CPF Account Value Thread 2026

Andrew833

I got new question. After age 55 RA is formed either with BRS or FRS. Say I decide to continue working how then do my cpf monies flow into?

BRS. After 55 working cpf go to RA or OA for which I can withdraw?

FRS. After 55 working cpf go to RA or OA for which I can withdraw?
After age 55, if RA has FRS. Contribution goes to OA and MA. If MA reach BHS, all to OA.

The rule goes by this flow direction - MA, RA, OA
MA - BHS capped. (edited MA first)
RA - FRS capped.
OA - no limit.

Only OA can withdraw.
If you reach FRS in RA, property pledge, can transfer RA (BRS) to OA for withdraw. (I haven't done this yet, so may have error)

Andrew833

Wait what you mean is below flow?
1. RA already formed with default FRS
2. You somehow inform cpf you want to go for BRS? Then somehow you can withdraw half of RA?

My earlier thinking was before RA is formed you make decision to opt for BRS or FRS ?
RA is form of FRS for your retirement.
So to take out BRS, you need to have property pledge + BRS to support for your retirement.
It's like banking, you can have FRS in RA + property. To withdraw BRS is up to you.

After age 55, CPF work like ATM. Take out very easy, put back troublesome or difficult.

fr33d0m

Standard is FRS, if not enough then CPF will transfer both SA and OA to RA.
No option to choose.

Initially, you reach FRS and form RA. you need to submit or inform CPF (I not clear on this part) for property pledge. Then you can withdraw half of RA, leave BRS in RA. I notice CPF auto do property pledge recently.

believe this is the flow. BRS is to be able to withdraw(withawable amount only) til BRS

sohguanh

After age 55, if RA has FRS. Contribution goes to OA and MA. If MA reach BHS, all to OA.

The rule goes by this flow direction - RA, OA, MA.
RA - FRS capped.
MA - BHS capped.
OA - no limit.

Only OA can withdraw.
If you reach FRS in RA, property pledge, can transfer RA (BRS) to OA for withdraw. (I haven't done this yet, so may have error)
My earlier question include BRS in RA working cpf follow like FRS go into MA OA ? In other forums it seems for BRS in RA cpf go into RA to make it fulfill FRS first.

I.e govt by hook by crook want minimum FRS in RA before allow you withdraw from OA.

So if above is true then ppl going for BRS best not to work after 55 because cpf monies still locked cannot withdraw until you die die hit FRS in RA

BBCWatcher

My earlier question include BRS in RA working cpf follow like FRS go into MA OA ? In other forums it seems for BRS in RA cpf go into RA to make it fulfill FRS first.
Once your RA is “adequately“ funded (as the CPF Board sees it) the portion of compulsory contributions earmarked for RA instead flows into OA. “Adequately” means at least the Full Retirement Sum, or at least the Basic Retirement Sum with property pledge/charge.
So if above is true then ppl going for BRS best not to work after 55 because cpf monies still locked cannot withdraw until you die die hit FRS in RA
I don’t think very many people would stop working, and lose 100% of their income from work, because a fraction of that income is paid back to themselves, tax free and with high interest, in some combination of future lump sum withdrawals, higher pension payouts for life, and/or higher residuals to nominees. They also lose their employer’s compulsory contributions. But people are free to make many strange decisions — including dropping their income to zero because they don’t like an effective income tax rate of 3.47% (as another example).

By the way, I haven’t seen anybody yet who’s receiving FRS-level CPF LIFE payouts who‘s complaining that they’re too large, that they cannot figure out any ways to spend, invest, and/or donate their S$1,400 (for example) monthly payout. But OK, if you fear the horrors of a too luxurious S$1,XXX monthly pension, knock it down if you want.🤷

sohguanh

Once your RA is “adequately“ funded (as the CPF Board sees it) the portion of compulsory contributions earmarked for RA instead flows into OA. “Adequately” means at least the Full Retirement Sum, or at least the Basic Retirement Sum with property pledge/charge.
Can I know where you get above info? From cpf website? I search cannot find. If true it will be good becuz BRS you only lock half and then new cpf monies go into OA can withdraw

BBCWatcher

Can I know where you get above info? From cpf website? I search cannot find. If true it will be good becuz BRS you only lock half and then new cpf monies go into OA can withdraw
It’s not combined on one page that I can find, but there are lots of references to the importance of the Full Retirement Sum. And then there’s this:

You can set aside your Full Retirement Sum (FRS) with a mixture of CPF savings in your Retirement Account (RA) and CPF savings used for your property.

