CPF Account Value Thread 2026

royalmix

I really prefer numerical examples then trying to interpret the statements ......
Dun need to worry to much if you dun understand CPFB's written english cos sometimes it can be "ambiguous".

If you have seniors at home, get them to login to CPF, click my cpf, then retirement dashboard, scroll down until you see Topups, it will tell you exactly how much you can topup to current ERS = it is exactly the difference between current year ERS and your current FRS/ERS balance in your RA (excluding interest).

No need to worry, if you do not qualify for topups, you cannot even topup or even exceed what is allowed to your account.

BBCWatcher

If I'm reading it right, it seems the RA interest is credited to RA but can't be used to contribute towards the ERS. Then I suppose it's meant to be withdrawable at age 65? Seems very complicated.
It’s not complicated at all. The Enhanced Retirement Sum (ERS) is only ever relevant if you’re voluntarily trying to stuff as many dollars as possible into a CPF Retirement Account. If you aren’t, ignore it. If you are, as Royalmix says, just check your online retirement dashboard to find out how much you can deposit into your RA. Then check it again every time the ERS is raised if you want to add even more.

When you add funds to an RA you increase monthly CPF LIFE payouts. And you increase any residual left to your nominees (for any age at death when a residual is left). Interest does the same things.

Quite simple, really!

trave1er

I think I understand now.

I guess I was confused because I thought the RA will behave similarly to the SA. In the case of the SA, interest paid into the SA does count towards the top up limit which is the current FRS.

Anyway, thanks to everyone who assisted in clearing that up. Need to look at my sums again.

Andrew833

I think I understand now.

I guess I was confused because I thought the RA will behave similarly to the SA. In the case of the SA, interest paid into the SA does count towards the top up limit which is the current FRS.

Anyway, thanks to everyone who assisted in clearing that up. Need to look at my sums again.
RA is different from SA.
CPF made it more complex to understand the system.
Btw once you hit age 55, interest earn in RA is credited into RA, can see from the app.

yiwei

RA is different from SA.
CPF made it more complex to understand the system.
Btw once you hit age 55, interest earn in RA is credited into RA, can see from the app.
SA interest also always credited to SA leh...

BBCWatcher

SA and RA interest earning operates the same.

Before age 55, when you have an SA, SA interest is credited to SA — including bonus interest attributable to SA. Moreover, if you earn any bonus interest based on OA, that bonus interest is also credited to SA.

From age 55 onward, when you have an RA, RA interest is credited to RA — including bonus interest attributable to RA. Moreover, if you earn any bonus interest based on OA, that bonus interest is also credited to RA. (The maximum possible bonus interest increases from $600 to $900 per year from age 55.)

They're different accounts based on age, but the interest crediting rules are the same (except for the additional bonus interest earning opportunity from age 55 onward).

MA can be different. In particular, if your MA balance is at or very close to the Basic Healthcare Sum (BHS) on December 31, at least some MA interest won't be credited to MA. MA has a strict balance cap: the BHS.

Andrew833

Yes, before 55.
After 55,
Here is what you need to know about the caps:
  • Basic and Full Retirement Sums (BRS/FRS): Once you turn 55, your applicable BRS or FRS is fixed for the rest of your life. The amount locked into your RA does not change based on yearly adjustments.
  • Enhanced Retirement Sum (ERS): This is the absolute maximum limit allowed for RA top-ups. Unlike the BRS and FRS, the ERS increases every year on January 1 to keep pace with inflation and rising living standards. For example, the ERS is $440,800 and rises to $456,400.
  • Fresh Headroom: Because the ERS increases annually, it creates fresh "headroom". This allows you to make further cash top-ups or CPF transfers each year if you wish to boost your monthly payouts.

BBCWatcher

Basic and Full Retirement Sums (BRS/FRS): Once you turn 55, your applicable BRS or FRS is fixed for the rest of your life.
This isn't quite correct as you've written it, or at least there's a "footnote." The FRS is fixed from age 55 in terms of your "expected minimum" RA funding level — the lump sum withdrawal ruleset, as a notable example. But the FRS is not fixed in terms of qualifying for tax relief. Even if you've reached your age 55 FRS, every time the FRS is raised there's the potential opportunity to win more tax relief with top ups to RA because the tax relief limit increases too. Whether you actually win some tax relief depends on some other rules.

