Copen Grand EC

Man_U#1333

The Carpark lots is ard 80+% of the numebr of units. What if there is a scenario where say 90% of the units own a car. Like that how ah? Just curious…how will the management prioritize ah?

rlskyline

The Carpark lots is ard 80+% of the numebr of units. What if there is a scenario where say 90% of the units own a car. Like that how ah? Just curious…how will the management prioritize ah?
usually EC face parking problems

yun10

I guess ballot lor. Then the question is how often ballot?

So, in worst worst case scenario is give up car or you park somewhere super far away (maybe need to take MRT? since car-lite area which means surrounding HDB carpark season parking are reserved for resident only. ).

haido80

Yea this carpark lot problem had been highlighted previously in this thread. Probably due to Tengah town carlite/free planing. But its really not practical.

And not to stereotype but its logical most people who can afford EC already own a car. I did some comparing with recent EC/Condos. This is the only EC with such a high shortfall of lots to units ratio.

yun10

Yea this carpark lot problem had been highlighted previously in this thread. Probably due to Tengah town carlite/free planing. But its really not practical.

And not to stereotype but its logical most people who can afford EC already own a car. I did some comparing with recent EC/Condos. This is the only EC with such a high shortfall of lots to units ratio.

I agree, logically most with family and car.

639 units to 516 lots (505 + 6 electric vehicle charging station, and 5 accessible lots)
At least cater up to 90% still not so bad. But 100+ units no parking lot, really quite a big number.

Wonder if they will discount the maintenance for those without carpark lot..? You pay for carpark maintenance, but you cannot park there. Will be a joke.

googoogaga

Ya good point. For the Carlite areas govt even goes ahead and removes carparks. Not surprising that they allocate less carparks. Maybe it's a govt requirement. Can't do anything.

Man_U#1333

Ya good point. For the Carlite areas govt even goes ahead and removes carparks. Not surprising that they allocate less carparks. Maybe it's a govt requirement. Can't do anything.
Ec usually for expended family with kids ma. I also only got car got got kids. Need to send to childcare and go work etc.
if its pte condo den ok la.. many buy as 2nd property to rent out ma…giving insufficient parking lots is like counter the initiative to boost sg birth rate leh. Can u imagine ur kids infant to toddler and no car or car no lot to park..early morn wake up before sun come out den how to bring kids to infant or childcare and den chiong to work?
Childcare accept kids at 7am. Den most ppl start work 830-9am. Take bus mrt? Even take cab and grab also need to book. If big rain like these few morn how? Surge in price also hard to get transport leh.

yun10

Ec usually for expended family with kids ma. I also only got car got got kids. Need to send to childcare and go work etc.
if its pte condo den ok la.. many buy as 2nd property to rent out ma…giving insufficient parking lots is like counter the initiative to boost sg birth rate leh. Can u imagine ur kids infant to toddler and no car or car no lot to park..early morn wake up before sun come out den how to bring kids to infant or childcare and den chiong to work?
Childcare accept kids at 7am. Den most ppl start work 830-9am. Take bus mrt? Even take cab and grab also need to book. If big rain like these few morn how? Surge in price also hard to get transport leh.

I'm having the same considerations too.

Hence, may want to consider if the place fits your lifestyle lor because maybe developer can't do anything also.
If really go for it, set expectations that you may have to change your lifestyle.

MRT think is 2029 full completion, but for me, I feel it's just like a bigger LRT. Just linking to major lines with no direct line to anywhere beyond west. Still got to fight with the crowd at CCK or JE.
Will be good if it's 1 of the main lines cutting across Singapore.

Not sure about the number of buses too.

Lastly, with car-lite, means more people will need public transport. Hence, expect more crowds.
I feel may need to live there up to 10 years or more to see benefits. Plus if the policy of no downgrade to HDB remains, it may become a challenge. Worst worst case, no car 10 years ok?

Another way to see it, many people also no car with family and they seem fine too.
Need to remember, no confirm no carpark lot, ~80% have. Just a possibility.