In other words, for RA funding level and contribution purposes at least, the FRS is property charge/pledge inclusive. Up to half the FRS can be met via qualifying property.

If this information isn’t convincing enough, and if you’re still concerned, ask the CPF Board for clarification.

Andrew833

I.e govt by hook by crook want minimum FRS in RA before allow you withdraw from OA.

https://www.cpf.gov.sg/service/sfc/servlet.shepherd/document/download/069IW00000DZMxZYAX

Download the PDF file for clearer idea on contribution.

I don't need all contribution goes to RA (if below FRS), like that those still have housing loan to pay how?

BBCWatcher

I don't need all contribution goes to RA (if below FRS), like that those still have housing loan to pay how?
For members age 55+ but below 60 who have not yet met the Full Retirement Sum (with money, or with a combination of money and up to half in qualifying property), 35.3% of compulsory contributions (and VC3As) flows into their OAs.

For example, in 2026 if you're in that age bracket, employed, earning S$5,000 per month, and haven't met the FRS yet, you should see about S$600 per month flow into your OA. That contrasts to about S$750 per month in the age bracket before 55, with the same assumptions.

However, this hypothetical employee's monthly gross take home pay would increase by S$100 at age 55 in 2026. This part is going to be phased out, so next year (2027) it'll be S$50 higher gross monthly income with this hypothetical worker.

If the reduction in OA inflow (net of the higher take home pay in 2026 and 2027) means that the mortgage payment cannot be met, the same basic choice that everyone has is available: sell the home, find less expensive housing. Then the tepid RA "guardrail" makes perfect sense in this situation: "mortgage/house too big, pension too small." There are competing financial priorities, and the pension priority ought to prevail at some basic level, at some point.

sohguanh

https://www.cpf.gov.sg/service/sfc/servlet.shepherd/document/download/069IW00000DZMxZYAX

Download the PDF file for clearer idea on contribution.

Upon the closure of Special Account, the contributions for members aged 55 and above will be fully allocated to the Retirement Account (RA), up to the Full Retirement Sum (FRS). If members have set aside the FRS in their RA, these contributions will be channelled to their Ordinary Account.

Above is from pdf. So ? Confusing leh but I guess that is govt intention confused you so you just be obedient die die fulfill FRS to solve all headaches. Don't think of BRS or ERS they are there to confuse even more.

royalmix

Congrats on finally breaking through the facade! It’s hilarious how fast the long-winded lectures vanish the second real logic enters the chat. Sending him back to his own thread to preach to the choir is the ultimate win. 🎯😂👏

CPF LIFE isn't “the government giving us a pension from tax revenue.” It's primarily a compulsory retirement savings + longevity-insurance system, with risk pooled among members. Singaporeans build retirement savings through CPF, and CPF LIFE converts part of those savings into lifelong annuity income. We are funding our own CPF LIFE payouts, with risk pooling to fund the "eventual payouts"!

BBCWatcher

https://www.cpf.gov.sg/service/arti...irement-account-savings-via-property-pledging
Just for everyone info. It seems BRS cannot be chosen at the point of RA creation. It is done AFTER RA is created. And to that smart aleck who say they will send letter can DIY online choose BRS please see above cannot leh.
The CPF Board will indeed notify you of your options a couple months before your 55th birthday. This includes dropping your RA as low as the BRS if you wish (with a property pledge or charge) — yes, that is one of the options available. That BRS amount is paid to you in cash, on your 55th birthday if you wish. All spelled out in that notification.

There‘s another option available to some members. If your SA is smaller than the Full Retirement Sum, and if you want to reserve some OA dollars to pay a mortgage, you can if you wish.

