CPF Life Plan - Standard, Basic, Escalating --- which one better ?

henrylbh

He will shield his SA to earn max 4% interest in both SA and RA until age 69.5, then sayonara

Shielding of SA if still allowed in future, is a sensible action that one should take, if got enough fund for that.

Which life plan to take and when to start would depend on individuals.

If he plans sayonara before life plan is auto, then Sg TLP, especially when he has mentioned that there are better retirement plans outside Sg.

BBCWatcher

Wow, there sure are lots of folks today with reading comprehension problems and/or short-term memory loss. I've very clearly and repeatedly described my personal plans in these respects. To repeat (for the umpteenth time), the plan is CPF LIFE, age 70 payout start, Escalating, FRS level or higher likely.

henrylbh

Wow, there sure are lots of folks today with reading comprehension problems and/or short-term memory loss. I've very clearly and repeatedly described my personal plans in these respects. To repeat (for the umpteenth time), the plan is CPF LIFE, age 70 payout start, Escalating, FRS level or higher likely.

For the time being.

maple96

Shielding of SA if still allowed in future, is a sensible action that one should take, if got enough fund for that.

Which life plan to take and when to start would depend on individuals.

If he plans sayonara before life plan is auto, then Sg TLP, especially when he has mentioned that there are better retirement plans outside Sg.

I just replicate what he teach other PR in HWZ moneymind to do, jabo at 69.5 :s13:

He still have time to 69.5 to change his mind :s13:

henrylbh

For the time being.

Exactly! I'm not 70 years old yet! WTF?

Exactly what I said, because you still years from 70.

Mecisteus

We are talking about Retirement payouts and plans.

The RA is designed for retirement needs, not medical needs. For medical needs, you need to think and plan separately from retirement needs.

I didn't say for medical needs. Some medical bills probably covered by medical insurances.

I said you might need the retirement payouts to pay for medical insurance premiums.

Or retirees may need the payouts to pay for their elderly care.

These are the costs that may go up due to inflation.

As a retiree, your entertainment and food expenses may go down, but medical costs will not go down.

Mecisteus

Lets be more realistic

I believe most who come to HWZ moneymind already learnt how to have multiple sources of income, at least one more than their employment I hope.

There are so many proponents sharing information on BTIR (buy term invest the rest), invest in the "best" etf (equity n bonds) to grow your savings for retirement, invest in pte annuity, endowment or whole life plans, all sorts of investments to create another source of income (eg dividends, or capital gain) how to reallocate when u retire, how to drawdown, etc

Besides CPF Life, most would also have monies on OA/SA/MA. OA/SA are your other sources of income/savings u can draw on. MA u can use for medicals and paying your premiums.

So if u already have all these other sources of funds, make your own decisions. Dun tell me CPF Life is not for bequest, MA and other CPF monies can be used for bequest :s13:

edit: forgot all your assets, multiple properties earning rental income, etc

Those other sources of income should help u live in luxury with same standard of living, hopefully!

Don't make such silly assumptions.

There are also ordinary or less well to do folks coming to the forum.

Like I said if everyone is well to do like you described, any plan will not be a problem.

Even if you pick the wrong plan, you just end up subsiding those who are expected to gain. Or if you happen to be on the other side, you will gain.

maple96

Don't make such silly assumptions.

There are also ordinary or less well to do folks coming to the forum.

Like I said if everyone is well to do like you described, any plan will not be a problem.

I disagree

Even if you pick the wrong plan, you just end up subsiding those who are expected to gain. Or if you happen to be on the other side, you will gain.
I disagree

U indeed have comprehension problem, after I corrected your previous comprehension problem.:s13:

What silly assumptions did u make from what I wrote? I never make any assumptions.

I said to be more realistic, review what other sources of income u have and make your decision. If u dun have other sources of income, make your decision accordingly!

I even suggested in another reply to a post that if u are still young, u come here to learn, u should plan for retirement, have another source of income, dun depend solely on CPF Life.