So maybe, the real question is, is the change worth it? Do you see it as downgrade or upgrade of lifestyle (assuming from HDB flat)?

haido80

…giving insufficient parking lots is like counter the initiative to boost sg birth rate leh. Can u imagine ur kids infant to toddler and no car or car no lot to park..early morn wake up before sun come out den how to bring kids to infant or childcare and den chiong to work?

haha.. car park lot also can link until birth rate.. power.. though of course your reasoning is not wrong. Imagine stay in condo still need to park at HDB opposite... will really be big joke. Where is the luxury living they advertised? Basic needs already cannot meet.

Another way to see it, many people also no car with family and they seem fine too.

So maybe, the real question is, is the change worth it? Do you see it as downgrade or upgrade of lifestyle (assuming from HDB flat)?

Hm.. good question. upgrade to condo but may need to sell your car.. upgrade or downgrade?

Man_U#1333

I'm having the same considerations too.

Hence, may want to consider if the place fits your lifestyle lor because maybe developer can't do anything also.
If really go for it, set expectations that you may have to change your lifestyle.

MRT think is 2029 full completion, but for me, I feel it's just like a bigger LRT. Just linking to major lines with no direct line to anywhere beyond west. Still got to fight with the crowd at CCK or JE.
Will be good if it's 1 of the main lines cutting across Singapore.

Not sure about the number of buses too.

Lastly, with car-lite, means more people will need public transport. Hence, expect more crowds.
I feel may need to live there up to 10 years or more to see benefits. Plus if the policy of no downgrade to HDB remains, it may become a challenge. Worst worst case, no car 10 years ok?

Yes totally agreed to your points. Many consideration to note in terms of lifestyle and family logistic arrangements against the facilities the EC can offer and the neighborhood. Really need to depends on the age group we are in and the age group of our kids. Ytd I attended at zoom introduction by propnex. The agent is selling copen grand as first mover advantage, many greeneries and parks. Strong demand from surrounding btos, the Tuas, Jurong island, PSA and next Jurong as 2nd CBD. And last of all the lowest land bid price for the current ec mkt…which means a one in a life time opportunity to get the lowest price. And how the interest rate shd go down for DPS in 3 years when inflation is curb. However, I don’t rem hearing him highlighting the cons like 80% Carpark lots which may not be suitable for some families.

Man_U#1333

haha.. car park lot also can link until birth rate.. power.. though of course your reasoning is not wrong. Imagine stay in condo still need to park at HDB opposite... will really be big joke. Where is the luxury living they advertised? Basic needs already cannot meet.

Hm.. good question. upgrade to condo but may need to sell your car.. upgrade or downgrade?
Of cos Singapore birth rate so low. Everything is linked back to birth rate and sustaining gdp and our local workforce and national service ma. Which will impact how our future can feed the aging population. I do not wish to pay more income tax so soon ma like those angmoh countries. But western countries birth rate still higher den sg cos their work life balance top notch and flexibility of work from home. Sg pte sector still stingy on wfh… maybe restrictions and explanation. Civil servant alr 50% and no need give reasons. Hope will have law to push pte sector to do so in 2023 haha.

yun10

Imagine stay in condo still need to park at HDB opposite... will really be big joke. Where is the luxury living they advertised? Basic needs already cannot meet.

Actually got chance opposite HDB also cannot park, assuming Copen grand resident is not considered resident of the HDB estate..

Extracted from HDB news release for car-lite place:
"Specific to car-lite precincts, non-residents will not be able to buy season parking within the precinct, and they may have to do so at alternative nearby car parks."

bluegt

Is there any public info on # of car park lots in a condo / EC? must be listed on some website...

ypurple

Heard from agent guide prices is out.

💥 2BR + Study frm $1.08mil
💥 3BR Deluxe frm $1.18mil
💥 3 BR Premium frm $1.28mil
💥 4 BR Deluxe frm $1.48mil
💥 4 BR Premium frm $1.58mil
💥 5 BR Premium frm $1.88mil

GalacticA

Parc greenwich ec also does not have 1 to 1 carpark lots but i recall the shortfall is not as large as tengah's

Braun8

North Gaia - 616 units, 616 carpark lots, two levels of basement parking and 7 EV charging station lots.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.