CPF Easy Info Thread. :)

bladez87

My understanding, your 'organic' contributions in excess of annual limit will be refunded quarterly without interest. At end of year, interest will be adjusted according to 'organic' contributions and VC within annual limit.

May be your only gain is the VC in excess of organic contributions within annual limit done in Jan.
if the refund is done every quarter, then maybe not worth the effort. but if the refund is yearly refund, then we can gain that interest on the 37k that we pump in jan.
Yes you get my point! that 37k will generate above $1k interest as MA and SA will have 4%, while OA which is 2.5%, all 3 well above OCBC 360 or any other bank's promo rates

elnewbie

You will get zero interest. No such free lunch.

if the refund is done every quarter, then maybe not worth the effort. but if the refund is yearly refund, then we can gain that interest on the 37k that we pump in jan.
Yes you get my point! that 37k will generate above $1k interest as MA and SA will have 4%, while OA which is 2.5%, all 3 well above OCBC 360 or any other bank's promo rates

crimsontactics

Even tho I started early, my 77k won't allow me to reach my FRS at 55... :(

My FRS will be 402k while my money would only grow to 294k... :(

Still got a 108k gap... :(

Haix... :(

kevinkoh1992

The government is smart enough to know
richer would abuse the safety & relatively high
yield of CPF .

Already 1 group wants to maximise the return & the other 'CPF-not-my-$' .

For my own money, I count year by year... :(

For FRS, I assume 3% inflation. Using P(1.03^30) where P = 166k

FRS seriously grow 3% a year? wah gg liao lo, salary also never grow 3% a year

apatheticme

I have asked CPF board about this, and elnewbie is right. You get no interest whatsoever from the amount topped up. The interest is only calculated after they refund your excess VC at the end of the year, using the minimum monthly balances (except in case of OA -> SA transfer I think).

Actually I disagree.

With VC, some of your money is place into MA.

This is something I don't like as you can't withdraw MA for retirement.

I prefer to focus my attention on RSTU to hit FRS, then use VC on all 3 accounts to increase my SA.

I will let MA increase naturally.

Sent from OPPO F1s using GAGT

I think that's the wrong approach. IF your MA can already reach BHS naturally, you should always choose to do VC-MA first before RSTU and normal VC. It has the tax advantage of RSTU without the same restrictions in the long run.

For my own money, I count year by year... :(

For FRS, I assume 3% inflation. Using P(1.03^30) where P = 166k

You forgot to account for your salary till the retirement age?

Jus finished readingthis thread but there may still be things im unclear

Im alrdy doing the oa>sa every year

Should i also start doing cash top ups?

30 this year mthly salary is high 5

If you are transfering all your OA to SA, do it monthly. If you are doing partial transfer, transfer 1 year worth in January. Top ups are a subjective matter. You need to provide more context.

To be frank, by the time your SA balance hits FRS, your salary would have probably reached a level where you are no longer eligible to do VC. Unless you're those buay kan types at work.

I expect my SA to hit FRS at 32/33 (this is not a big deal as I do OA->SA transfers, I am already slower than others that do this), and while my salary probably would hit the 6k limit, my company will never give a 5 months bonus. I don't consider myself to be buay kan at work.

crimsontactics

I think that's the wrong approach. IF your MA can already reach BHS naturally, you should always choose to do VC-MA first before RSTU and normal VC. It has the tax advantage of RSTU without the same restrictions in the long run.

But my MA is still very low, at slightly under $900, and I don't benefit from tax relief as I'm still studying. So I prefer RSTU to focus on growing my SA. :(

apatheticme

But my MA is still very low, at slightly under $900, and I don't benefit from tax relief as I'm still studying. So I prefer RSTU to focus on growing my SA. :(

It doesn't matter as long as you are confident of hitting BHS naturally. You are in essence growing your SA without the post-55 restrictions of RSTU. Remember that the excess MA contributions go to SA first.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.