”Choosing the BRS” is synonymous with cashing out. Maybe that’s the source of your confusion? You cannot choose to “underfund” your RA and retain those funds in your OA, except for the scenario in the preceding paragraph. I didn’t say you could retain half the FRS as OA. I only said you can choose the BRS with immediate effect on your 55th birthday, if you wish. However, cash is cash, so if you have the option to redeposit that cash in CPF (VC3A, VCMA, OA repayment, etc.), you can if you wish.

sohguanh

The CPF Board will indeed notify you of your options a couple months before your 55th birthday. This includes dropping your RA as low as the BRS if you wish (with a property pledge or charge) — yes, that is one of the options available. That BRS amount is paid to you in cash, on your 55th birthday if you wish. All spelled out in that notification.
Where did you get the info? From any cpf website?

royalmix

https://www.cpf.gov.sg/service/arti...irement-account-savings-via-property-pledging

Just for everyone info. It seems BRS cannot be chosen at the point of RA creation. It is done AFTER RA is created. And to that smart aleck who say they will send letter can DIY online choose BRS please see above cannot leh.
If you are still looking for the correct answers to all your questions, give me some time to writeup to explain using "IT Language" - you are IT trained, so this should help you get all the answers to the questions you raised here. "IT Language" to explain how the CPFB computer system handles it. :LOL:

royalmix

If you are still looking for the correct answers to all your questions, give me some time to writeup to explain using "IT Language" - you are IT trained, so this should help you get all the answers to the questions you raised here. "IT Language" to explain how the CPFB computer system handles it. :LOL:

Here you go!

CPFB | Reaching age 55 : This section of CPFB website tells you all you need to know about changes occurring at and after 55. I summarise the key points that answers all your questions:

1. If you need to finance your property with OA after 55, you can request to reserve the monies in OA, say H amount.
  2. At 55, the system will transfer all monies in SA then OA (less 5k + H) to RA to form FRS, say X. If X= FRS, you have met the condition at 55.
  3. IF X < FRS, the system will check if you have CPF savings used for your property (including accrued interest) say C, if so it will automatically be counted towards meeting up to half of your FRS = X+C = Y. If Y = FRS, you have met FRS at 55. If Y< FRS, you still have not met FRS at 55.
  4. If X < FRS and you dun have CPF savings used for your property, then you have not met FRS condition at 55.
  5. Now your RA had been created.
  6. If your RA met FRS at 55 (from Step2 only) , and you want to withdraw 50% of FRS at 55 = BRS with property pledge, you have to apply online. The system will check if you meet all the conditions for property pledge, if so, 50% of FRS will be paid to your bank account. You can always request for partial withdrawal on the form if you dun need the full amount but you have to reapply in future to withdraw the rest.
  7. If you have met FRS at 55, your CPF contributions will be allocated to MA+OA. If MA is BHS, then it will overflow to OA.
  8. If you have not met FRS at 55, your CPF contrbutions will be allocated to RA/MA/OA. If RA and MA is full, then it will overflow to OA.
  9. If you have not met FRS at 55, any attempt to withdraw monies from OA above 5k, the system will first sweep all your monies in OA to RA, only if you meet FRS will withdrawals above 5k be allowed. This is just one example.
  10. U dun have to meet FRS at 55, you can still choose to join CPF life at 65 if your balance is below 60k.

Your questions mostly focus on Step #3. Members in this situation face a more complicated situation after 55. I have seen a case but only saw what happened at 65. The system will attempt to sweep OA amounts needed from OA to RA to form FRS. I believe there is more complexity so if you are going to be in this situation, pls talk to CPFB to understand the implications.

(That person is not bothered with CPF, self employed so has low CPF, only meets mandatory MA contributions, focus on making as much from business and relies on wealth outside CPF.)

Step # 3 – CPF website references: CPFB | What happens if I have used my CPF savings to pay for my home and do not have enough CPF savings left to set aside Full Retirement Sum when I turn 55?

sohguanh

6. If your RA met FRS at 55 (from Step2 only) , and you want to withdraw 50% of FRS at 55 = BRS with property pledge, you have to apply online.
Step 3 answer my one question. The other question is how to do BRS your post say online can do but in my other post with cpf url is need make appointment and cpf officer do for us. Anyway when I decide to do BRS I will then share

royalmix

Step 3 answer my one question. The other question is how to do BRS your post say online can do but in my other post with cpf url is need make appointment and cpf officer do for us. Anyway when I decide to do BRS I will then share
Correct, it is always better to meet with CPFB staff to understand everything and process your applications to expedite the receipt of monies. They can verify you meet all the conditions on the spot.

FYI, you past questions about CPFIS investment - why not considered - I just saw CPFB posted an FAQ on it. Must be arising from your queries? :LOL:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.