CPF Easy Info Thread. :)

Kaypohji

How about to do it every January or any specific month?

I rmb someone told me to do it in January but I can’t rmb the reason why....

Because I’m gonna do it once a year or once every two years kind.. a lump sum

Right now is the best time.

CPF interest is counted monthly, with the lowest balance in the month used to calculate the interest.

Sent from . using GAGT

How about to do it every January or any specific month?

I rmb someone told me to do it in January but I can’t rmb the reason why....

Because I’m gonna do it once a year or once every two years kind.. a lump sum

It's not wise to save up and deposit lump sum as the money doesn't earn interest while you're saving up.

The advice to invest in Jan is very misleading and wrong. It only applies to one specific scenario where you have a lump sum of money at hand and it's already Jan, so that's the only time when investing in Jan is wise.

You should always deposit money that you want to invest into CPF on the last week of every month to maximise your liquidity and your interest earning.

Always remember the golden rule that the interest is based on the lowest balance in your CPF of every month.

BBCWatcher

Always remember the golden rule that the interest is based on the lowest balance in your CPF of every month.
OA to SA transfers are an exception. The dollars transferred start earning the higher SA interest rate backdated to the first of the month when the transfer occurred. For example, if you transfer $1,000 from OA to SA on May 31, 2020, at 11:50 p.m., then that $1,000 starts earning SA interest from May 1, 2020. (No, I don't recommend you wait until the last minute, but it's an example.)

BBCWatcher

Ah... thanks guys. Got it.
I will do it every month then.
Yes, that's typical. There are really two scenarios, broadly speaking:

1. The "rich person's scenario." You have plenty of non-CPF resources for housing and education -- no trouble amassing a down payment on a home, for example -- and so you simply don't need OA dollars as OA. In this situation, just transfer every OA dollar into SA immediately, every month, until your SA reaches the Full Retirement Sum.

2. The "middle class scenario." You have decided on a particular OA "cap" -- let's suppose it's $22,000 for sake of argument -- that you have determined is a sufficient amount of buffer for servicing your current or future mortgage, and/or for making your upcoming down payment. Then you might decide to transfer every excess OA dollar into SA, every month. So if your OA balance is $22,001, you transfer $1 to SA since that's above your cap. (If you're a little extra clever then you'd transfer a little more in late December and briefly dip below your $22,000 cap because your interest for the year is credited on December 31 and visible in early January. There's slightly sophisticated math involved in calculating the precise amount, but just take my word that if your OA has held steady at about $22,000 for the year then you could safely transfer $500 extra in late December, dip down to $21,500, and you'd be back up on December 31. That's just getting a little fancier.)

OA to SA transfers are an exception. The dollars transferred start earning the higher SA interest rate backdated to the first of the month when the transfer occurred. For example, if you transfer $1,000 from OA to SA on May 31, 2020, at 11:50 p.m., then that $1,000 starts earning SA interest from May 1, 2020. (No, I don't recommend you wait until the last minute, but it's an example.)
Really meh Bro BBCWatcher? :eek:

Got so good? :eek:

Can SIC the relevant website with moi to confirm? :(

Sent from . using GAGT

edwinttt1978

Sure, it matters. The 4% interest is attractive, and it's computed monthly. Every month your dollars are earning less than 4% (when they could be earning 4%) is a clear loss.

Why not? If you're certain or near certain of the future, then you should manage your OA balance accordingly.(*) Don't forget that OA earns interest, too, so if you want $X of OA to be available on some date next year then be sure to factor in the amount of OA interest that'll be credited on December 31. (CPF interest is computed monthly based on the lowest balance for the month and credited annually. However, there's one notable exception to the lowest balance interest calculation rule: if you transfer OA dollars to SA then the transfer is effectively backdated to the beginning of the month and the interest is credited to SA at the SA rate. OA gets the lowest balance calculation.) Also, as additional OA dollars stream in from compulsory contributions, you can transfer those, too, assuming you've computed your $X OA convergence target correctly.

It's May 25 at the moment, so you have another ~5 days to run the numbers and figure out how much you'd like to transfer in order to qualify for May interest on that amount in SA.

Another possible factor to consider is that when your MediSave Account reaches the Basic Healthcare Sum and your Special Account reaches the Full Retirement Sum then the portion of your compulsory contributions earmarked for MA will spill over into your OA. If you're getting near this point then OA dollars could be streaming in faster than you otherwise might have expected. And then your OA "buffer" should increase, assuming you remain employed.

If your SA is near the Full Retirement Sum and if you'd like to make a top up for tax relief ($7,000 top up) then do that first (via PayNow QR), then an OA to SA transfer after you see your SA top up credited. If you get this order wrong then you fill up your SA to the FRS before you get your last chunk of tax relief for SA top ups.

(*) Some people -- or at least their families -- are loaded with liquid assets, and they really don't need to keep OA dollars as OA. In these happy situations the rational, sensible thing to do is to transfer all OA dollars into SA, to boost interest earning. My household happens to be in this situation.

It’s always a joy to read your postings.

mata_hippo

How far are you away from FRS? If you're in late 20s, there's still some buffer time unless you have plans for early retirement. I'm transferring OA to SA frequently for the monthly interest.

Sent from HUAWEI VOG-L29 using GAGT
im early 30s :o

and i only jus break 100k for SA, after transferring what i dun need (after deducting 20k for rainy days mthly installments in case i lose job and the amount i need for downpayment)

andyhtc

im early 30s :o

and i only jus break 100k for SA, after transferring what i dun need (after deducting 20k for rainy days mthly installments in case i lose job and the amount i need for downpayment)

Now is not the time to transfer from OA to SA. The economic situation is extremely volatile. I recommend to wait for another year to see how the situation develops. It is good to have at least 2 years of installment buffer.

BBCWatcher

oceanicmanta

CPF interest is counted monthly, with the lowest balance in the month used to calculate the interest.

Sent from . using GAGT

this applies to Voluntary Contributions as well right ?

so better to VC either on 1st of every month or on last day of the month ?

this applies to Voluntary Contributions as well right ?

so better to VC either on 1st of every month or on last day of the month ?
Best to VC at the later part of the month. But not on last day as they need 1 working day to process.

I recommend at least 3 working days before month ends.

Sent from . using GAGT

BBCWatcher

PayNow QR is the fastest electronic way to get funds credits to your CPF account(s). Ideally you want CPF deposits to be on the last or second to last day of the calendar month and CPF withdrawals to be on the first or second day of the calendar month. That's how you would maximize interest.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.