Admittedly this split between "FRS-55" and "FRS-T" is confusing, but in this case we should be grateful for the confusion since it offers more benefits than a single FRS would.
  • Enhanced Retirement Sum (ERS): This is the absolute maximum limit allowed for RA top-ups. Unlike the BRS and FRS, the ERS increases every year on January 1 to keep pace with inflation and rising living standards. For example, the ERS is $440,800 and rises to $456,400.
Annual increases on January 1 are highly likely, but as another "footnote" it's possible the government could pause increases and/or change the date. That's exactly what happened when the FRS (previously the "Minimum Sum") was increased on July 1, 2015, but then not again until January 1, 2017.

royalmix

• Basic and Full Retirement Sums (BRS/FRS): Once you turn 55, your applicable BRS or FRS is fixed for the rest of your life. The amount locked into your RA does not change based on yearly adjustments.
Actually, CPF rules are not that complex to interpret or understand, with exceptions to some of their written english which can be "ambiguous" based on my dealings with them.

You are right that each cohort has a fixed BRS and FRS, called Your BRS at 55 and Your FRS at 55. This important to understand as these are used in future computations, be it for withdrawals or tax computation.

Then there is a Current FRS and Current ERS, important to understand for computations too.

In the past, FRS is set by period - 1 July XX to 30 Jun XX - used to define different batches of cohorts. Then CPFB change the policy to define cohorts from 1 Jan, so FRS is set by year on Jan 1 from then onwards.

royalmix

CPF Balances Serve As The Pillar Of Retirement Security​

No discussion of household wealth in Singapore is complete without the Central Provident Fund (CPF). Over the past decade, CPF balances have expanded dramatically, driven by mandatory contributions, government top-ups, and compounding interest. Throughout the decade, CPF holdings remain one of the largest components of household financial assets, growing from $299 billion to $676 billion today. In terms of proportion, it remains about 30% of financial assets.

The steady growth of CPF balances underscores how effective it is at helping households accumulate wealth even if they are not active investors.

chiokcc

2edce6fad4254851b2a1b28134f36b6f~tplv-jj85edgx6n-image-origin.jpeg

Note the above are "projections".... as of August 2026, CPF has only announced the BRS/FRS/ERS till 2027 .....
https://www.cpf.gov.sg/service/article/how-much-is-my-full-retirement-sum

BBCWatcher

Note the above are "projections".... as of August 2026, CPF has only announced the BRS/FRS/ERS till 2027 .....
Tables like that one aren't helpful. Anybody/everybody sensible (also) presents payouts in current Singapore dollars. That's probably why the CPF Board offers online calculators, not charts.

Also, what's the chosen CPF LIFE payout plan? The chart doesn't say. If it's not the Escalating Plan, that's another problem (inflation again).

trave1er

Unless I'm greatly mistaken, the table was created using AI: the words in the "CPF board logo" are mostly gibberish.

It's highly misleading since it wasn't made clear it was created by AI.

I know this is an internet forum but it may be good to take note that the unofficial usage of the CPF logo, or even it's resemblance is an offence. Source: https://sso.agc.gov.sg/Act/CPFA1953#pr5C-

royalmix

The SA closure proved that CPF retirement schemes are designed to fulfill a public social security objective—not to optimize private wealth storage for individuals.

Using CPF LIFE for its intended purpose (a guaranteed, risk-free baseline survival floor) without over optimising based on a policy assumption is the only way to ensure a policy tweak never derails your retirement!

What policy change can occur? For you to guess! (hint: revisit SA closure announcement)

chiokcc

OK, I forgot to put a disclaimer that the above chart was found on-line, and not done by me ....

I did a simple calculation, the BFR/FRS/ERS projection was based on a 3.5% increment every year ...

All the criticisms posted after the chart are valid and we must consider them when talking about CPF Life ....

Apologies if the chart had mis-led people .....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.