CPF Account Value Thread 2025

royalmix

I suppose. But what about the flexibility to give away more (or all?) of your wealth while you’re still alive and competent to distribute it, when you can appreciate it (see the smiles, basically), and when the recipients get the most benefits? For example, when a grandchild wants to attend an expensive university, not when the grandchild is age 40 and regretting that she couldn’t afford to attend that university 2 decades earlier?

If you have enough high quality longevity insurance to cover at least your basic needs for the rest of your life, however long it lasts, your other wealth is surplus and can be put to immediate productive use.

Ask Chatgpt:

The popular American concept of “giving while living” promotes early wealth transfer to maximize impact and joy. While appealing, this approach often reflects a flawed financial mindset rooted in overconfidence. Many who adopt it—especially those without ultra-wealth—end up facing regret in retirement, having underestimated longevity, healthcare costs, and inflation.

In contrast, the Singaporean approach tends to be more cautious and pragmatic, prioritizing financial self-reliance and retirement security before generosity. This cultural and financial prudence helps avoid the common misstep of giving too much, too soon, which has led to real hardship for many retirees in the U.S.

“Giving while living” may sound noble, but without rock-solid financial security, it often becomes a miscalculated risk disguised as generosity.

royalmix

Flat is Joint Tenancy - one dead one has yet to die.
So flat NOT in Estate yet, loan ( a little only lah), still have to pay HDB. Still got 10 or 20 more years IF he/she were to live 10/20 more years till 85 / 95. Pay with rental yield lo.
Thanks for sharing the case study.

That's why it is important to understand the Laws/Regulations that governs the estate of the deceased.

The said HDB property is not covered under CPF nomination.

Below from CPF Website:

"Waiver of CPF used for property: There’s no need to refund the CPF savings that the deceased had used to buy a property. The property won’t be covered by CPF nomination and will be part of the estate.

The deceased’s share in a property with a joint tenancy automatically passes to the remaining owner(s).

If there’s a tenancy-in-common or property was solely owned, the deceased's share will be inherited under their will if they had written one. Otherwise, intestacy laws will apply. "

8zaoyu

Thanks for sharing the case study.

That's why it is important to understand the Laws/Regulations that governs the estate of the deceased.

The said HDB property is not covered under CPF nomination.

Below from CPF Website:

"Waiver of CPF used for property: There’s no need to refund the CPF savings that the deceased had used to buy a property. The property won’t be covered by CPF nomination and will be part of the estate.

The deceased’s share in a property with a joint tenancy automatically passes to the remaining owner(s).

If there’s a tenancy-in-common or property was solely owned, the deceased's share will be inherited under their will if they had written one. Otherwise, intestacy laws will apply. "
In joint-tenancy of the HDB, the remaining owner (spouse) retain the flat has to pay the remaining loan with the CPF balances if any that is nominated to him/her OR pay the remaining loan with rental yields lo - was what I meant UNLESS died <65 WITH Home Protection Scheme bought

royalmix

In joint-tenancy of the HDB, the remaining owner (spouse) retain the flat has to pay the remaining loan with the CPF balances if any that is nominated to him/her OR pay the remaining loan with rental yields lo - was what I meant UNLESS died <65 WITH Home Protection Scheme bought
Yes, I got what you have been posting/explaining.

So it is important for members to consider legacy planning, dun leave your spouse/children to assume your debts/liability because money is of no use to you after you die!

compro_1975

cpf gives interest at the lowest amount for the month right? so if today 1 oct my balance increased from 40000 to 41000, the day interest is calculated on 40000 or 41000?

highsulphur

cpf gives interest at the lowest amount for the month right? so if today 1 oct my balance increased from 40000 to 41000, the day interest is calculated on 40000 or 41000?
40000 unless it goes lower later in the month is the simple answer.

s0crates

No. Any deposits within the month only start earning interest next month. Any withdrawal within the month won't earn any interest for the month.

If your CPF OA starting balance is 40,000 at start of September.

You contribute 1000 from employment

You withdraw 1000 for housing mortgage.

Amount that will get interest for the month = 40,000 -1000 = 39,000.

Lol GIC/CPF has been benefitting from that 1 month of float for years and people don't know they are losing out from it...

compro_1975

No. Any deposits within the month only start earning interest next month. Any withdrawal within the month won't earn any interest for the month.

If your CPF OA starting balance is 40,000 at start of September.

You contribute 1000 from employment

You withdraw 1000 for housing mortgage.

Amount that will get interest for the month = 40,000 -1000 = 39,000.

Lol GIC/CPF has been benefitting from that 1 month of float for years and people don't know they are losing out from it...
Damm scam sia... haix.. why no NMP or opp bring this up.. no wonder my calculation always out. Cos my company credit on 2nd of the next month for previous month salary

henrylbh

Every month, more than 4 billion goes into CPF and no interest for whole month. Outgoings in billion also lose interest for the month. That's the rule. You want change, then change gov :)

rizhal

How is my CPF interest computed and credited into my accounts?

CPF interest is computed monthly. It is credited to your respective accounts by the following year and compounded annually.

CPF balances used for interest computation are affected by the transactions in your account. For instance, contributions (including refunds) received this month start earning interest next month. Withdrawals/deductions in this month will not earn interest from this month onwards.

There are strict procedures in place to ensure the accuracy of members’ CPF accounts and transactions (including interest payments). To further ensure that our system is sound and robust, our statutory auditor performs regular reviews of formulas and computations in our systems for accuracy, and conducts independent verifications of the transactions and account balances.

https://www.cpf.gov.sg/service/article/how-is-my-cpf-interest-computed-and-credited-into-my-accounts

havetheveryfun

Damm scam sia... haix.. why no NMP or opp bring this up.. no wonder my calculation always out. Cos my company credit on 2nd of the next month for previous month salary
isnt that normal

most companies only pay CPF contributions right before the deadline of the middle of the next month

CrashWire

How is my CPF interest computed and credited into my accounts?

CPF interest is computed monthly. It is credited to your respective accounts by the following year and compounded annually.

CPF balances used for interest computation are affected by the transactions in your account. For instance, contributions (including refunds) received this month start earning interest next month. Withdrawals/deductions in this month will not earn interest from this month onwards.

There are strict procedures in place to ensure the accuracy of members’ CPF accounts and transactions (including interest payments). To further ensure that our system is sound and robust, our statutory auditor performs regular reviews of formulas and computations in our systems for accuracy, and conducts independent verifications of the transactions and account balances.

https://www.cpf.gov.sg/service/article/how-is-my-cpf-interest-computed-and-credited-into-my-accounts
What's the point of quoting this?

Just because the processes are performed correctly and accurately, it doesn't mean the system is not broken. A lot of salaries are paid from the 1st to 7th of the month. Some employers might pay CPF at the same time, but CPF Board would not calculate interest on them until the next month.

rizhal

What's the point of quoting this?

Just because the processes are performed correctly and accurately, it doesn't mean the system is not broken. A lot of salaries are paid from the 1st to 7th of the month. Some employers might pay CPF at the same time, but CPF Board would not calculate interest on them until the next month.

It is a monthly rest interest policy.

To suit your question, please vote for a government who propose daily rest for CPF.

royalmix

Every month, more than 4 billion goes into CPF and no interest for whole month. Outgoings in billion also lose interest for the month. That's the rule. You want change, then change gov :)
Will the interest you lose/lost, as a member, be more than the interest you will lose after you join CPF Life (if you die earlier than expected)? :cool:

I have never calculated past losses, no need to waste time on this, it will never change! :LOL:

DevilPlate

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.