Consolidation phase

drkcynic

To me this is a gd plan to get a resale and if possible gt a second FH esp if second name can use fr it.

I am in a resale hdb. Was gnna upgrade to a condo after this but decided not to as gtta moved out of city area. Also no guaranteed I will gt very high floor n big space. Best part is I get benefits fr staying in HDB.

Wanted to use my last bto chance to like unlock my last profit frm my current resale but decided to wait till retired cos I m enjoying my area, space amenities and benefits.

As a Singaporean, HDB is your right. Dun lose out on it. Condo ROI these days esp on rental really CMI.

Why I m further convinced it is gd to move to a resale hdb is cos ministers are also exiting their big landed. Mark Lee also moved to HDB. Many moves are happening behind the scene. What do they know that we don't
The 15 months wait time is a bummer though. 5 years MOP is ok since everyone observes them but the 15 months wait is just penalizing ex private owners.

I don't to wait till 55, MOP finished is 60 liao.

drkcynic

By then also hard to take loan.. if can, should take? Haha
That's one of the factors behind my consideration also. When I hit 50, 1) How much loan can I take? 2) How much monthly interest I want to pay?

Those who has realistically thought about it will know how difficult it is at that age to still play properties. Monthly interest will be super high, CPF will be dry (if decide to semi-retire), how to service the loan? Even if can manage, you want to? At that age?

That's why I always tell youngsters to go for it, earn your pot of gold when you are gainfully employed. When you hit 50s, everyone faces the same problem.

Got money got options, no money just suck thumb and be salty.

Velton

That's one of the factors behind my consideration also. When I hit 50, 1) How much loan can I take? 2) How much monthly interest I want to pay?

Those who has realistically thought about it will know how difficult it is at that age to still play properties. Monthly interest will be super high, CPF will be dry (if decide to semi-retire), how to service the loan? Even if can manage, you want to? At that age?

That's why I always tell youngsters to go for it, earn your pot of gold when you are gainfully employed. When you hit 50s, everyone faces the same problem.

Got money got options, no money just suck thumb and be salty.
Hopefully earn enough can pay in cash when 55.

elvintay07

I would consider the following

(1) HDB has this 1 bedroom studio unit that is like $200k for 20 or 30 years. You divide and each month is like $500-800. I would buy this then go tour the world. Then come back and spend few months here if needed. Then rest of the money invest in stores then all spend finish.

(2) Keep 2 condos. Then rent out 1 and keep 1 for own stay. Then sometimes go holiday and sometimes come back. Got less liquidity but can left to next generation to decide what they want to do with the units

(3) HBD 1 bedroom studio unit. Then keep another $1m in S&P500. Then leave the S&P500 for future generations. The rest all spend

I am still first timer and haven’t bto

first property is private. How do I get the chance to bto (income exceeded ceiling) when I decide to retire?

youskevitch

Max out is 2 x GCB eh :ROFLMAO: .

To me it's always about risk and rewards. It's no secret property returns are thinning. With every passing year, the risk of investing in properties goes up exponentially. Home stay, just go ahead. At least IMO.
prices are so high that i have to agree with you
if Orie 3000 psf. means in 5 years can exit at 3500 psf?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.