CPF Account Value Thread 2025

tehhalia

possible, it's the magic of compounding

aga aga ah, you throw in 3k contribution per month (37740/12), interest rate 3% (somewhat middle of 2.5% and 4%), compound annually for 20 years (20 ok liao), you get 967K already

and also got sell and buy property, if sell high buy low can also increase OA.
40s can also be late 40s.

Nanonited

possible, it's the magic of compounding

aga aga ah, you throw in 3k contribution per month (37740/12), interest rate 3% (somewhat middle of 2.5% and 4%), compound annually for 20 years (20 ok liao), you get 967K already

and also got sell and buy property, if sell high buy low can also increase OA.
40s can also be late 40s.
Cpf where can increase with property value? They only return what you took along with accrued interest. Even you made 10 mil but use 100k cpf they wont return 10 mil…

dgeralds

I'm 59, where can I invest my excess OA dollars? I don't need that money for the next 15 years. I'm not good in investing individual stocks. My SRS, I'm investing in S&P 500 and will continue to do something for the next few years.

highsulphur

I'm 59, where can I invest my excess OA dollars? I don't need that money for the next 15 years. I'm not good in investing individual stocks. My SRS, I'm investing in S&P 500 and will continue to do something for the next few years.
how much is your SRS balance? If it is more than 400k, you might be better off withdrawing your OA to invest in S&P instead and leave SRS on safer products given 50% of your withdrawal is taxable.

dgeralds

how much is your SRS balance? If it is more than 400k, you might be better off withdrawing your OA to invest in S&P instead and leave SRS on safer products given 50% of your withdrawal is taxable.
SRS 206K already invested. Holding SRS 50K to invest.

NeneNene

Friends, Can you please advise if the following suggestion on MA top-up is sound or not. Based on last year Inflow (with no voluntary top ups last year), I have
  • Employee CPF inflow: S$20,278
  • Employer CPF inflow: S$17,240
Assuming something similar this year, Based on GPT input, remaining head room for top up is only 37,740 (CPF limit for tax relief?) − 37,518 = $222
GPT further says,
f you top up, say, S$5,000 in January:

• CPF will accept it initially
  • But once employer CPF flows in during the year:
    • ~S$4,778 will be refunded
    • Only S$222 stays
    • Only S$222 gets tax relief
So for you, early-year top-ups are risky unless very small!!! ?

highsulphur

SRS 206K already invested. Holding SRS 50K to invest.
How long more to withdrawal age? Seems OK to invest equities in srs still if you still intend to keep your OA balance intact to earn that 2.5%

highsulphur

Friends, Can you please advise if the following suggestion on MA top-up is sound or not. Based on last year Inflow (with no voluntary top ups last year), I have
Assuming something similar this year, Based on GPT input, remaining head room for top up is only 37,740 (CPF limit for tax relief?) − 37,518 = $222
GPT further says,

• Only S$222 stays
Chatgpt is outdated

MA top up has been excluded from the annual cap a few years back already

rizhal

GPT further says,

• Only S$222 stays

Check out example 5 of https://www.iras.gov.sg/taxes/indiv...ribution-to-medisave-account---up-to-ya-2022-

Andrew is 30 years old. He made voluntary contributions to his MediSave Account in 2021. His CPF Relief for the Year of Assessment (YA) 2022 is computed as follows:

Andrew is an employee who is 30 years oldYA 2022
Total wages (OW + AW)$80,000
Compulsory CPF contributions made by Andrew's employer17% x $80,000
= $13,600
Compulsory CPF contributions by Andrew as an employee20% x $80,000
= $16,000
Total CPF contributions by Andrew and his employer$13,600 + $16,000 = $29,600
Annual CPF contribution cap$37,740*
Voluntary cash contribution directed by Andrew to his MediSave Account$9,000
Maximum tax relief allowed on voluntary contribution made by Andrew to his MediSave Account$8,140
($37,740 - $29,600)
Total CPF Relief allowable to Andrew$24,140
($16,000 + $8,140)
*The above tax treatment ceased for voluntary contributions made from 1 Jan 2022 to an individual’s own MediSave Account (“MA”). From 1 Jan 2022, the contributions limit for voluntary contributions made by individuals to their MA will only be subject to the Basic Healthcare Sum and not the annual CPF contribution cap. The voluntary contributions made to the MA will be allowed under CPF Cash Top-up Relief

rizhal

Chatgpt is outdated

MA top up has been excluded from the annual cap a few years back already

oh yes you are right , thanks

*The above tax treatment ceased for voluntary contributions made from 1 Jan 2022 to an individual’s own MediSave Account (“MA”). From 1 Jan 2022, the contributions limit for voluntary contributions made by individuals to their MA will only be subject to the Basic Healthcare Sum and not the annual CPF contribution cap. The voluntary contributions made to the MA will be allowed under CPF Cash Top-up Relief

highsulphur

Check out example 5 of https://www.iras.gov.sg/taxes/indiv...ribution-to-medisave-account---up-to-ya-2022-

Andrew is 30 years old. He made voluntary contributions to his MediSave Account in 2021. His CPF Relief for the Year of Assessment (YA) 2022 is computed as follows:

Andrew is an employee who is 30 years oldYA 2022
Total wages (OW + AW)$80,000
Compulsory CPF contributions made by Andrew's employer17% x $80,000
= $13,600
Compulsory CPF contributions by Andrew as an employee20% x $80,000
= $16,000
Total CPF contributions by Andrew and his employer$13,600 + $16,000 = $29,600
Annual CPF contribution cap$37,740*
Voluntary cash contribution directed by Andrew to his MediSave Account$9,000
Maximum tax relief allowed on voluntary contribution made by Andrew to his MediSave Account$8,140
($37,740 - $29,600)
Total CPF Relief allowable to Andrew$24,140
($16,000 + $8,140)
This is outdated

BBCWatcher

@BBCWatcher Got a question. Even with this , filling in the gaps of what has not been filled up in MA, the tax relief with be at best very minimal correct? Appreciate your reply.
Well, everyone under age 65 should be able to insert at least $3,500 into their MediSave Accounts. That's because the Basic Healthcare Sum (BHS) increased by $3,500 yesterday (January 1). Also, whenever there are any deductions from MA, there's room below the BHS.

The total tax relief limit (for self) is $8,000 — counting Voluntary Contributions to MA and cash top ups to SA/RA that qualify. With MA alone you can grab a substantial part of that $8,000 limit at least.
If you're interested in a global stock index fund, A12S via POEMS works. Amova's GAB, the Straits Times Index (STI) stock fund is great if you want that sort of fund. And MBH works as a corporate bond index fund. Don't go too crazy with the number of counters, though, because each counter attracts a separate CPF Investment Account bank fee.

Note that you could withdraw OA dollars and invest them outside CPF since you're age 55+. You'd have more choices and lower investment costs that way. The potential disadvantage is that you cannot necessarily return those dollars to OA. (You could probably redeposit up to $37,740 per year.)

Ahboy069

this is the biggest risk. If shift then really too bad, take it as leave $ for children.. i dont think they can makan the money and not let you leave for your kids..

That will be a huge drastic change to lock big sums of money inside
If no kids may as well have more cash rather than lock up

PhantomOpera

Well, everyone under age 65 should be able to insert at least $3,500 into their MediSave Accounts. That's because the Basic Healthcare Sum (BHS) increased by $3,500 yesterday (January 1). Also, whenever there are any deductions from MA, there's room below the BHS.

The total tax relief limit (for self) is $8,000 — counting Voluntary Contributions to MA and cash top ups to SA/RA that qualify. With MA alone you can grab a substantial part of that $8,000 limit at least.

If you're interested in a global stock index fund, A12S via POEMS works. Amova's GAB, the Straits Times Index (STI) stock fund is great if you want that sort of fund. And MBH works as a corporate bond index fund. Don't go too crazy with the number of counters, though, because each counter attracts a separate CPF Investment Account bank fee.

Note that you could withdraw OA dollars and invest them outside CPF since you're age 55+. You'd have more choices and lower investment costs that way. The potential disadvantage is that you cannot necessarily return those dollars to OA. (You could probably redeposit up to $37,740 per year.)
At 55, moneys withdrawn from OA cannot be put back to OA, except for $37740 per year, am I reading correct? So if I want to withdraw my OA $, I better be sure I can beat 2.5% interest, right?

hwmook

At 55, moneys withdrawn from OA cannot be put back to OA, except for $37740 per year, am I reading correct? So if I want to withdraw my OA $, I better be sure I can beat 2.5% interest, right?

Yes. If you cannot beat 2.5% then it's better to leave the money inside OA.

NeneNene

Also, whenever there are any deductions from MA, there's room below the BHS.
Oh this is great to know. Will evergreen the account through the year as deductions happen !!
Wished I had known this earlier !! too much tax had already been paid to gahmen ;)

BBCWatcher

At 55, moneys withdrawn from OA cannot be put back to OA, except for $37740 per year, am I reading correct?
Not exactly. The $37,740 figure is the CPF Annual Limit. If you're working and have compulsory contributions then your VC3A (Voluntary Contribution to "all 3" accounts) maximum will be lower.

Also, you can make Voluntary Contributions to MediSave up to the Basic Healthcare Sum. When your MA is at the BHS then the compulsory contributions to MA (and interest on MA) will land somewhere else — in your OA if your RA is funded at least to the Full Retirement Sum (or at least to the Basic Retirement Sum with property pledge/charge). That's potentially an indirect way to get some dollars into OA.

Of course everyone can deposit funds into their RAs. Every time the Enhanced Retirement Sum is raised everyone with an RA has that option. On January 1, 2026, the Enhanced Retirement Sum increased by $14,800. Every CPF member age 55+ can deposit at least that amount into their RAs. RA deposits increase monthly retirement income and increase residuals paid to CPF nominees (whenever any residual remains upon the CPF member's passing).
So if I want to withdraw my OA $, I better be sure I can beat 2.5% interest, right?
Yes, but if you're investing OA dollars via the CPF Investment Scheme you're already betting that you can beat 2.5% p.a. at least for some non-trivial period of time. When you use the CPF Investment Scheme (OA) you preserve the possible future option of liquidating some or all of those particular investments to return the dollars to OA.

If you want to invest those dollars (with more investment options and lower costs), and you don't see enough value in the future possible option to liquidate investments to return the dollars to OA, you might as well withdraw the dollars to invest them.
Yes. If you cannot beat 2.5% then it's better to leave the money inside OA.
Another possible reason to leave money in OA (and not invest it at all — neither outside CPF nor via the CPF Investment Scheme) is if you highly value the asset protection characteristics that CPF provides.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.