Mecisteus

If u dun have other sources of income, make your decision accordingly!

So for someone who don't have other sources of income, which plan do you suggest?

This someone is single and living on rented HDB flat. He has little or no savings.

Mecisteus

I really :s13: at the guy who claimed to make >30% pa in stocks and >40% pa average returns in CCR properties but don't have the compassion for those with pre-existing medical conditions under CPF Life.

So rich but yet so concerned by tiny weeny stuff. :s13:

What is the significance of BRS/FRS/ERS amount compared to the CCR properties.

Mecisteus

Mickey boy,

You coming here talking about your fake empathy and compassion again?! :s13:
Haven't I exposed your fake empathy about helping 0.5% people and penalizing >50% of the people with Medishield Life?

Here, you are trying talking about your fake compassion to benefit about 5% of people while penalizing 95% of people with current over-estimated life-span and too low payout? There you go again with your fake compassion! :s8:

Uncle,

yeah I agree if you happen to be the 0.5%, then we should let people like you to die. :s13:

dork32

this is not how replied initially

chiapabuay

Thanks everyone for the pros n cons, the choice of Standard, Basic or Escalating depends very much on individual circumstances.

For me my dad will stick with Basic, 'inflation factors' shall be covered by myself n sis or rent out the flat to supplement (worse case scenario).

ELKYme

Found this article about the spending habits of retirees at different ages. The info could help us make a more informed decision:
https://www.nytimes.com/2018/11/29/business/retirement/retirement-spending-calculators.html

In a nutshell:
55-64 are “go-go” years (spend most).
65-74 are “slow go” years. (spending drops by 15%).
Above 75 are “no-go” years (spending drops by a further 30%).

The drop in spending as we age is pretty significant, with this phenomenon, is it wise to get less during the beginning (escalating) and get more later when you’re actually spending less?

Also note that CPF life payouts only begin at 65, which is already the “slow go” timeframe in the article.

maple96

I'm not a fan of most insurance products sold in Singapore, but there are a couple straightforward ones that are generally quite important.

My plans, in case anybody is wondering? Disability: DII, accumulated wealth sensibly invested, lifestyle adjustments (as always with disability, e.g. home setting changes).Inflation: inflation-adjusted high quality sovereign lifetime retirement annuities (plural), accumulated wealth sensibly invested[/COLOR]. Longevity: inflation-adjusted high quality sovereign lifetime retirement annuities (plural).

oh now there is change in view? accumulated wealth (invested) can help to combat inflation besides his own retirement annuities and his own longevity annuities (include CPF Life for the time being) :s13:

BBCWatcher

accumulated wealth (invested) can help to combat inflation besides his own retirement annuities and his own longevity annuities (include CPF Life for the time being) :s13:
Yes, to a degree, but unfortunately not as well in/from Singapore. Allow me to educate you on something you are evidently not aware of!

Some sovereigns offer what are known as "real return bonds," a.k.a. inflation-indexed bonds. Examples include U.S. Treasury Inflation Protected Securities (TIPS) and a particular type of U.S. Savings Bond: the I-Bond. There are some real return bonds available in certain other currencies, too. (Governments in Canada, Australia, the U.K., France, Germany, Hong Kong, Italy, Japan, and some other governments issue them in their respective currencies.) And there's an active index fund market in many of them, especially in U.S. dollars, euro, and British pounds, making it very easy to hold an assortment of real return bonds.

If you hold a basket of real return bonds across various currencies, you can do pretty well from a Singapore dollar perspective given how MAS manages the Singapore dollar, as a loose peg to an unpublished basket of Singapore trade-weighted foreign currencies.

There are also some private life annuity purveyors that'll sell Consumer Price Index (CPI) linked annuities pegged to a particular currency's inflation, if you wish. I think Principal Financial is one of them (U.S. dollars in that case).

