CPF interest for 2016

LiteHouse

Interest on all accounts has been credited just after midnite.

Thanks for informing.

As expected and once again, the MA interests has overflowed to SA/OA on 4th Jan even though new MA ceiling is supposed to be $52k with effect from 1 Jan. Time to contribute $2.2k. :D :D

dork32

of course there's a difference. It's money owing to yourself vs the bank

there is difference because hdb loan is 2.6% and cpf is 2.5%. if hdb loan is 2.5%, there is totally no difference regards to nett assets

if u dump in, you will have less loan left.
but your cpf is empty.

if you dont dump in, you will have more loan
but your cpf is filled with cash

orange_sky

there is difference because hdb loan is 2.6% and cpf is 2.5%. if hdb loan is 2.5%, there is totally no difference regards to nett assets

but your cpf is empty.

The difference is clear to me.
It's either I owe 2.5% to MY Cpf account or 2.6% to HDB which is lost forever

BBCWatcher

My current HDB still $70k outstanding.
A few follow-up questions before jumping to any conclusions:

1. How long is the remaining scheduled repayment period for your HDB loan?

2. Excluding an adequate emergency fund reserve (held in a Singapore Savings Bond, for example) -- excluding that -- do you have any other funds available that could be used to pay off your HDB loan at an accelerated rate (or pay off your HDB loan completely)? How much, and how are those funds currently held?

3. Do you intend to buy other leasehold or freehold property, or do you plan to stay with this HDB unit "forever"?

4. Do you have any other debt? If so, how much is that debt, and what is the interest rate on that debt?

orange_sky

but your cpf is empty.

OK I see your point on the 0.1% spread

orange_sky

Realize that if your ma is already max, your interest will roll out even though ma has increased since 1 Jan as interest was credited on 31 Dec. Can we transfer the money from OA back to ma after the limit has increased?

tmkedmw

Calculating RA interest is the simplest compare to OA especially, with in and out for those with other outgoings.

I prepared myself a simple excel worksheet to do and project the interest for my father's RA with topping up and payout that I can vary.

For 2016, I calculated the interest to be $3,999.15 while CPF credited him only $3,924.15. I am certain this amount will be finalised in the next few day.

After oa/ma/sa interest had been credited yesterday, the RA interest would have increased by $75. So original RA interest of $3924.15 + $75 = $3999.15.
Your spreadsheet is spot on.

This also means that CPF interest is NOT compounded monthly which differs from what CPF website says.

henrylbh

After oa/ma/sa interest had been credited yesterday, the RA interest would have increased by $75. So original RA interest of $3924.15 + $75 = $3999.15.
Your spreadsheet is spot on.

This also means that CPF interest is NOT compounded monthly which differs from what CPF website says.

:s13: how would you know that the RA interest would be corrected and increased by $75 to 3,999.15?

Just checked and yes it's 3,999.15.

henrylbh

Dun understand, why u buying over your spouse share ??

Could be due to freeing spouse's name for other purpose or could be separation or divorce etc. Or may be to dig out some money from OA?

dork32

Dun understand, why u buying over your spouse share ??

last time can decouple.

if you buy your wive's share, then your wife becomes homeless. but her cpf will be flush with cash.
the wife then can use the cpf to buy second property and siam absd because she is homeless.

now they cut this loophole.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.