I am a long time DBS customer but my employer required UOB in order to contribute to my SRS. The SRS balance is likely to exceed S$100k this year, so I could presumably qualify for UOB Wealth Banking. I’ve also got over S$100k in cash sitting in my DBS current account, so let me ask you guys… is it worth consolidating my accounts with UOB?
I hesitate because of my experience with UOB over the years:
1. They can’t keep their story straight (ask different people the same question, get different answer).
2. They are very particular about minor details and unnecessary red tape.
3. Among the three local banks, they seem to be the least generous about offering customers value for money, the best you can hope for is matching, not exceeding others.
This experience seems to be consistent over the decades, but tell me if I’m wrong or missing anything.
Actually the 3 local banks suck like ****. Are you going to leave your SRS in cash or intend to invest? In order of shittiness
UOB (sibei ultra old school and ****. Ang Pow also buay kan. Their slogan should be “ The bank that does nothing right”)
DBS (freaking yaya papaya. They think that they are the biggest **** in SG. Ang Pow design is ultra **** also. Their mission statement should be “We don’t know whether we can make you rich but you will make us rich”)
OCBC (seriously the least shitty of the 3. Ang Pow design very high end. Their slogan is more like “Don’t serve and nothing can go wrong”)
Since you need to use $100k (SRS) + $100k cash, I think ocbc is the most cincai. They usually don’t disturb you, they don’t charge you any fees if you fall below (close 1 eye), they have some good investment for SRS (like exclusive infinity Lion global S&P500 or Lion global equity fund etc). You can also use their BCIP to invest in SGX
UOB wealth banking is ok and have nice lounges but the staff ****ing old school, use a lot of paper for this and that.
DBS I tried. Quite **** up. No good funds. Strange thing is you buy their funds can buy online but can only sell through agent (simi logic). Using their wealth banking platform so expensive etc…(custodian fees expensive). Their RM is yaya papaya and is team based (all wayang and wait for their peers to answer). Their reasoning is team is good because there is a whole army to serve you. The real truth is no accountability. Not sure why their CEO can accept this kind of wayang. Lol! Initially lim peh thought he is some general because only army can wayang like that.
To be honest, ppl always tell you good things about premier banking. This video tells you the truth about all these premier banking. Personally I prefer foreign banks like Citibank, Standard Chartered, HSBC, Maybank. The RM chio!