Direct inflation linking is great, because it most directly combats inflation. There's no ambiguity, no imperfection. Whatever inflation is (in the chosen currency), the real return bond and/or real annuity perfectly track(s) it and automatically adjust(s). Real return bonds and real return annuities are not generally something you should pursue with your entire accumulated wealth, but for a portion it can make a great deal of sense. And it just so happens I actually do this (real return bonds), in an appropriate portion.

Unfortunately, the Singapore government doesn't issue real return bonds (doesn't believe in them I guess), or real return anything. This is, for better or worse, the Singapore government's standard operating style. This government wants to maintain full freedom of movement, to use inflation as a policy tool if/when necessary. As a private individual, I certainly don't like that. But that's how this particular government rolls.

So, in Singapore in Singapore dollars, the best you can probably do is a fixed escalating life annuity (CPF LIFE Escalating Plan, which is part of my plan as carefully and repeatedly explained) and other, less direct Singapore dollar inflation fighters. As other examples, equities do a pretty good job fighting inflation, but holding too many equities (too high a percentage) is problematic for retirees. Short-term bond funds also do pretty well, but that too is difficult (at best) in Singapore dollars since the bond market is too thin, and real yields are low. Carefully constructed and managed fixed deposit and/or T-bill ladders are possible, but they're a lot of work and also have low real yields.

maple96

Yes, to a degree, .

Thank u, dun need model answers, not interested to know or own, as I am very happy with what I already have :s13:

Some people like to share what they have or what they think as a way to obtain confirmation that they are on right track and learn from others, then they change their views accordingly :s13:

dork32

Yes, to a degree, but unfortunately not as well in/from Singapore. Allow me to educate you on something you are evidently not aware of!

Some sovereigns offer what are known as "real return bonds," a.k.a. inflation-indexed bonds. Examples include U.S. Treasury Inflation Protected Securities (TIPS) and a particular type of U.S. Savings Bond: the I-Bond. There are some real return bonds available in certain other currencies, too. (Governments in Canada, Australia, the U.K., France, Germany, Hong Kong, Italy, Japan, and some other governments issue them in their respective currencies.) And there's an active index fund market in many of them, especially in U.S. dollars, euro, and British pounds, making it very easy to hold an assortment of real return bonds.

If you hold a basket of real return bonds across various currencies, you can do pretty well from a Singapore dollar perspective given how MAS manages the Singapore dollar, as a loose peg to an unpublished basket of Singapore trade-weighted foreign currencies.

There are also some private life annuity purveyors that'll sell Consumer Price Index (CPI) linked annuities pegged to a particular currency's inflation, if you wish. I think Principal Financial is one of them (U.S. dollars in that case).

Direct inflation linking is great, because it most directly combats inflation. There's no ambiguity, no imperfection. Whatever inflation is (in the chosen currency), the real return bond and/or real annuity perfectly track(s) it and automatically adjust(s). Real return bonds and real return annuities are not generally something you should pursue with your entire accumulated wealth, but for a portion it can make a great deal of sense. And it just so happens I actually do this (real return bonds), in an appropriate portion.

Unfortunately, the Singapore government doesn't issue real return bonds (doesn't believe in them I guess), or real return anything. This is, for better or worse, the Singapore government's standard operating style. This government wants to maintain full freedom of movement, to use inflation as a policy tool if/when necessary. As a private individual, I certainly don't like that. But that's how this particular government rolls.

So, in Singapore in Singapore dollars, the best you can probably do is a fixed escalating life annuity (CPF LIFE Escalating Plan, which is part of my plan as carefully and repeatedly explained) and other, less direct Singapore dollar inflation fighters. As other examples, equities do a pretty good job fighting inflation, but holding too many equities (too high a percentage) is problematic for retirees. Short-term bond funds also do pretty well, but that too is difficult (at best) in Singapore dollars since the bond market is too thin, and real yields are low. Carefully constructed and managed fixed deposit and/or T-bill ladders are possible, but they're a lot of work and also have low real yields.

so our garmen does not believe in fighting inflation your way. if you do not like our way of fighting inflation, you can always go back to your usa which is wonderful in combating inflation. why bother to come here and get stuck with our lousy ways.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.