[cost of living : milk powder] normal milk powder price in SG vs australia ... and nutrition comparison ...

BlackWing1977

lol now you said fernleaf
the new packing with nutrilabel based on NTUC
then i compare with my old data
you all see WTF now happen to new 1

data points key
FLO = old data fernleaf full cream (3-4 years before pandemic)
FLN = new data fernleaf full cream
CH = cowhead existing

RDI 100g
Vit A - FLO 0.23 / FLN 0.07 / CH 1.18
Calcium - FLO 0.86 / FLN 0.24 / CH 0.95
potassium FLO/FLN no data
iodine - FLO 0.3 / FLN 0.1 / CH no data
Zinc - FLO 0.39 / FLN 0.13 / CH 0.43

its not a coincidence ...
cos the reduction is in general roughly ~70% zun zun

kena chop until jialat jialat sia
fernleaf old (2016?) est $30~35/kg/RDI
fernleaf new (2023) est $62/kg/RDI

in terms of general nutrition value
fernleaf 2023 is now only half as nutritious as cowhead
I buy because it is cheap mar.. but if you really want to look at nutrition... maybe can look beyond milk powder liao.. like Ensure or Glucerna if got diabetes... those are not milk powder per say... as I dun think got milk inside.. but it is very high in nutrition bah....

I always keep a tin or 2 around for my mum... she drinks Glucerna... but it is costly... :sick:

EJB

Waiting for POFMA to be issued against the websai.

mechagnome

just now i see cowhead milk 2.5kg
after the nutrilabel change

this cowhead also up lorry liao

that means this nutrilabel change across ALL food labelling
is to reduce testing and labelling requirements
and allow mfr to reduce the quality of the food w/o notification

this is old label
very detailed
https://cf.shopee.sg/file/6bf506844564f71b0d0f3609a8b1aa6d

this is new 1
jiak sai
it gives the mfr huge margin of what raw material they can remove w/o us knowing and they do not have to adhere to more previouos stringent label
deliberate obsfusication of nutrition data
the vitamin A for example is now 0.94RDI (previous was 1.18)
https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/71fowZixcGL._AC_UF350,350_QL80_.jpg

the old 1 now they put under a tiny bag call
low fat milk ...
$7.95 /
500g
= approx $34/kg/RDI
https://media.karousell.com/media/photos/products/2020/03/26/cowhead_milk_powder_1585226159_376a62cb_progressive.jpg

SFA HSA PAP pls ... go accidently fall down n go die

Mystyque

just now i see cowhead milk 2.5kg
after the nutrilabel change

this cowhead also up lorry liao

that means this nutrilabel change across ALL food labelling
is to reduce testing and labelling requirements
and allow mfr to reduce the quality of the food w/o notification

the perception of SFA/HSA giving nutrilabel ABCDE
is a misdirection ...
insert *expletives* *expletives* *expletives* *expletives*

this is old label
very detailed
https://cf.shopee.sg/file/6bf506844564f71b0d0f3609a8b1aa6d

this is new 1
jiak sai
it gives the mfr huge margin of what raw material they can remove w/o us knowing and they do not have to adhere to more previouos stringent label
deliberate obsfusication of nutrition data
https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/71fowZixcGL._AC_UF350,350_QL80_.jpg

the old 1 now they put under a tiny bag call
low fat milk ...
$7.95 /
500g
= approx $29/kg/RDI
https://media.karousell.com/media/photos/products/2020/03/26/cowhead_milk_powder_1585226159_376a62cb_progressive.jpg

SFA HSA PAP pls ... go accidently fall down n go die

up for good effort but sad for us :(

Asure7

Not sure whether it's a fair comparison by looking at RDI alone.
Source of the nutrition is also important and affects the pricing, no?
I remember a brand has "buttermilk" as a major component (with veg oil blends like palm oil), instead of nonfat milk/whey protein etc.

Fernleaf is NZ right?

sanukboy

I only remember one Famous MP said...
羊毛出在羊身上,
没钱死在地板上...

Lafiel

in sg
even got land got cow got own milk product
will still be more ex than importing

whats wrong with earning more profit

JAson1980

How come stage 1 milk don’t allow to have promotion?
stage 1 the most important one. of cos milk gao gao.
Last time i went to brunei to work. I saw the Enfa milk powder is literally about half the price of singapore, country of origin is the same as those sold in singapore.
I jitao hand carry 6 cans back.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.