Thank you Maple96 for your valuable input!
I have just checked with my mum and aunt. My aunt has about 25k in MA, is it feasible to top it all the way up to the basic healthcare sum when she sells away the house?
And yes, i overlooked the part about LPA, I will talk to my aunt about this arrangement too.
Thanks Value.Matrix!
To Maple96 and Value.Matrix, since I saw a couple of replies suggesting RSS so I asked my mum and aunt about it too. Looks like if my aunt doesn't take up the silver housing bonus, she doesn't need to go for CPF Life, would you guys suggest RSS over CPF Life if she doesn't take up the bonus?
I calculated that if she sells her flat at 450k,
returns to her cpf account the accrued part of 60k
and pays 150k for new one.
She will have 240k left.
By then her OA+RA will have 80k and top up to the full retirement sum (200k maybe)?
then spare cash
1) top up to MA till basic healthcare sum
2) save about 6 months worth of emergency cash
3) remaining go to OA?
Thanks BBCW, my aunt has two not so kind children who will make themselves visible whenever my aunt has monies and disappear whenever she is penniless. i don't think my mum wants her sister to be saving anything for her children, we are just looking at being self-sufficient for my aunt (be it daily expenses and if need be, medical costs).
my aunt doesn't foresee herself living beyond 90 actually so if possible, RSS might be a better choice for her.
Based on the info u provided in your first post, she is going to get her new flat soon. She applied under SHB, so I doubt she can change her mind.
Do confirm with CPFB/HDB if I am right.
If she is under SHB, read this https://www.hdb.gov.sg/cs/infoweb/r...-seniors/right-size-with-silver-housing-bonus
If Net Sale Proceeds >160k,
CPF topup required= 60k+further topup (ie net sale proceeds -60k-100k)
Net sale proceeds to be kept in cash = 100k+ remaining after further topup
Cash Bonus=20k
So if she is under SHB, she will have to join CPF Life. I would suggest join at 65, choose Standard Plan (whether she die before 90 or not is no longer an issue for discussion).
I assume CPF is her only source of funds based on info provided by u.
For MA, depends on her health conditions now. If healthy, I will not put max into it, cos survival is more important. I will just put an amt to earn interest sufficient to pay annual premiums. Dun forget under Merdeka Gen, she gets annual topup from govt plus additional subsidies for premium payment. I will not lockup too much funds here as it cannot be withdrawn other than for medical, but can always be topup in future should it run low.
I will keep more monies on OA for emergency funds and survival, it is an on demand high interest savings account. My plan (deleted this is not yet available
) u have to do it mthly online using Paynow for instant transfer of funds from CPF OA/SA to bank account ). If I have excess funds, either put it back to OA or RA (like a windfall, strike toto maybe
).(I have no experience with SHB, but good that I am learning for future use
)I am more concerned about "emergency funds" as another source of fund for survival, besides the mthly CPF life payout, after reading recent cases of complaints where old folks have money with CPF but cannot touch and no money to survive. Also u have to look at how much u get mthly from CPF Life.
Just share my own experience with MA, now I max it (I can afford to and need to
) in case my siblings need, I will use it to pay their medical. In the past, I use it to pay for my parents hospitalisation bills and medicals, for outpatient treatment claimable from MA, I use credit card first then claim and earn the difference. Now most lobang gone liao