don't say opposition parties to opposition parties, for ge2025 Ariffin and Gigene they didn't do a good job with working together in the same party.

Singapore had its first GE from 1968. After 57 years of democracy, I would like to believe that the oppositions should have learned and come to a conclusion that united we stand and divided we fall. They had countless of 5 years to plan and strategize together. So there must be some logical reasoning that they didn't.

Look at private candidate Jeremy Tan campaign for Mountbatten SMC, I'm sure he has his own personal / logical reasons to solo it since he said he had been planning it for the last 3 years.

If you tell me the opposition parties failed in coordination then I tell you they probably have tried it but things just don't turn out the way we as outsiders would have thought was the best way moving forward.

wakaozphuhu

The two ncmp seats should go to WP right? Jalan kayu and Tampines both got higher vote percentage then sembawang west.

Dr chee lost his chance to be in parliament again?

SantyBalls

No need to worry guys! They know the voter demographic in a 3 block radius! More gerr.. Good days ahead!

Youareme

Capture.jpg

CCS next DPM?

not say I base on looks
but do their nerdy 10 year series looks and demeanor negotiate with the likes of china communists, and Trump america first team?

testart

Where is that Lawrence Wong face like SIAN JI BUA face with Gan Kim Yong? I find find cannot find leh

Few days ago I saw someone posted that FACE like sibei sian with GKY standing behind

Coffeelix

went to Tampines round market to pack the nice dessert and famous wanton noodles.
Pee ah pee Tampines changkat grassroots was there with Zao pao mike waiting for the Ivory tower man to arrive.
While queuing, I asked the young gal behind me and she confirmed she blindly V pee ah pee, the brand irregardless who was placed there contesting.
My feel is correct.
There is no point for oppo to field credible candidates which won’t b appreciated.
Sg will bear the consequences of their blind faith not to have check n balance in place.
When they are being sidelined by new sg entirely, it will b too late by then.

Coffeelix

Most local pte companies have been increasingly competed out by my companies with big flood gates with no barriers to entry. My companies fare better as they can get their supplies direct from sources from their countrymen.
Sg will b able to find employment but once they pay has built up to become unfavorable to the MY bosses, they will b easily replaced with my at half their salaries.
Mark my words.
Sg employment will always be short term only. To think sg will be disadvantaged on home ground is unbelievably laughable.
Anyway, they will reap what they sow.
All oppo credible candidates shouldn’t waste time anymore.
It isn’t worth their time cos they aren’t appreciated.

angelichound

My point being if you have the rights to spoilt your vote

It means others have their rights not to vote

Regardless of their personal reasons

Throughout my years as a voter -

1) I've chosen not to vote before
2) I had voted for pap before
3) I had voted for spp before
4) I voted for psp

Different stage of life I make different choices due to the personal experiences I went through.

So unless you have always done the "correct" thing in your entire life, then by all means you can nb other ppl all you want.

Edit: Just to add on, I don't think it's a pride issue that's preventing opposition to form coalition parties. I believe that all of them have their own differing ideologies and manifesto and this is probably the main show stopper. But of course, this is my humble opinion and I might be wrong.

coalition happens after the election to form a coalition govt

we have seen how alliance formed to contest an election has failed spectacularly

SDA and PAR are good example

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.