CPF interest 2017

Wood41

If you 早知道, you should’ve gone to sweep off
blocks of HK properties instead off Sg properties. :o

The sum is different & this is passive.
And a few hundred dollar a month in it should be okay for most.

Property investment requires a bigger sum & loans. Many who over borrow to buy properties but couldn’t survive even 1 property cycle. My relative is an example.

If 我早知道, I would be in Bekershire , Apple,Amazon stocks much later.
Further more, if 早知道, I would be Singapore LiKaShing.

If bought private properties in 1969 in sg, nothing can compare.

starfish.starfish

Property investment requires a bigger sum & loans. Many who over borrow to buy properties but couldn’t survive even 1 property cycle. My relative is an example.

早知道以前的东西这么便宜,我就早点出生了……
Kekekek joking joking.

BBCWatcher

And REITs and ETFs and unit trusts and gold and of course property....I am quite conservative....
None of these are particularly conservative investments, or even moderate.

I'll give you some examples of genuinely conservative investments, in no particular order:

* Singapore Savings Bonds
* Singapore Government Securities (esp. via a noncompetitive bid at auction)
* a Singapore government/sovereign wealth bond fund, such as the ABF Singapore Bond Index Fund (symbol A35 on the SGX)
* a developed economy global government bond index fund, such as symbol IGLO traded on the London Stock Exchange
* a high quality, investment grade, global corporate bond index fund, such as symbol CORP traded on the London Stock Exchange
* one owner-occupied housing unit, non-lavish in the circumstances
* possibly a second owner-occupied (or family-occupied) housing unit in another country where you have a right of abode, non-lavish in the circumstances
* "rewards" bank deposits (within deposit insurance limits, and only if you don't have to work too hard to qualify for the bonus interest)

The global bond funds (examples: IGLO, CORP) have some currency exchange risk, but they are very appropriate in moderation for conservative investors. In my view it's important for conservative Singaporean investors to hold something like one or both of these funds, in moderation and in keeping with very conservative investing, in order to protect to some reasonable degree against a sustained downturn in the Singapore dollar versus global currencies. Otherwise the currency risk that you're taking, keeping everything in Singapore dollars, flips to being too risky. It is possible for the Singapore dollar to depreciate and stay depreciated for a relatively long time, so holding some IGLO and/or CORP (as examples) is appropriate, conservative protection.

Please note that A35, IGLO, CORP, and similar vehicles are not appropriate for U.S. persons. There are much better, more appropriate substitutes available for U.S. persons.

henrylbh

For us who are in stocks , it is big bull in 2017.

For those ‘not good with shares’....
vhFVX1Z.jpg

If bought private properties in 1969 in sg, nothing can compare.

So what the message of the pic that you posted - that properties (under leverage) do not beat that?

Should have listened to Wood41 Shu Shu and pump stocks... :(

Sent from . using GAGT

Wood41

Need not .
FB / Amazon / HK properties only flew off last
few years.
If only 早知道.... :o

My Sinkie relative sold off his HK home a few years ago thinking he could sell high & buy low later.....
Alas HK property price has since shot up even
more & he could stay in parents in law’s home.
:o :o

早知道以前的东西这么便宜,我就早点出生了……
Kekekek joking joking.

TabascoSauce

Ha ha said wrongly. Leveraged or unleveraged, private properties in Sg from 1969 in general beat equities.

can share data that show that?

i onli can find residential property mkt which probably include non-private housing from 1975. Overall, the property market rose at a CAGR of 6.9% since 1975. i think STI outperformed that.

cscs3

Need not .
FB / Amazon / HK properties only flew off last
few years.
If only 早知道.... :o

My Sinkie relative sold off his HK home a few years ago thinking he could sell high & buy low later.....
Alas HK property price has since shot up even
more & he could stay in parents in law’s home.
:o :o

Buy high sell low will not happen to most people unless you started with at least 2 houses.

limster

i onli can find residential property mkt which probably include non-private housing from 1975. Overall, the property market rose at a CAGR of 6.9% since 1975. i think STI outperformed that.

if you add dividends for STI you should also add rental yields from property...

mummy1234

No way that stocks performed better.

henrylbh

No need to go back to 1969 when STI did not actually exist.

In 1975 sti was about 220 and has gone up about 15x excluding dividends. Many component stocks practically disappeared since then.

A 5rm hdb flat in 1975 has gone up 20x excluding rental income. Private landed freehold property would have gone up even higher.

pcmdan

No need to go back to 1969 when STI did not actually exist.

In 1975 sti was about 220 and has gone up about 15x excluding dividends. Many component stocks practically disappeared since then.

A 5rm hdb flat in 1975 has gone up 20x excluding rental income. Private landed freehold property would have gone up even higher.

I think all these are hindsight and most are not even born in either of these 2 periods to benefit from them (even if we were, I don't think most have the funds).

Why not everyone start focusing on sharing future insights...40 years later the future generation would use 2018 as a benchmark

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.